We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe and food”

The Three Horseshoes
Ranked #90 of 761 Restaurants in Cambridge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian, Mediterranean, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A picturesque thatched inn, The Three Horseshoes is nestled in an idyllic village just 3 miles from Cambridge city centre. Voted Cambridgeshire Dining Pub of the Year for 2018, the restaurant serves hearty, comforting dishes, a fresh fish board and plenty of options for vegetarians. Particular attention has been paid to preserving the traditional pub with its real fire and cosy corners. Dogs are welcome in the pub. Enjoy local real ales, cocktails and a wine list focused on the Languedoc-Roussillon. Since January 2018 The Three Horseshoes has entered an exciting new chapter as part of Cambscuisine, a local group of independent restaurants.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Went to the Three Horseshoe on their first week of the reopening. The place has a new management team, new menu, new style. We share the starter with Baba ganoush, followed by the duck breast, and finally the chocolate and peanut butter fondant with homemade banana ice cream that was a delight. The service was efficient and polite with a smile. We decided to try them again on good Friday, sometimes new restaurant go downhill after a month but it isn't the case at the Three Horseshoe and our experience was even better. I can't wait for the weather to get better and to sit in their beautiful garden.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kuta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

65 - 69 of 225 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018

Service good - lunch disappointing

Always wanted to visit but not worth a second trip - didn’t live up to expectations

Wish I had visited before it changed ownership

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 965sharng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

We have been delighted about the new management and appreciate all their efforts.Our visit last night provided everything we wanted. Reviews over the weekend suggest others think differently but we enjoyed the ambiance, the attentiveness of the staff and the quality of the food. There is no where better on this side of Cambridge.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank barhillbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Ignore the pointless reviews from the cannt spel brigade; they were disappointed to not have a big mac. We received a warm welcome from professional young staff and enjoyed a good meal with excellent service.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank atravellingman6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 3, 2018

I have visited a couple of others in this chain so was excited to find out they had a new restaurant opening up. The building is beautiful, it's very cosy and inviting. The menu is quite small but well thought out. We had a scallops special, chorizo sausage and breads with baba ganoush and houmous to start. They were all really delicious, the chorizo was unlike anything I've had before! The baba ganoush and houmous was obviously homemade and was very tasty.I'm not sure I agree with what someone else has said about the staff being inexperienced. The three people that we were served by were all very polite and helpful; we were checked back on a number of times and didn't have to ask for more drinks or desserts, etc. One girl, in particular, was very sweet and smiley and I remarked on this to the manager. For mains, we all had steak and they were really beautifully cooked. The desserts were also amazing. If you go, you HAVE to try the chocolate and peanut butter fondant, Everything is clearly homemade here which makes a big difference. There is a nice wine list too (if only I could have sampled more of it). Also, the coffee is very good which you don't often find in restaurants! I would have no hesitation about visiting again.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Loueth101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver T, Owner at The Three Horseshoes, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you very much for your review. Really appreciate the comments and will of course feedback to our team. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Three Horseshoes also viewed

Comberton, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 
Cambridge, Cambridgeshire
 

Been to The Three Horseshoes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing