We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage perfect for Chester and the Zoo.”

Review of Vine Cottage

Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Vine Cottage Welcoming Holiday Home
Front of the cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Dining room
Lounge
Conservatory from the Courtyard
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Bathroom
Second Bedroom
Internal staircase
Conservatory/Dining Area
Kitchen
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
czoet
tyne and wear
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage perfect for Chester and the Zoo.”
Reviewed June 8, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

A lovely well maintained cottage. The hosts, who live next door are lovely - even returned something by post we left behind. Lots of up to date info in the cottage about the surrounding area, think its the most organised cottage I have stayed in. 5 minutes from the zoo and a great park and ride into Chester (although you could walk into Chester - about 45 minutes). 10 minutes walk to 2 family pubs serving food. 20 minute walk to Morrisons for supplies. Also walk straight down church lane, past the library and a good childrens play area is on your right. Cant think of a single negative thing. Try it.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spagnc
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“We'll be back. Perfect place for a holiday”
Reviewed April 11, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

After reading the other reviews I was sold. And all so true. The arrival basket was lovely especially the thoughtful Easter eggs for the kids, bottle of wine, tea bags, milk in the fridge. Morrisons a few mins drive away and Chester Zoo 5 mins drive.

After having a problem with a non-stick pan, the following day Peter turned up with a pile of metal saucepans.

The double bed is a double. The main bedroom was ideal, which the kids enjoyed. Definitely would go back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DKieft
Germany
1 review
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed February 9, 2015 for a stay in October 2014

We were delighted with this cottage! Everything we needed had ben thought of: the cottage has a good size, a lovely conservatory with views into a beautiful garden. The bedrooms were very clean and airy, the beds comfortable. Peter next door made sure we had everything we needed - thanks again! We highly recommend this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A nice and quiet area, yet in walking distance to city centre
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandypomk...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very homely”
Reviewed October 27, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the cottage for 3 nights in October . Peter was a pleasure to deal with - nothing was too much trouble. We arrived on a cold wet afternoon but found the cottage very warm and cosy. It is well stocked with everything you may need and was impeccably clean. It is ideally located to explore the many delights that Chester has to offer. We especially loved the shopping at Cheshire oaks , an easy 5-10mins drive away. I would definitely like to stay there again !! Many thanks Peter and Wendy!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We could have stayed longer in this well appointed cottage.”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

All our dealings with Peter and Wendy have been excellent right from our initial contact with them, through the booking process and down to the greeting we received. The cottage was very well presented and equipped. We spent quite a bit of our time in the conservatory whee we could look out onto the well maintained garden. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was very clean. The location was excellent as it was close to Chester Zoo, the train (for Liverpool) and the Park and Ride into Chester City. (Why take the car when there is a facility such as the Park and Ride provided by Chester Council?)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Where do you start?
Liked least: Street noise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dmax66
Ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed here for a week and had a very nice time. Nice welcome from the owners who live next door and a nice arrival pack including milk, wine, apple juice and tea etc.

The cottage is well situated within easy reach of Chester, Liverpool, Cheshire Oaks and Wales.

Located in a quiet residential area with a pub at the top of the road which was child friendly and reasonable.

Cottage spotlessly clean and has absolutely everything we needed.

Nice to have breakfast in the conversatory in the morning.

After a busy day exploring
exploring and having dinner, back to the cottage for a
film and a few drinks.

We self catering most years and Vine Cottage is one of the very best.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KentTrave...
kent
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage, a real home from home.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 for a stay in December 2013

We have just enjoyed a great week at the very aptly named Vine Cottage. It is tastefully decorated and furnished and is equiped and maintained to a very high standard. Our hosts could not have been more welcoming and made sure we had everything we could possibly need, including a lovely welcome basket full of goodies.

The cottage is well placed for local amenities. There are shops and two pubs within 10 minutes walking distance and a major supermarket with a fuel station less than 10 minutes drive. The centre of Chester is 2 miles away and easy to get to. The cottage has a detailed folder with all the information on how to access local amenities and, as Peter and Wendy are local, they are happy to give any advice if needed. The cottage also has plenty of information for those that wish to explore further afield, in fact we got so engrossed in the walking books, we left it too late to go out!!

We were visiting relatives in the area so we are very familiar with all the region has to offer, but, if you have never visited the north-west before, this cottage is an ideal base to explore this part of the UK. Chester Zoo, the world oldest zoolological gardens is just a few minutes either by car or on foot. The city of Chester is worthy of at least a day to take in all it's glories. We crossed the fields and walked into the city along the tow path of the Shropshire Union Canal, a route I have never taken before. Liverpool is accessible by road or train and other towns and cities in the region can be easily accessed by road. For cyclists, a good network of cycle paths exists in Chester and for walkers and cyclists alike there is plenty of exploring to do in North Wales, Wirral and Cheshire. The North Wales Coast is easy to access and the Lake District is about a one and a half hour drive.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard of equipment and furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing