We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!”
Review of Chin! Chin! - CLOSED

Chin! Chin!
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A multi award winning intimate & quirky space, full of British charm & intrigue... From Weekend Brunch, Sunday Roasts & a classic or modern Afternoon Tea to a candle lit evening restaurant with delicious cocktails too!
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Good selection on the menu and the staff were accommodating. Some of my friends had the early bird 3 course menu for just 15 quids and it was for good value. Food was served piping hot and it was a small cosy restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktraveller10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    96
    32
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Not that great”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Relative to it's reputation, popularity and how much it clearly thinks of itself, I was disappointed with the food. Especially being a vegetarian (I really can't understand why fancy restaurants think vegetarians want smaller portions than meat eaters - we don't).

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Dr_P_Pigglestein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darren A, Owner at Chin! Chin!, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Many thanks for your review - I am very sorry you felt you didn't have a good experience with us. we try to ensure a great customer experience, driven from myself as a small business owner wanting to create a non pretentious and relaxed environment. I therefore would really welcome the chance to talk to you about your time with us.

We also do try to accommodate vegetarians well (with at least 2 or 3 options out of 9 main courses) and are always willing to help with diary requirements also. It is not our intention to offer vegetarians smaller portions and we often change the menus to also offer a variety. If I know what dish you ordered I can then, with your feedback, ensure a more satisfying option is available in future.

Once again I'd really welcome the chance to talk to you about how we can improve things from your perspective.

Kind regards
Darren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“A great place to eat and enjoy good food and wine”
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Went on a family meal and enjoyed the atmosphere. It may not be the best in town but it served great food and with panache. Good staff added to the ambiance and the meal.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank xxxplymjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great meal and lovely evening”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The meal was arranged to thank friends who had been very kind and generous to us recently. It was a great success.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not the best restaurant in Bristol”
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Having read all the reviews I decided to take my wife and my niece to this restaurant. Reason being as my niece lives in London and has been to a lot of top restaurants. Not wanting to disappoint her with what Bristol has to offer, I decided to choose Chin Chin. We went on a busy Saturday night and the place was packed (a good thing normally). We had arrived 10 mins early and was advised that due to a lack of space we had to wait in the cafe next door! Unusual but nothing that we had complaint about. We went back and was seated promptly by the waitress who was pleasant. Service was a little slow but it was busy. We ordered bread and olives which were nice and then the starters. After waiting for about 35min for our starters, they had missed out my wife's dish which was a bit annoying. Food was ok, nothing special. The mains came after another 30min and this time my niece's dish was way over cooked. The confit duck looked more like crispy duck from a Chinese! The dim lighting probably helped hide the burnt colouring a lot! My steak was very chewy, and took it a while to consume. By the end of all the waiting and being disatisfied with the food we didnt bother with the dessert. I give them some benefit as it was Saturday night however when we mentioned about the duck we didnt get any sort of genuine apology. My neice is not one to complain but she felt it was bad enough to make a point. I dont think I would go back there in a hurry, Moreish up the road is by far a better restaurant and the food much more delectable. Dissappointing really to show my neice what Bristol had when there are a lot of lovely restaurants out there and I chose this one.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank foodcritic25_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chin! Chin! also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing