We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive”

Olive Tree Brasserie Chester
Ranked #51 of 607 Restaurants in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$33
Description: Serving Greek and Mediterranean dishes with their own modern twists, The Olive Tree Brasserie aims to provide diners with an exceptional experience. A wide selection of dining options are available - choose from the a la carte, early diner, lunch pronto, vegan or Sunday roast menus. Fresh seafood daily specials and gluten free options are also available.
Restaurant details
Description: Serving Greek and Mediterranean dishes with their own modern twists, The Olive Tree Brasserie aims to provide diners with an exceptional experience. A wide selection of dining options are available - choose from the a la carte, early diner, lunch pronto, vegan or Sunday roast menus. Fresh seafood daily specials and gluten free options are also available.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

First, the menu displayed outside is difficult to read because of the way it is printed and the lighting. It’s quite romantic inside with dim lighting, so it’s nearly as difficult to read the menus at the table. I thought my main was £11, it was £21!!! Other prices are on a par with other restaurants in what is now a very expensive eating out centre, so, not cheap. The food was of a good standard, but nothing special to give glowing reports about. Service was attentive without being overdone. For that romantic special once in a while night out then go for it, but years ago I had far better Greek food at The now defunct Kebab House in Hardman Street in Liverpool.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank grumps147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree_29, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Tree Brasserie Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2018

Hi grumps147,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

Along with our A La Carte menu, we have the Lunch Pronto menu which is a main course and a drink for £10.95 and the Early Diner menu which is a set menu of either 2 courses at £13.95 or 3 courses at £15.95. These menus are on our website so if you ever wish to return, I would definitely recommend either one, however, please be aware of the dates and timings of each.

We hope to see you again soon to try these!

Kind regards,

Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (732)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 163 of 735 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Great venue being excellent all round. Atmosphere is ambient, our waiter, Daniel, was particularly attentive, and the food of a good standard. Thoroughly recommend to anyone with a taste for European cuisine who is in the area. Arguably one of the better restaurants in Chester city centre.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Curious764644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree_29, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Tree Brasserie Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent recent meal with us. Your comments regarding the venue, atmosphere, service and food are so thoughtful and I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the rest of the team, especially Daniel.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

I would say the Olive Tree has Greek food listed, it serves Greek beer, but when you order a very overpriced main course do not expect it to be "Greek" staff will tell you that they do not do traditional Greek food, they do Greek food with a modern twist. In my experience this translates to overpriced, bland and over "salted" food. I really did expect better.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree_29, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Tree Brasserie Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi Pete W,

You are exactly right in the fact that we offer Greek food with a modern twist and I can only apologise that your recent experience was not up to our usual high standards as all of our dishes are prepared freshly on the day.

Please could you email me directly on madeleine@oivetreebrasserie.co.uk so we can discuss this further.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards,

Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018 via mobile

Had an excellent dinner over the Easter weekend. Food was all cooked fresh , service excellent ... thanks Jack and the cold Mythos served in frosted glasses was literally the icing on the cake !! Cannot recommend enough , really great place to eat , great decor and a VERY welcoming team . Would definitely return when back in Chester

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank mikazg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree_29, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Tree Brasserie Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi mikazg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had an excellent meal over the Easter weekend with us. Your comments regarding the food, beer, decor and staff are very thoughtful and I look forward to passing this positive feedback on to the rest of the team, especially Jack!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind regards,

Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018 via mobile

The food was tasty and it was good value for money given that we opted for the fixed price menu, the atmosphere is also really nice.

We didn't think much of the cocktails so it was a shame we paid over £8 for them. We also found the service to be a bit abrasive at times. Overall it was nice but wouldn't say it was particularly anything special.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank JuleDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OliveTree_29, Guest Relations Manager at Olive Tree Brasserie Chester, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Hi JuleDawg,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. All feedback is greatly appreciated.

We are delighted to hear that you had an overall nice experience with us recently and that you felt the food was tasty and good value for money. With regards to your cocktails, we would have happily replaced them for something to your taste as we have an extensive cocktail list along with a wide variety of different Greek spirits that we would love for you to try!

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Madeleine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olive Tree Brasserie Chester also viewed

 
Chester, Cheshire
 

Been to Olive Tree Brasserie Chester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing