We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
57
43
24
16
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
43
24
16
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to the train station single room big tv on the wall minute walk to the town centre tea and coffee making facilities bed was very comfortable one night stay small hotel reception area full english would stay again nice room lovely hotel visit chester excellent stay bash armchairs
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 174 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2017 via mobile

Absolutely lovely modern hotel, Bash was very helpful and spent the time directing us to the car park at the rear of the hotel. Rooms were lovely and clean if we ever return to Chester overnight I would definitely stay here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rachel01111993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017 via mobile

So we booked here using booking.com and then looked on TripAdvisor afterwards. I saw the 3/5 for reviews and felt concerned. However, after looking through I could see all the bad reviews were from when the hotel was under previous ownership. The new owner is a fantastic guy. He told us about taking over the hotel and how much work he has put in to it. I loved how he has chosen to keep the hotel name the same as there is a history to the place and therefore is choosing to work hard to improve his TripAdvisor rating rather than just changing the name.

The hotel is very nice indeed and has some very high quality finishes. The room could perhaps do with a full-length mirror in the bedroom and perhaps a lamp or smaller light for the room as the lights are quite bright but that is me being incredibly nit-picky. Overall the place is great.

Chester town centre is about 15 minute walk away so not too bad and the hotel is about 2 minutes from the train station. The hotel has some limited parking but we parked in a car park over the road for £5 for 24 hours.

Overall, I cannot rate this hotel highly enough. The price is fantastic, as is the owner and the quality of the hotel.

Thank you for a fantastic stay.

Date of stay: October 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Tarv18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Bash showed us where to park and even took my case in. He is the most friendly polite person with helpful information about Chester and even booked a table at a nearby restaurant for us (again thank you). Room is spotlessly clean and the bathroom has been refurbished well. Well located for a 10 minute walk to the town centre. Well done Bash.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2017 via mobile

Been visiting the ormonde since 2015 when Bash first took the place on, seen it totally refurbished... they are super friendly here, Bash even moved our car for us... perfect location for visiting Chester...

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank kellicomfort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017 via mobile

Just left after spending 2 nights for a stag so. Hotel and rooms spotless, all enhanced by the faultless service given by Bash. Well done. Couldn't fault the location, price or facilities. Would highly recommend it.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank folllly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews