We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice hotel for Central Cambridge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for Central Cambridge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Overall, a recommended hotel for staying in Central Cambridge.

Plus:

+ Family Room is a good size (myself, my wife and our two girls)
+ Great Location - good restaurants and the sights of the City within walking distance. Nice to beside the Cam and the Punts
+ Quite. For a hotel in the middle of town, it was lovely to wake up to bird song and Fresh air
+ Staff were very pleasant and welcoming
+ For a chain hotel, interior was fresh, upmarket and modern

Suggestions:
- If you have lots of bags, drop off at the reception before parking (car park is at the rear of the Hotel)
- If you have a room-only rate, we didn't see a nearby cafe (other than in the main part of time), so best to add breakfast to your room rate before taking breakfast (for a discount)

Could Do Better:

- As has been noted, the £17.50 per day parking fee was high, but at least it was for more than 24 hours (we could have left the car after check out if desired), and there was lots of room

- Hotel was very hot ! Needed to fling up sliding door for room. (Incidentally, thermostat is near to fridge in our room)

- Wifi charges - would be nice to at least have free Wifi in the reception/dining area.

- Hotel Pool was comparatively small and oriented towards people doing lengths (perhaps 4-5 people swimming), and generally busy (doubles as health club). (Nice view though)

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river or the stream at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank happyemailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear happyemailer, Thank you for your recent review, it is great to hear that the hotel provided a good base for you and your family to explore this beautiful city. To ensure our guests can book a rate that meets their travel needs, we do offer bed & breakfast rates as well as room only rates. For those that decide later that they want to add breakfast, we do offer this at the discounted price of £12 per person if added on arrival. If staying with us again in the future, we do have complimentary internet access available 24hours per day in the business centre on the ground floor. Alternatively, if staying regularly across the Hilton brands, the Hilton Honors loyalty programme does offer complimentary WiFi to all Gold and Diamond members. I hope that you may have the opportunity to return to the DoubleTree Cambridge in the near future. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,937 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    616
    744
    355
    162
    60
See reviews for
408
792
90
379
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Last time I visited this hotel it was about to undergo refurbishment so I wasn't altogether surprised at how grubby my room was. This time I specifically asked for a refurbished room and it was indeed considerably better. The rest of the hotel though still looked rather shabby and the air conditioning in the room wasn't working properly.

The position of the hotel is perfect though and if it is just a place to stay then it is perfectly adequate. We had an ok meal in the restaurant in the evening. Food fine but a little pricey for what it was. Certainly the wine list was overpriced (over £6 for the cheapest glass of wine!).

Was very disappointed to be charged £17 for parking my car! That seems to be unnecessary penny pinching.

Did love the warm cookie on arrival though!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillNoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear BillNoble, Thank you for your review following your recent stay here at the DoubleTree Cambridge. I am pleased that you noted improvements in the standard of the bedroom decor but am sorry to hear that you found the other areas of the hotel to be shabby as the bar, lounge and Brasserie have all been recently refurbished. I hope that you will be able to stay with us again soon, we will have the warm chocolate chip cookies waiting! Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Smart & modern hotel by the river.
The room was a good size and the bed was more than large enough. I was surprised to find that WiFi was a payable extra though.
The staff were all polite, professional and helpful.
Our only glitch was a minor issue with the hot water in the morning.
Would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spd15ok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear spd15ok, Thank you for your recent review, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and found the team to be professional and helpful. WiFi is provided free of charge throughout the hotel to Hhonors Gold and Diamond members or alternatively, complimentary wired access is available via the work stations in our business centre. I hope that you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed in room over-looking the River Cam for 4 nights during March. Also had another room for our son over a 2 night period and his room was also overlooking the river. I think you have to pay more for these rooms; if you don't do that you will be given a room which doesn't overlook the river. One night we paid £200 for a room but it does vary on availability and how late you leave a booking. We have Hilton Honors Gold membership so had a free breakfast, free car parking and free wi-fi in our room. We liked our room very much. Large and comfortable. We ate in the hotel restaurant (dinner) twice and on both occasions the service and food was very good. There are some flaws with this hotel, for sure, but it is a good base for Cambridge and if you get a river-view room it is peaceful and very pleasant. We hope to return here when next in Cambridge.

Room Tip: If you want a good view and more peace and quiet, as for a room overlooking the River Cam/hotel gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kartouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear Kartouche, Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us and also had chance to experience the Riverside Brasserie for breakfast and dinner. It is always a pleasure to welcome back repeat guests and have the opportunity to provide a comfortable stay. I hope it is not too long before you are able to return. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Good location and staff but the room did not live up to expectations. Very small and oddly shaped with an awful view of the road, houses and reception area. The "king sized bed" was very small but then a large bed would not have fitted in the room. We tried to book dinner at the hotel but it was fully booked. The car parking charges where a total surprise. Overpriced.Much confusion over the use of Camcard.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JRB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear JRB55, Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the DoubleTree Cambridge. I am sorry to read that you were disappointed by certain elements of your stay and that the standard room you had reserved did not meet your expectations. Our car parking charges are displayed on the front page of our website as it is certainly not our intention to hide these charges from our guests. I hope that future Alumni events may bring you back to Cambridge and that you decide to stay with us again. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

had a weekend break ,staff very friendly .Room was very clean and welcoming .But the weekend break was spoilt by car parking charge such a cheek charging 34 pounds .Would not reccomend this hotel have stayed in other 4 star hotels who do not charge for car parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear susan h, Thank you for your recent review. It is great to read that you found the rooms clean and the staff friendly. I am however sorry that the car parking charges would deter you from visiting again or recommending the hotel. We do ensure that these charges are clearly advertised both at the entrance to the car park and also on our own and third party booking websites so that alternate arrangements can be made if necessary. I hope that in the future you may decide to return to the hotel. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

There is no doubt that this hotel is the perfect location in Cambridge, right on the river with a nice brasserie overlooking.
The service was nice, the room clean and food good.
However when you pay almost £220 for a double room (overlooking the car park) I think additional charges such as £17.50 for the car park, £7 for an hour of WiFi and £18 per person for breakfast are unfair and too expensive. You expect charges for budget airlines and travelodge hotels not 4 star hotels. As I was told its Hilton policy and for this reason alone I won't be returning. It's a shame because it is a nice hotel, just too expensive.
I appreciate that Cambridge parking is expensive, other hotels offer free parking in Cambridge, and breakfast charges are standard but I wouldn't expect this of this priced room at the quality it is.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelbel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stacey_White, Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre, responded to this review, 8 April 2012
Dear kelbel24, Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you were happy with the quality of your stay however disappointed to read that you felt it did not represent good value. The hotel does offer various rates to accommodate the needs of all travellers; some room only and others bed and breakfast. Our rates can fluctuate depending on demand and occupancy levels so it is always best to check on line for the rate that best suits your needs. Booking further in advance does also tend to offer the better rate. Breakfast can be added to a room only rate upon arrival for £12 per person, reduced from £16.95 per person and complimentary internet access is available 24 hours a day in the hotel business centre on the ground floor. I hope that you will be able to return to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Stacey White, Operations Manager, Doubletree Cambridge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Hilton Cambridge City Centre
1.1 km away
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
The Varsity Hotel & Spa
#1 of 36 in Cambridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,155 reviews
0.8 km away
The Gonville Hotel
The Gonville Hotel
#2 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#4 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
Hotel du Vin Cambridge
#14 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Felix
Hotel Felix
#8 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre

Property: Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Address: Granta Place, Mill Lane, Cambridge CB2 1RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cambridge
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cambridge
#10 Business Hotel in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge is a four star hotel surrounded by the River Cam, minutes from the city centre. The 122 refurbished en-suite bedrooms feature a plasma flat screen television, air-conditioning, mini fridge, iron & ironing board and laptop safe. Upgraded executive bedrooms and suites, including the Penthouse Suite are also available. Four air conditioned function rooms are ideal for large or small events and the refurbished Riverside Brasserie is perfect for fine dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Cambridge Hotel Cambridge
Hilton International Cambridge
Cambridge Hilton International
Doubletree Cambridge
Hilton Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing