We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Buffet for 90th Birthday Party.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Arundel House Hotel
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Buffet for 90th Birthday Party.”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I arranged a birthday 9oth birthday party for my mother and from the time I contacted the hotel,to the time the party ended the service I received was of the highest standard. The Buffet was excellent, the staff went out of their way to help in any way they could. I would recommended this hotel to anyone who wants excellent food, friendly and very helpful staff. The hotel manager (Annette Percival) did everything she could to make this a successful and good experience for my mother and her guests . I have on other occasions dined in the restaurant and have always had very good food and excellent service. All of the guests at the party without exception commented on how good the food was and how they thought that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. I will definitely be visiting this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    223
    225
    107
    59
See reviews for
94
244
56
181
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Friendly staff, large room (little dated though!) clean but small shower room. Breakfast very good and plenty of it.
Little expensive as needs updating and cheaper just as nice in area.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the front for river views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel. First time it was almost perfect : no queue at Reception, lovely room with a view on the river, helpful waiters, no problem with parking a bit longer after check out. We wanted that again so we wrote to them specifically asking for same room again with plenty of notice. No replies. At check-in there was a queue of 2 persons that lasted more than half an hour..it was like a slow motion mortgage application..and nobody else to help, just had to wait..I've noticed the same situation throughout the day..the ladies at Reception did not seem to have been trained both in "Receptioning" and Human Communication..
Got a room at the back, no view, no comments on not having answered our emails. Second experience spoiled the first.

Room Tip: In the main house with a view to the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrian_bruder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I was completely bowled over by the charming staff at this lovely hotel in Cambridge. I only stayed one night, on business, but will definitely be back again. The food was great, and the room most comfortable, but it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff that really impressed me. In the evening I did not eat in the restaurant, but in the delightful Conservatory which was very pleasant. The service was attentive and the staff seemed to be genuinely pleased to be serving me. I did not have time to use the fitness centre, so cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The hotel did the basics fine. Good location for walking into Cambridge, and good to have free parking that close to the Centre. There were some odd plumbing noises the 2nd night we were there, but the chap we mentioned it to sorted them quickly once we raised it.

After we'd checked out, but some hours before we were due to drive to the airport, my wife became ill. The hotel staff made a room available for her to rest and recover for several hours until she felt better. This thoughtful gesture, at no extra cost, was much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Room was well equipped but no bath and could not get anything more than tepid water from the shower. Lots of plumbing noises from somewhere too.
Could not get a signal for the (free) wi-fi in my (top floor).
Nice exercise going up and down all the stairs.
Breakfast underwhelming: understaffed with waits for showing to table and coffee, poor continental breakfast choice.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor,Ontario,
Level Contributor
437 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

Having accidently driven from the East into Cambridge--which we had been warned not to do!--and after driving most of the day from the Wisbech area--we were tired. Suddenly, there was a place along the street called "Arundel House Hotel". Turned out to be a gem--very conveniently located, great parking, and a lovely walk across the bridge and Parade to centre of Cambridge. May 16, 2011, price was a little high but can't beat the location. Rooms, old-worldish but clean and comfortable. Noise from the street is tolerable (I'm partially deaf anyway!) and breakfast was more than adequate. After we checked out we were permitted to keep our car parked at the hotel so we could enjoy some additional hours in Cambridge. Nice little town, by the way, for a small college town, Eh!

Room Tip: Some might not appreciate the traffic on the Main street but we enjoyed looking across the river to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NamutKwu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.5 km away
Ashley Hotel
Ashley Hotel
#22 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
1.4 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#5 of 36 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.7 km away
The Lensfield
The Lensfield
#24 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#20 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.7 km away
Royal Cambridge Hotel
Royal Cambridge Hotel
#18 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
1.5 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Cambridge City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arundel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arundel House Hotel

Property: Arundel House Hotel
Address: Chesterton Road, Cambridge CB4 3AN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arundel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Arundel House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arundel Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing