We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay at the Grosvenor Pulford” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Chester
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Grosvenor Pulford”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We stayed on a zoo package deal with out 3 yr old daughter. Excellent value for money at £155 for dinner bed and breakfast and 3 zoo tickets!
There was no faulting this hotel, its staff and the experience overall - everything was excellent.
From arriving the staff were so friendly and welcoming. the spa is gorgeous in and outdoors to the Japanese gardens, the restaurant for the evening meal was outstanding. The food was great and very well presented, all served with a smile.
rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Breakfast had an extensive selection and all served by extremely pleasant staff throughout.

Room Tip: if you only want a standard double - the most spacious of them all is room 56! easily fitted a trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tehdeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    944
    410
    133
    45
    28
See reviews for
264
818
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Had an enjoyable night stayand wonderful food in the Nelson's bar.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

I hate writing negative reviews, and always also hate reading them! Although sad to say that since I last went to the spa back in 2011, the latest experience wasn't that good.

Last year, we had a brilliant Hamman and Rasul, along with usage of the various relaxation and change rooms. It was that good, we bought vouchers for our family to check out, and they enjoyed it too.

This time not so good. First indications was upon arrival. Even though we arrived early, there was an unprepared air to proceedings. Next, there was the removal of footwear, in the main throughway area. We "get this", but starting with the 1st stage of undressing, of shoes and socks, in full view of other guests, staff, management and what seemed to be about 20 people was very odd. Indeed, whilst we respected the "quiet, low noise" to maintain the calm spa feeling, the 20 other people were certaintly not. It was everything from deliveries, to cleaners, to wedding organisers, to guest wanting to purchase products. My wife and I were sat there, sans shoes and socks, in the hullabaloo. Lovely.

Next, I was taken straight to my treatment room. Slightly dissappointed, as last time I went to the changing rooms downstairs, which are lovely and had a shower. I needed one this time too, but marched straight into the room and instructed to go onto the table. I half thought about using the shower in the room, though it wasn't offered, and I was conscious that the lady was already 5-10mins late and it would just eat more into my time. I'd turned up early just to shower and relax - not happy and not a good start!!

So, I went for the Maharaja, which is a Thai herbal compress massage, followed by Hot Oil massage. It was rubbish. Now I must say first, my expectations are always low when it comes to massages. 90% of places I go to in the UK haven't a clue how to massage, and it's only the authentic Thai massage places, with people who've had proper training, are any good. But, the Turkish massage I'd had previously here was actually ok, and I has slightly better hopes. Nope, totally wrong. Unfortunately the lady didn't have the strength or technique to have any effect. I was thinking the whole time, that my wife would probably enjoy it, as it was very gentle and calm ... (totally the opposite of what a Thai massage is about!), but for me, and I guess most men in general, a waste of time.

One of the reasons for booking this particular treatment, was due to the period being 90mins. I often find 60mins is far too short. Well, I was out after about 50mins! I had no idea of the time. It wasn't until I realised my wife was still in her 55min facial (when I couldn't find her outside) that I realised how short I'd been in there for. Not happy.

Now, at £90, this was over double the price of a normal massage. It was rubbish, lasted nearly half of what it should, and to top it off, I had to sit in reception putting my shoes and socks back on in front of yet another crowd of people.

We cancelled our evening table in Ciro's and went to Chester instead.

I must add that my wife had one of the best facials, so not all bad.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JZV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NelsonNW, Sales & Marketing Director at Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
It was with great disappointment and surprise that we read your review. Firstly may we apologise that your most recent experience at Spa by Kasia was not to the usual high standards. As you will know from your previous visit, we normally pride ourselves on the highest level of customer service and make every effort to ensure that our customers have the most excellent and relaxing experience with us.

We feel that it is rather unjust to make a sweeping generalisation that the spa has gone downhill when your unfortunate experience was merely a result of the idleness and disrespectful attitude to the Spa standards that one therapist has shown. The therapist in question has greatly let us down and although we realise and accept that it is our responsibility to ensure that all therapists maintain the highest of standards when working for us, which we clearly set out to all therapists from the outset, unfortunately we cannot anticipate them choosing to act against our standards and cannot always control or even be aware of what they do once the treatment room door is closed. This is why we deem it very important to receive such feedback from our guests, preferably at the time of their visit, so that we can act upon any such issues accordingly. We can assure you that our Spa has not gone downhill; as the feedback from your wife goes to prove when you mention that her facial was 'one of the best'. The therapist responsible for not complying to work to the exceptionally high standards we set has been reprimanded accordingly as we do take this matter very seriously and will not tolerate any lapse in our usual high standards. We regret that you felt the need to generalise the spa as a whole in a most negative manner when we have, with the exception of one member, a fabulous team with incredible passion for their work and great pride in their ability to provide the upmost customer satisfaction.

May we also take this opportunity to point out that extended use of the spa facilities and changing rooms are only available when booking a spa day with us, as you had only booked an individual treatment with us on your most recent visit unfortunately this does not include use of the spa facilities, hence why you were taken straight to your treatment room and not the changing area. As you are aware, after we read your review on Trip Advisor we did contact you personally to apologise for your unacceptable, and out of the ordinary, experience and we were delighted to hear that you will be returning to experience our usual high standards. We look forward to welcoming you back to Spa by Kasia.

Kind regards,

Amy Nelson
Spa Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent a very enjoyable stay in a Deluxe room (No: 40), which had a spiral staircase leading from a small sitting room, the windows of which overlooked the courtyard of Ciro’s restaurant, up to a very pleasant en-suite bedroom which had views over the Japanese garden to the surrounding countryside.

During the afternoon, we used the pool, steam-room, sauna and Jacuzzi, then relaxed on very comfortable loungers by the pool, reading from a selection of magazines thoughtfully provided by the hotel.

Dinner at Ciro’s was excellent in quality and decent value for money – 3 courses including wine came to around £80, with excellent starters (ham hock terrine for my wife and seared scallops, beautifully cooked for me, followed by pork medallions and chump of lamb respectively.) Unfortunately the Peach Melba was unavailable but we shared an enterprising selection of cheeses to finish. The standard of both food and service was exceptional and all the staff we encountered seemed to have a really positive customer-facing ethic which manifested itself in a courteous and friendly response to every request. Literally, “Service With a Smile”.

The hotel is clearly a popular venue for weddings (there is a church just across the road) and despite our stay covering a Thursday and Friday, their dedicated function suite seemed to be busy on both days. Our room did not suffer from any intrusive sounds from the function areas, although we became aware that one unlucky guest managed to get locked out of a nearby room at 4.00 in the morning; I hope he got a decent night’s sleep thereafter.

We would cheerfully return to this hotel which is an excellent base from which to visit Chester, using the useful bus service (No: 1 - from Chester Rail station to Wrexham Station).

Room Tip: Some deluxe rooms have a spiral staircase - avoid if you have difficulty climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

I've rated hotels on here before and never given an excellent rating but on this occasion, this hotel and the excellent staff deserved it. I echo all the other positive things that people have said on here.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyYellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Celebrated my wedding at the Grosvenor last Thursday and stayed 2 nights. The hotel staff were excellent from the wedding co-ordinator Natalie, hotel staff Maurice, Alistair and man with American accent (sorry forgot his name). Nothing was too much trouble and the attention to detail was excellent. I had a treatment in the spa which was lovely and the meal in Ciro's was first class. Every one of my guests commented on how lovely the hotel was and how perfect the day went. Gorgeous surroundings for photographs, lovely staff and gorgeous food. Highly recommend this hotel for a wedding or a well deserved break. Hoping to stay next year for my anniversary and every year after that!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireRy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Couldn't fault the hotel at all. Really friendly excellent service. Food was really good. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The spa and facilities made the stay perfect, the staff in the spa were professional and friendly. We will definitely stay again.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chester hotels
8.3 km away
The Chester Grosvenor
The Chester Grosvenor
#4 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
10.9 km away
Doubletree by Hilton Chester
7.9 km away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
Oddfellows
Oddfellows
#7 of 45 in Chester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
7.7 km away
Abode Chester
Abode Chester
#18 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
8.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Chester
Crowne Plaza Chester
#11 of 45 in Chester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa

Property: Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
Address: Wrexham Road, Chester CH4 9DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Chester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Chester
#3 Spa Hotel in Chester
#3 Business Hotel in Chester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chester
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award winning Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa with its beautiful 19th Century original building has been tastefully and expertly extended to incorporate a vast range of facilities and accommodation. Nestled in the Cheshire countryside this hotel is ideally located just a five minute drive from Chester's historic city centre, yet a stone's throw from the border of Wales. Privately owned, this four star hotel offers 73 bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, while two restaurants provide guests with a choice of dining. The AA Rosette awarded Ciro's Brasserie is a magnificent Mediterranean themed restaurant specialising in modern European cuisine cooked using fresh, seasonal, local produce, while Nelson's Bar, the hotel's gastro-pub offers traditional ales and a wide selection of bar meals. Within the hotel is also Spa by Kasia, the North West's most exclusive and opulent spa. This luxury retreat offers 6 indulgent treatment suites, 3 relaxation rooms, a couple's VIP suite, traditional Hamman, Roman style swimming pool, Jacuzzi, steam room, sauna, gymnasium, outdoor tennis court, Spa Boutique, Spa Eatery, and the unique and stunning Asian Sensory Garden. This welcoming hotel, with its stunning backdrop of the welsh mountains, is the perfect base from which to explore the beauty of Wales, Cheshire, the famous Roman city of Chester and The Wirral. There is an abundance of local attractions in and around the surrounding area, which include Chester Cathedral, Chester Race Course, Chester Zoo, Blue Planet Aquarium, McArthur Glen Designer Outlet, Beeston Castle, Castles of North Wales, Tatton Park, Ness Botanical Gardens and many more! The hotel offers ample free parking and complimentary internet access throughout and is easily accessible from the motorway network A55, M53, M56 and M6, and the international airports of Manchester and Liverpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel And Spa
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel Chester
Grosvenor Pulford Chester
Hotel Grosvenor Pulford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing