We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent - recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Excellent - stayed overnight, and had a family dinner. Interesting buildings, great dinner, wine better than that, and very comfortable room. The only downside is that the rooms are dark. Good that they have energy saving bulbs, but it really does need some central lighting.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BWHU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    324
    122
    63
    27
See reviews for
142
640
26
148
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Treated my girlfriend to a two night stay in the Vueve Clicquot suite, all I can say is WOW ultimate luxury with twin roll top baths! We will definatley return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cesar1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

My fiancee and I stayed here for a birthday treat, and had a lovely time. The staff were very friendly and helpful, even down to changing a note for us so we could get the bus when we went out sightseeing. The room was beautifully decorated (although a little dimly lit) and the bathroom was luxurious, with monsoon shower and free-standing bath. The bed was fantastically comfortable.
Some people have mentioned noise, but the rooms are set back from the road so it's not too noticeable. It's balanced out by the fact that it's such a great central location - you don't expect perfect peace in the middle of the city. The binmen did turn up in the morning and make a racket briefly, but there's not much a hotel can do about that! The bar downstairs served delicious cocktails, and the breakfast was tasty - and came with a complimentary newspaper. All in all very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank linoprint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

The hotel is in an old building, but the rooms are up to date. My room was very large, and even the bathroom was pretty spacious -- a large tub, and an even larger shower with a huge shower head. The room was quiet (mine was near the back of the hotel, so maybe those closer to the street are noisier) and comfortable. Some quirks: the bathroom sink has separate faucets for hot and cold water (hence: hard to wash hands with comfortably warm water) and the lighting (as others have noted) is a bit on the dim side -- plus, many of the lights are on the same dimmer, a problem I solved by unplugging a few of them.

Breakfast is good, in the nicely decorated Bistro. There's also a comfortable little bar, with a variety of interesting wines by the glass.

The hotel is a short walk from the various attractions around the Bristol harbor. (Or do they call it a "harbour"?)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The Hotel du Vin is located in a lovely building in the centre of Bristol which is convenient for exploring the city. The rooms are lovely though very dimly lit. So romantic but impractical! Breakfast was super and the service was generally friendly and good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonRob1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

We arrived in Bristol without a reservation on Wednesday 4th Jan 2012. We visited both The Bristol Hotel and the Radisson Blu, but neither were welcoming or helpful in response to our enquiries. The Hotel du Vin couldn't have been more different - friendly, welcoming, showed us a room, offered us a discount on the spot - so we booked in for three nights. The room was very comfortable with a very large en suite, complete with freestanding bath and walk through shower. The TV was large, the bed was massive and comfortable and the room was generally well appointed. The room service menu was a bit limited, and the lighting in the room a little dark. Unfortunately the bistro was being renovated so we didn't eat in, although the breakfasts were very good and served in an alternative room which seemed just fine. We would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: The difference between the cheapest standard room and the more expensive rooms only appears to be fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dekazer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

We went there a few years ago when visiting my son at UWE. We had an introductory offer so only cost £125 for the night. The room was really very nice - a massive room and a walk in bathroom with a big sunken bath. Robes were provided and the sheets were sqeaky clean and white crisp. A lovely room. Highly recommended. We did not visit the restaurant but did enjoy the bar. Service was excellent and a very nice ambience. We did have difficulty in finding the hotel, but eventually found parking in the hotel although it was a stroke of luck and a bit tight! Cant go wrong with this hotel. Probably one of the best in Bristol.

Room Tip: Get directions before travelling to avoid getting stuck on the one way system!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susanandjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bristol hotels
0.7 km away
The Bristol
The Bristol
#3 of 37 in Bristol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,472 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Marriott Royal Hotel
0.5 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Premier Inn Bristol City Centre (Lewins Mead) Hotel
0.6 km away
Holiday Inn Bristol City Centre
0.5 km away
Mercure Bristol Brigstow Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Property: Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Address: The Sugar House Narrow Lewins Mead | Narrow Lewins Mead, Bristol BS1 2NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Bristol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Bristol
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bristol
#3 Family Hotel in Bristol
#3 Romantic Hotel in Bristol
#4 Business Hotel in Bristol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Du Vin Bristol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing