We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“hotel from hell” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Brookside Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brookside Hotel
Ranked #23 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Argyll
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel from hell”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012

wee book this hotel due to a visit to Chester zoo ,big disappointing we had room 19 above the kitchen very noise and the room is mix in a staff quarter again very noise,at the breakfast no much to chose,i ask for my bacon to be crispy and no beans on the plate,i got in stead burned eggs and row bacon and a plate full a beans,after the breakfast we vent to reception to bay our tickets for the zoo,we find a grumpy man who nearly shouted at us to wait because someone mix his adult tickets with the kids ones and he had to sort them out.
not a very friendly hotel,room are very scummy and needs a lot of t.l.c
not recommended

Room Tip: all we can c thru the windows was the car park and very noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blue75Argyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Having read your review we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us at The Brookside hotel. We strive at all times to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. After investigating your review card (which was not filled in) whilst at the hotel, we were very surprised to find your comments on Trip Advisor. In our opinion room 19 is a very nice room which was graded 3 Star AA and 3 star Visit England with excellence in Customer service gaining 4 star status. We feel we would also like to add their is no staff accommodation at the hotel. We are sorry to read your comments but at an absolute loss of how this happened.
regards
Mark and Marion Gilfoyle.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    131
    56
    17
    5
See reviews for
59
186
16
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brit
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Really lovely, thoughtful staff and very pleasant rooms. The hotel is in a quiet location away from the town centre. A perfectly decent meal in the evening and a very good breakfast before I left.

Room Tip: The single room here is as good as many a double I've had elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkbananarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
On behalf of All the staff and Management of The Brookside Hotel, may we thank you for your lovely comments we strive at all times to ensure our guests have a lovely stay.
Once again sincere thanks
with regards
Mark and Marion Gilfoyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

My fiance and I stayed at the Brookside hotel for an evening at the beginning of March 2012. On check-in, the manager was extremely friendly and welcoming and spoke to us for quite some time about all manner of things. We were made to feel really warm and welcome, the service was very personable and even the cleaner stopped to say hello to us.

Our room was tiny, teeny tiny, but had everything we could ask for. In a way I liked that it was cosy as it was a romantic evening away! Despite the bathroom being equally as small, it had a brand new shower and was really clean.

The location was about a 20 minute walk from the city centre which wasn't too bad, about a fiver in a taxi. My partner used the bar while I was getting ready for our night out and he said it was spot on and had everything he needed. Can't comment on the breakfast, although it was included, as we were too hungover to make it. Parking on-site and free too. All in all, a cosy pick at a reasonable price. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissTropicalTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mariongillyhow, Owner at Brookside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Sincere thanks for your lovely comments, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our commitment to guests is always to exceed expectations, we hope if you stay again you will also enjoy the experience of our "Full Cheshire Breakfast". Once gain many thanks and best wishes to you both.
Mark and Marion Gilfoyle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

we stayed one night at the hotel in early March, we arrived early and left the car in the hotels car park which is covered by cctv, the staff where friendly and told us about things to do in chester as we hadn't been before we we appreciated and took on board there advice and did the river cruise which we enjoyed.
we returned to the hotel around 5pm to check in for the night and were given directions to our room, which was a good size and had a double and single bed,my wife noticed the bedding hadn't been changed from the previous guests as there was lipstick and other stains on the linen, this was changed within 5 mins and we were given a free drink in the bar that evening, the rooms could do with updating but i would say in general they are clean and i suppose for the room rate you pay they are priced accordingly.
we used the hotels restaurant for our evening meal and breakfast which we found ok, they do a set menu for 3 courses for around £18 which we thought was value for money.
its around a 15 min walk into town which is fine in the daytime but i wouldn't recommend in the dark as you have to walk under an uninviting under pass which is poorly lit.
all in all apart from the bed linen we had an alright stay and would recommend this hotel if you wanted a cheap night away in chester.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

This hotel truly embodies the meaning of the word hospitality! Exceptional service, warm and friendly staff, and a cracking breakfast, what more could you ask for!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
185 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

I stayed for one night on a business trip. The staff were welcoming and friendly and my room was very comfortable. I had the evening meal which was reasonably priced and well cooked as was breakfast. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1Sussexgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Recently stayed at Brook Side Hotel and the stay was fantastic. I booked a small double room direct and couldn't believe the price. £125 B&B for 2 nights on the weekend after valentines day was brilliant. The staff were all very helpful and cheery from the moment we checked in. We were shown up to the room which was also lovely. I had booked a small double so I wasnt expecting anything too big and although the room was small it was still well decorated and had a large screen TV too and the bed was also very comfortable.

The location of the hotel was also brilliant, a 10 minute walk from the city walls. The onsite parking was also a great addition to our stay. I would recommend the hotel restaurant too. The food was fantastic and the service was quick. In addition to this the breakfast was also lovely, there was a lot of choice and once again was not disappointed.

I would recommend the Brookside to anyone as it was a lovely litle 3* hotel in a nice location and very well priced too!

Room Tip: You get what you pay for. The small rooms are gorgeous but if its at least a 2 night stay maybe book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megangg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
1.1 km away
Chester Court
Chester Court
#16 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Chester City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Hallmark Chester The Queen, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,464 reviews
11.7 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#19 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Hotel

Property: Brookside Hotel
Address: Brook Lane, Chester CH2 2AN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chester
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brookside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brookside HotelDiscover Chester’s Hidden GemWhere Excellence In Service Meets Traditional Style With Modern Day Comforts.An independent family owned 3 *** Hotel which offers free on site car parking and Wi-Fi. Situated in a quiet location and just a short walk from the city centre the Brookside Hotel makes for an ideal retreat. Its cosy bar & lounges offer a selection of wines & spirits draft beer, afternoon tea & lite bites. In our restaurant the dinner menu boasts traditional and continental dishes with full English breakfast the following morning included in all tariffs.All rooms are individually styled & have flat screen freeviev TV, digital radio & hair dryer, beverage tray & room service. Each has its own bathroom with complimentary toiletries and fresh towels daily or upon request.The Hotel has 24hr access & with customer care at the very heart of who we are we look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Brookside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brookside Hotel Chester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing