We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected! Except for the wi-fi”
Review of Stationroomz

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cambridge
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stationroomz
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Better than expected! Except for the wi-fi”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at the Cityroomz for 5 days in January and I was pleasantly surprised. At first it doesnt look like anything great but the beds were somewhat comfortable even though the mattresses could have been better.

The staff were very helpful and always did their best with a smile on their face which is always a big plus for me.

The only downside was the free wif-fi. Yes, it was free which is fantastic however the only way to get the wi-fi was to be in the breakfast area. From my room (14) I managed to get one bar which I guess was sufficient. So if you really need to get your internet then I would try to get a room as close to the breakfast area.

Room Tip: Stay close to the breakfast area for the wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gunnar Már Á
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    14
    26
    13
    45
See reviews for
6
33
20
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Found this hotel online, from a very short list of hotels available in Cambridge at short notice. The property is right next door to the train station, though we never heard any trains. But unfortunately was 1.2 miles from the city centre, so transport, or a bicycle would be needed if staying for long periods. The double room that we had was so small we had to change in the bathroom, and the shower door did not close properly. This place is catered more towards single travellers, and should have the title of hostel over hotel! Only ever met one member of staff, whom was extremely pleasant and welcoming.

Room Tip: Doubles are in old basement, that I can only presume was an old boiler house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cambridge hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Unfortunately I planned my 2 day visit to Cambridge during graduation week. Had I known before locking in a 2 month schedule in Europe, I would have changed my plans! Cambridge is a fantastic city, cityroomz is small and pokey and overpriced. I expected the bathroom in the private room to be small - but this was tiny. Beware if you have a lot of luggage - you won't be able to move in the room! A great place to crash for one night if you can get a cheap rate. Breakfast was better than expected and the staff were helpful. Not worth 85pounds though!

Room Tip: definately choose a private room if you want to sleep - other guests can be a distraction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I stayed at Cityroomz on Saturday night - I have to be honest, the room looked a lot more basic than what I expected but for the price you can't really complain. The receptionist was very helpful, I asked directions on the Sunday to a museum, she printed me out a map and was chatted to me about it. We had problems on the Saturday night with a disturbance and the police were called - not ideal at all but not the fault of Cityroomz at all.
The only main negative is that the bathroom had some mold and the room was cold, but for the price I wasn't expecting luxury.
The breakfast was good, and the staff pleasant. And as we were just using it as a base to dump our bags and sleep whilst we explored Cambridge, that is all we needed.
Just don't go there expecting luxury. Cheap and cheerful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanDu564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

This was the cheapest accomodation we could find for the weekend in Cambridge, however, at £67 for a room you still expect certain standards.
From 2am we were kept awake by drunk men on the same corridor, being sick outside our door and shouting. By 5am the police were there evicting them from the hotel. I realise that events like this are beyond the control of the hotel. However, a bathroom door that squeals so much it's painful to listen to it shutting, a shower head that looks like it needs a date with some 'Cilet Bang', a bathroom door handle that repeatedly falls off, a kettle with a loose connection that doesn't work, plug sockets that don't work and a room that had a similar temperature to that of outside isn't. If you want a comfortable refreshing break in Cambridge, do not stay here!

Room Tip: Do not choose any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This is basic accommodation - a hostel with double rooms and private bathrooms. As long as you are aware of that, then it is a good place to stay. If you simply want a bed for the night and a breakfast to last until lunchtime then it is ideal; if you are looking for a room that is part of a holiday and a breakfast to feast on, then look for somewhere else - which will be a lot more pricey in Cambridge!
Clean bedding, very convenient location especially if travelling by train, friendly staff, and I admit the bathroom wasn't sparkling but it was clean. Breakfast was croissants and cheese rolls, cereal, coffee and juice.
All in all, this is a good cheap option. Could do with a spruce up/redecoration, but no complaints.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zooey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Very small rooms. Would be ok, but i can not accept plenty of mold in the bathroom and the bedroom.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tom11273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cambridge hotels
0.2 km away
Fenners Hotel
Fenners Hotel
#30 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.1 km away
Ibis Cambridge Central Station
0.2 km away
Centennial Hotel
Centennial Hotel
#19 of 36 in Cambridge
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Oakley Lodge
Oakley Lodge
#27 of 36 in Cambridge
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.1 km away
Citystay - Vesta Apartments
Citystay - Vesta Apartments
#25 of 37 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 km away
The Earl of Derby
The Earl of Derby
#26 of 122 in Cambridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stationroomz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stationroomz

Property: Stationroomz
Address: Station Road, Cambridge CB1 2TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Cambridge
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 36 Hotels in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stationroomz is situated immediately outside Cambridge Railway Station, which is an easy 10 - 15 minute walk to all of the city centre attractions. We have 24 compact, but well equipped rooms with TV, Tea & Coffee.We offer, included in our rates, a light breakfast with baguettes, croissants, preserves, cereals, fruit juice and beverages, served in our breakfast room from 7.30 am until 9.30.Our single and twin rooms have comfortable cabin style beds.We do not have a bar or restaurant, but there are many to choose from in the area. There is plenty of car parking available at the railway station and we have 3 dedicated spaces for our hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cityroomz Hotel Cambridge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing