We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tapas”
Review of Poco Bristol

Poco Bristol
Ranked #70 of 1,849 Restaurants in Bristol
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Poco Tapas Bar is a seasonal restaurant in the heart of Stokes Croft in Bristol. Named Britains most sustainable restaurant for 2016 as well as having won the Observer Food Monthly magazine's Best Ethical Restaurant award, having a positive effect on the environment is at the core of what they do. All their meat is free range and fish varieties and catch method are inline with the highest MCS guidelines. Vegetables are organic wherever possible and recipes are designed to avoid any waste. Their brunch menu marries New York style with inspiration born of world travel. Morrocan eggs, homemade harrisa sauce, grilled sourdough and mounds of steaming butter kale all feature along side a menu of different bloody mary's. With light cascading in through the skylights and lush green plants tumbling down the wall there's few places better to wile away a day. Come evening the lights get dimmed, candles are lit and the menu switches to a broad range of fresh and creative tapas dishes chalked up on the black board wall at the back. It reads like a who's who of South Western seasonal produce; Wye Valley Asparagus, Dorset Rock Oysters, Cornish Mussels and Somerset Kid Goat all featuring. Saddleback pork belly roast with lemon and fennel is a universal favourite which has been a consistent presence in the fast changing menu since day one.
Reviewed March 4, 2018 via mobile

Great spot in the cultural quarter. A mix of British, Portuguese and Spanish tapas. All locally and ethically sourced. Would highly recommend the shared set menu and the tempura oyster is an absolute must. Great selection of cocktails too. Service was slightly slow to start with but picked up once we had ordered. Would definitely come back here.

Thank Guybo90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin P, Owner at Poco Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thanks for the review Guybo90, I'm so glad you enjoyed your visit and we really appreciate you taking the time to review. Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 364 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2018

The set dinner is great value and in the best tapas sphere of Bristol. Ambience is warm, friendly and you get a slightly different and equally as good experience sat gazing out the window in Stokes Croft or in the hustle or bustle out the back. A must try for brunch or dinner (my preference)

Thank JKL32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin P, Owner at Poco Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thanks so much for the review! That makes nice reading :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Visited on a Friday night on the merit of this place’s Tripadvisor reviews. Was busy, we took one of the last tables but no reservations on a Friday night.

The food was utterly brilliant, wide choice of small plates on the menu (including enough to cater for a vegan). Particularly recommend the Portuguese potatoes, but there wasn’t a below par dish on the table, even the olives were super tasty! Beer and wine also delicious. Didn’t have desert but menu looked great although sorbet the only vegan option.

Only downside was the very slow service, even getting our order taken took an age and paying the bill was painful. Seemed to vary a lot, a table was seated beside us and had ordered and received drinks and some food in the time It had taken us to get our order in. Seemed like the chefs were the most on the ball keeping the front of house in check. The open kitchen also gave us something to watch!

Maybe a little pricy for Bristol but at £50 including service for one hearty course of small plates and one drink each seemed ok enough.

Thank Jemma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Benjamin P, Owner at Poco Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2018

Thanks so much for your review Jemma, we really appreciate it! I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and sorry that you found the service a tad slow in places. We aim to be relaxed but snappy, it sounds like you had a bit too much of the former, I'll have a word with the team. All the best, Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018 via mobile

A tough review to write, but slightly disappointed with my recent visit to poco. The food was ok and tasty, but nothing particularly memorable or inventive, which is fine, if everything else is up to standard. Unfortunately, the service was not as good as it should have been, the single waitress was clearly over stretched and it showed. We had to regulary ask for dishes, basic service and drinks. We ordered the set menu which came with prosecco to start, however we waited over 30 mins to even receive this, and only when we explicitly asked for it. Food came randomly, and well out of the sequence of the presented menu. We accept the nature of a tapas restaurant is food is served as ready, but the initial dish of oysters, clearly stated as an opening dish on the menu, was only served when we reminded the waitress that we hadn't recieved it... Well into the main courses dishes. Generally, it felt like we only had dishes and service when we explicitly asked for it.

Overall, nice ambiance, OK food, but a little over priced and all let down by the service as result of under staffing on a busy valentines evening.

Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

Excellent food overall.. particularly liked pork belly and fried oysters.
Dessert really disappointing..not much of it and lacked flavour and had a grainy texture.Othereise a great meal and the Portuguese wine was just right!

Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poco Bristol also viewed

Bristol, England
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 
Bristol, England
 

Been to Poco Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing