We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious”
Review of Riverside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riverside Inn
Ranked #10 of 34 Ely B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious”
Reviewed 25 October 2011

We stayed on the ground floor room, which is one of three. The room was massive, beautifully decorated with complementary mineral water, fruit bowl and chocolate and a variety of tea, coffee and biscuits. The bed was very comfortable.

The bathroom was equally spacious, well kitted out and had under floor heating.

The only drawback of the ground floor room is you can hear every movement of the room above.

Coffee at breakfast was delicious- I had a cappuccino, which was perfectly made. A lot of effort had gone into the breakfast, but to me it was slightly disappointing. The scrambled eggs were a bit dry and overcooked and had been squashed into a shape for beautiful presentation but slightly solidified texture. The mushrooms included a variety of oyster and wild mushrooms but they were dry and flavourless. My husband went for the vegetarian omelette and was disappointed to find that the filling- onions and peppers- were presented raw, on a bed of lettuce- more like a lunch salad than a breakfast. I think though, if we had selected different items from the menu, we would probably be raving about it. I saw the full english of the table next to us go by and it looked fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-getaway-gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    26
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
11
130
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2011

The Riverside Inn should be the No.1 B & B in the area. We stayed for 3 nights in early September, after long flight from Sydney, Australia.
Warm welcome from Lily with good coffee, stayed in an lovely, big room on the ground floor with enormous bathroom. The best breakfasts cooked by Arthur in dining room overlooking the river. Fantastic location.
Day trip to Sandringham and short train trip to Cambridge...visit cathedral in Ely.
Ely is a pleasant spot to visit...we enjoyed our stay....Lily knows how to look after her guests.. hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margaretandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

It's in a wonderful location on the river which all rooms face. It's a short walk to the beautiful cathedral (about 5 minutes). There's a good pub next door, walks along the river, a marina for boat hire right across the river, convenient parking, easy to find location, and a charming hostess. Skip the full English and try the house specialty omlete for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get the ground level for the big bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank UKTraveler_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

The Riverside Inn has a delightful setting, overlooking the River Ouse with its peaceful and colourful narrow boats, barges and leisure craft. It has just three rooms and each is of five-star hotel quality in terms of decor, fixtures, fittings and amenities.
There is free wi-fi (important, and a point which hotels fail to recognise as they rip-off their customers with the internet), big flat-screen TV, large and superbly equipped bathroom and comfortable beds. Take your own pillow, however, if you prefer feathers to those awful 'bricks' as I call them (anti-allergy pillows). They serve a super breakfast in the morning, the full English, or a selection of omelettes. You are next door to an excellent restaurant which actually gives Riverside guests a 10% discount on food.

Room Tip: One of the two upstairs rooms gives a slightly better view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snookoafc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We recently stayed for 5 nights and, after choosing as a result of Trip Advisor reviews, were not disappointed. Must be the best location and Ely and many other places - just on the bend in the river, with a view to just stand and take in. Very comfortable bedrooms and great bathrooms with underfloor heating. The showers (we were in two different rooms) are very powerful and just as we like them but I'm about an inch too short for the height/spray of the fixed showerhead! As others have said, fresh fruit and chocolates replenished every day - a real nice touch to have chocs in the hall too.

We couldn't do the breakfasts justice - just too big for us when we were eating out at night too. Just an observation you might want to bear in mind when Lily is taking your breakfast order. Great coffee and we really enjoyed being able to read the day's papers first thing at the breakfast table (think though that thsi is only done at weekends?).

There did seem to be a bit of banging early in the morning from outside the front of the guest house - rubbish being collected, path being cleaned etc. But you are so comfy you soon get back to sleep and it is a small price to pay for such a lovely view and pampering. If we are back in Ely we will definitely be back to the Riverside Inn.

Room Tip: Get 1st floor room that gets the best view of the river (the other is partially blocked by a tree bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

The website for The Riverside Inn matches the excellence of this inn. Rooms superbly serviced, breakfast the best, certainly the best accommodation we have ever experienced in this country. Friendly, courteous service and a view to dream about. Will make a point of visiting Ely again, just to repeat this experience.

Room Tip: As there are only 3 rooms, the standard is universal, although one is on the ground floor which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacoleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Wow what a find excellent service,excellent views & the best full english I Have ever had. The owner Lily was really friendly and full of good advice on the local area. Will stay there again with pleasure.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgeshacallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ely hotels
0.8 km away
Lamb Hotel
Lamb Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ely
522 reviews
0.8 km away
Poets House
Poets House
#1 of 5 in Ely
592 reviews
1.8 km away
Travelodge Ely
Travelodge Ely
#3 of 5 in Ely
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Little Downham Anchor
Little Downham Anchor
#1 of 1 in Little Downham
203 reviews
5.8 km away
The Old School B&B
The Old School B&B
#1 of 1 in Coveney
33 reviews
11.4 km away
Grove Barn Cambridgeshire
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Inn

Property: Riverside Inn
Address: 8 Annesdale, Ely CB7 4BN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cambridgeshire > Ely
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Ely
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Riverside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Fenland, just fifteen miles north of Cambridge lies bustling and vibrant city of Ely. The city is on the River Great Ouse and on the most beautiful stretch of river bank you will find us - Riverside Inn Guest House.This elegant house was built in 1888 and offering a combination of classic and modern styles, warm and relaxing feeling, friendly environment and stunning views across riverside. Just minutes walk from Ely’s railway station, High street and Cathedral the location of Riverside Inn is more than perfect. At any time of the year and whatever you choose to do in Ely, whether it is to enjoy the shops and markets, or to take advantage of the spectacular views and relaxing surroundings, this is the City which is a delight to visit and you always welcome to Riverside Inn, small, friendly, family run guest house ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Ely
Riverside Inn Ely, UK - England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing