We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Family Week”

Review of Oak barns

Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Welcome to the Oak Barns, Farndon - approximately 7 miles from Chester
Enjoy a relaxing night's rest in the comfortable, king sized bed in double bedroom
Enjoy a relaxing drink on the terrace after an enjoyable family day out in Cheshire
The owner's family enjoying the stunning countryside
Breathtaking country views
Excellent restaurants in the area and in the village
Oak Barns with fabulous views of the Cheshire countryside
Lounge with comfy sofas and flat screen digital t.v.
Spacious family accommodation sleeps 6
Lovely countryside views whilst relaxing on the patio
Spacious dining area with a fully equipped modern kitchen
First floor twin bedded room with comfy beds
Ground floor twin bedroom with adjoining family bathroom.  Ideal if you cannot manage the stairs.
Bright and sunny dining area
Plenty of fresh air and space for the children to explore
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary W
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous Family Week”
Reviewed April 26, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Enjoyed our second stay at Oak Barns, Easter Week, arrived Easter Saturday, the accommodation as before was perfect, so deceiving by the looks, the accommodation is splendid, really plenty of room, the 'Oldies' accommodated on the ground floor, ( we call it the Granny Flat'} superb ! the rest of the family upstairs ! All enjoyed fabulous walks, the Village of Farndon is lovely, so is Holt, just a short walk, can recommend the Delicious Deli !
Only a few miles from Chester, which was marvelous for Grandma, Daughter and Grand Daughter for retail therapy. The Sun shined all week, could not believe our luck ! Thank you Jayne, we had a fab week.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locality , the accommodation and the Sunshine !!!!!!!!!
Liked least: Nothing to complain about
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2015
Absolutely delighted that you had such a good time over the Easter period. It was a pleasure to have you stay again and thank you for taking the time to write the review. The "Granny" flat is great for guests who cannot manage the stairs and private as well with its own bathroom next door. Hope to hear from you another time. Jayne Wilson, property owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P W
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property in a good location.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property is deceptively spacious and easily accommodated 6 adults and 2 small dogs. On arrival the cottage was immaculately clean and we were very pleased with the layout and standard of presentation. The kitchen was well equipped. Jayne the owner was very welcoming and helpful. It was a short walk to Farndon where we enjoyed a quiet drink and good food. Well placed for visiting Chester Zoo and other attractions. We would certainly consider a return visit in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found the Oak Barn clean and spacious enough to accommodate your family. Rob and I love the village life and regularly wander down on an evening for a drink and a meal. I look forward to maybe accommodating you another time. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balmullo
1 review
“Modern, spacious accommodation”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed in Oak Barn No1 which was modern and had ample room for 4 adults and a dog. Great having two full bathrooms too.

No secluded area for the dog to be let out to sit etc which was a shame as he is used to being in his garden off the lead.

The accommodation is set in a secluded area at the bottom of the lane which is very tranquil and peaceful.

The barns lack soundproofing but it didn't bother us too much as in the next barn were two couples. We did hear the dogs barking in the third barn though!

It is a great location for visiting Chester, Cheshire Oaks, Liverpool and Bridgemere.

The owner Jayne is very welcoming and the shortbread on our arrival was a nice gesture. She also popped in with some home grown veg mid week.

Shame we didn't get the weather to make use of the BBQ and sit out on the patio.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you liked the location. It is nice to visit Chester and the surrounding area and have somewhere tranquil to retreat to each evening. I am glad you liked my home grown vegetables and the shortbread as well. It is always good to receive positive feedback. I am sorry you were disappointed that there was nowhere for your dog to sit unattended outside. I try not to encourage this in case a dog should escape into the nearby fields and disturb the livestock or children playing nearby. Thanks again for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back another time. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forsyth_F...
Acklington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great family holiday home!”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We went to Car Fest at Oulton Park for 3 days,I am so pleased we did not camp, the rain was torrential! We walked into No3 Oak Barns and it was lovely! We managed to get dried out and ready to go again the next day! Everything we needed was there, the washing machine came in very handy to wash all the muddy jeans.When the sun came out, it was great to sit outside and watch the kids playing safely. Plenty of room for extra vehicles. Just a short walk into Farndon, for a drink, meal or money. Have already recommended this to another family member.
Thank you!
The Forsyth Family

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt very homely! Home from home!
Liked least: Would have been great to have some light bulbs in the fire, for a bit of ambiance.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2014
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in one of the Oak Barns and that it had everything you needed. Thank you also for taking the time to write a review and for recommending my Oak Barns to your family. Thanks again, Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah an...
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Hosts, great accommodation and great views!”
Reviewed June 24, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I was staying at the barn with some friends for the weekend, I arrived late and Jayne came out to meet me in the car park to show me to the barn, she was really friendly and attentive, offering to leave some breakfast provisions in the barn kitchen as I was going to leave early the next day. I had a great night's sleep and in the morning sat outside with a cup of coffee looking at the fantastic views, I would highly recommend this property!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael T
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent value”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Stopped for 3 nights. Quality of the lodge was first rate, and great value for the money. Location was rural enough to be very quiet but only a five minute walk into Farndon. Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2014
Many thanks for your review. I am delighted that you found the location suited your needs. The village is very accessible and offers local shops, pubs and good places to eat. Many guests enjoy the walk into the village. Thanks again for the review. Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carol w
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful location”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Our extended family (3 generations) had a wonderful Easter Break here. The location is perfect - panoramic views and peaceful surroundings, but only a 10 minute walk to the village. The barns are immaculately clean and everything is laid on, even a barbecue - (fantastic butchers in the village too). Jayne, the property owner, was extremely helpful and catered for all our needs - e.g. Non-allergenic bedding! We did a park and ride into Chester (Wrexham Road) and a train ride into Liverpool (park at Bache station and its a 45 mins journey). Excellent holiday - I would recommend it to any family group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2014
I am delighted that you enjoyed your Easter break and thank you for the great review. As you mention the village is very convenient to the Oak Barns and very handy if you need to pop out to the local shops. It is also nice to have local pubs available if you want to wander out on an evening for a drink with the family. I am glad that I was able to meet your family's needs. Thanks again, Jayne Wilson, Property Owner.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing