We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$126
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (601)
Filter reviews
601 results
Traveller rating
101
197
168
80
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
197
168
80
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa bit tiredthe small car parkbreakfast stafffour poster bedmain buildingcentre of townvisited elyely cathedralsingle roomstayed one nightenjoyable staybreakfast was excellenta lovely stayyogurtsimon
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 601 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

The Lamb Hotel has a great central location in Ely, in the shadow of the Cathedral. We arrived by car and just about squeezed into the car park. A car park space is far from guaranteed, which to be fair is stated on the website, but if ease of parking is important then it's a big no-no.
You enter via the back door to a small reception, leading into a nice comfortable pub, with cask ales and a relaxed atmosphere. It goes downhill when you get to the room. Our first floor room was in need of some TLC, particularly the bathroom which was frankly grotty. The tiling was spotted with mould and the bathtub was stained. When we used the shower, the curtain provided poor containment and we ended up with a puddle on the floor. Judging by the stain on the wall, the room above had the same problem. The bedroom area however was basically clean so no issues there, but the decor was pretty basic.
On the plus side, breakfast was top notch, both in choice and quality. And the staff were friendly throughout. Would like to be nicer, but the bathroom was awful.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

The building is lovely, very friendly and right in the centre. The corridor and room was basic but nice and felt comfortable. Just a few steps from the cathedral. All the staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great!

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank nephronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamb6476, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Samantha L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We got a pleasant welcome here - but don't even think of checking in early or checking out late. Rules are rules in this establishment! Our superior room on the top floor had a partial view of the cathedral, and a good range of amenities, including iron and ironing board, seating area and a king-size comfortable bed. There is no lift, so those with walking difficulties should opt for a lower floor. Breakfast was fine, apart from eggs Benedict made with commercial gloop. Kippers we well cooked, though, and service friendly and efficient. A nice enough place to stay, but not exceptional.

Room Tip: Top rooms have cathedral views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrishandley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamb6476, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback we are pleased you enjoyed much of your stay.

We are able to arrange an early check in or late check out by prearrangement, but unfortunately cannot always allow this if not prebooked. I will feed back to the kitchen with regard to your breakfast, thank you for making us aware of this.

Kind Regards
Samantha L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 31, 2018

The Lamb hotel is ideally placed to see Ely, but our stay was unfortunately marred by poor service in the restaurant. At tea it was as if we were not there and ind it took a long while 30 minutes to bring our wine with no explanation in the mean time, I had to repeat requests and wait for service during the meal. The breakfast service was worse one waitress to serve and apparently set up for later which seemed the priority. The room was ok in the car park but did need some tlc, the bed being the worst the mattress was probably last used by Queen Victoria uneven and over soft and lumpy. The bed frame cheap and squeaked loudly very unsuitable for a romantic weekend!

Room Tip: Try inside not the car park annex
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamb6476, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, I'm sorry to hear your stay didn't meet with our normal high levels of customer service. We are currently in the process of updating some of our rooms but haven't received any comments previously with regards to poor mattresses so thank you for bringing this to our attention and I will ensure this is looked into.

Kind Regards
Samantha L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2018

I was apprehensive about staying having read some of the below reviews but my whole family booked The Lamb for a wedding and I was very pleasantly surprised. We had a lovely stay and were well looked after by the tireless staff.
Parking can be a problem, no doubt. Once the car park is full you have to use one of the public long stay car parks and Ely is a nightmare for parking. Yes, a couple of people had to move their cars for me to get out, but so what?
My room was spacious with a huge bed and seating area; all clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a bit tired but clean with a powerful shower.
The staff were lovely, without exception; even when the wedding party descended en masse making demands. The breakfast was delicious, location central.
All in all a very nice place.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julia75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lamb6476, Guest Relations Manager at Lamb Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Samantha L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews