We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
189
257
160
93
97
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
189
257
160
93
97
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman amphitheatre great location standard travelodge car park pepper st basic hotel bars and restaurants early check busy road reception staff short stay night stay stayed here for one night comfy bed dee pub
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 796 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We arrived in Chester to discover that there is no parking at the hotel and the only parking is a walk down the road... ohh and not free! We arrived at the hotel after a 45 minute drive looking for parking to be greeted by a nice receptionist who booked us in and gave us a room key. We went up to our room and it smelt very strongly of damp so me and my partner went back down to reception to complain. The nice receptionist changed our rooms and apologized. We went up to our second room and on first inspection it seemed fine but after abit we noticed lots of issues!
- Broken tiolet seat,
- Mould in the shower,
- Hair in the bed,
- Clumps of hair on the floor,
- Dirty kettle,
- Smashed door,
- Only one plug socket and it was nowhere near the mirror or the bed,

The only reason I am not giving the travelodge Chester central one star is because of the staff trying their best to sort a bad situation.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Reanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Shaf from the Social Media Team. at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Thank you for submitting your review of our Chester Central Travelodge.

We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay.

May we kindly request you contact us via our website with your review so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel.

Thank you again for posting your comments and we hope to hear from you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Stayed here for one night for a friend's wedding. After check in and going into our room we were hit badly with the smell of smoke! Absolutely gross and so strong. Luckily a cleaner overhead and offered to take our key downstairs and get it changed to another room and bring it back up to the 2nd floor - wasn't expecting this and was much appreciated.
The rest of the stay was fine although the corridors were loud in the morning, it seemed no one really respected the Do Not Disturb sign.
Would stay again if I was in the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018

Great large family room and well located in central Chester.It is opposite the amphitheater and close to bars and restaurants.Great value for money and comfortable room.Definately would return to this place.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank kateg300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Excellent area in the City centre giving good access to bars and restaurantsAlso good access to the City shops and architectural buildings and also riverChester is a fantastic city to visit for all reasons Staff were very nice and helpfulDiscount of car parking

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank markdavies926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018

Our hotel was easy to find and in a lovely location - just around the corner from the main town and right across the road from the Roman amphitheatre. Upon arrival there was nobody on the desk but a “find” button which we pressed so we could check in. A lady then came to the desk but was on the phone and between her conversation on the phone said “what do you want?” To which I said we wanted to check in. She took my name and strted typing on the computer, all whilst talking on the phone - she checked us in and gave us our room number but remained on the phone the whole time, which I found to be rude and unwelcoming. The room we stayed in was rather big and beautifully presented, clean and tidy. The air-conditioning was really easy to use. The first member of staff was very rude but we spoke to another member of staff the next day as I needed some information about how to get to the zoo and she couldn’t of been more helpful - she was very polite and nothing I asked was too much trouble, how it should be.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank emilyrosepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Molly from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Chester Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2018

Thank you for your review of our Chester Central Hotel.

We are pleased to hear that your stay was enhanced by the location of the Hotel, and you were impressed with your room.

However, we are very sorry to learn that there was a delay during your check in process, and you found the Staff Member to be unwelcoming and unpleasant.

Thank you again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews