We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and cons in equal measure”
Review of Abbey Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Pros and cons in equal measure”
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Distinctly average hotel that I would not recommend nor warn against. Great friendly service, comfy bed, fantastic town centre location and car park, but rooms were grubby in places, could hear conversations in other rooms, plus we used the toilets near reception and they were *full* of bags of dirty towels and linen! The whole place was bit like a rabbit warren and very old fashioned, but still, you can't complain at the price and the breakfast was hearty. Unless there's somewhere else with good reviews and just as low a price tag, I'd suggest this place will do for one night.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natzs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    58
    44
    16
    22
See reviews for
22
35
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I have been staying here with friends since 2009. Whilst the hotel is not 5 star, it does not claim to be such. I will be coming to High Wycombe until 2015 and I look forward to my visits partly due to the hotel.

The hotel is basic but rooms are always clean and are spacious enough. The staff are very friendly and location is less than 2 minutes from centre of High Wycombe. Within staggering distance from the bars!

Breakfast is very good, self service as much as you want!!

Make sure you arrive early to get car parking inside car park. if you park on road and leave after 0900 you may get a ticket.

Room Tip: 1st floor or ground floor best, basement rooms can be seen from road but are close to breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CrowdSafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Stayed for 3 nights on business. Room small but clean. Lots of hot water and reasonable breakfast. Free wifi.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakesMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

A comfortable value for money hotel, with staff that are available and very helpful

Our room (and bathroom) was modern, clean and well decorated. TV, Hairdrier, tea/Coffee making trouser press etc all supplied and all worked. The room was small for the two of us (only room for 1 chair) but adequate. The building is a converted and extended Victorian house which meant that soundproofing was a bit lacking.

The breakfast was buffet style hot or cold with plenty of choice.

Very well located in a very quiet road but not far from the town centre or railway station (5 minutes walk). Has its own large car park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsky33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

we stayed at this so called hotel as we were visiting friends for a 40th birthday, on arrival we were put at the very top of the building. the overall exterior impression of the hotel at the beginning was ok untill we climbed the stairs to our room, upon arrival the lock was very loose and wobbling as we put the key in not giving much enthusiasm towards security. on entering the room there was a big damp patch on the wall immediatly in front of us, when i turned left the wall light was hanging off the wall showing exposed wires. we had two saucers yet just one cup, underneath the bed was filthy and had obviously not seen a hoover for some time. when my wife went downstairs to get another cup and inform them about the light the receptionist replied "yes i seem to remember the couple the previous night mentioned this., but no mention of moving us to another room. the shower was full of black mildew around the tiles and theer weascigarrette burns on the tiles in the toilet. when you opened the window of the room you could see lots of cigarette butts from people who had obviously been smoking out of the window. in the morning when we went down for breakfast after being awoken by the cleaners who were obviously using the room next door as storage for their equipment and we found that all of the empty tables had not been cleared from the previous occupants and the breakfast had run out of bacon and egg yet the staff had to be told about this other than keep a check on it.overall it seemed to be mainly inhabited by people on welfare other than people who pay their way in life. PLEASE AVOID WITH ALL CAUTION. i will be posting pictures of what we had to put up with at this place in the very near future,

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonlout64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these High Wycombe hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Very convenient for the train station and the high street (but be careful down there at night). Room clean as was bathroom. Breakfast nothing special but edible. Front desk woman rather curt, but guy working next morning friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The hotel is within very easy access of the shops/nightlife.the staff were polite and friendly.our room was much nicer than we were expecting and was modern and up to date.we now describe it as a little jewel in high Wycombe and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near High Wycombe
1.3 km away
Ambassador Court Hotel
Ambassador Court Hotel
#4 of 14 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe Central Hotel
1.4 km away
Rye Court Hotel
Rye Court Hotel
#7 of 14 in High Wycombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Premier Inn High Wycombe / Beaconsfield Hotel
9.8 km away
Hotel ibis budget Beaconsfield
1.8 km away
Clifton Lodge Hotel
Clifton Lodge Hotel
#12 of 14 in High Wycombe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Hotel

Property: Abbey Lodge Hotel
Address: 17 Priory Road, High Wycombe HP13 6SL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Buckinghamshire > High Wycombe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in High Wycombe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abbey Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Abbey Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel High Wycombe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing