We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful little apartment”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
steelmagn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful little apartment”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This apartment was the perfect location for our stay in Chester. It's located right in the heart of the town, just walk out the front door, then through the black entrance door and it's all there; shops, café's, restaurants and sights to see and all within walking distance. Three of us stayed in the apartment, myself, my husband and our 14 year old son and there was plenty of room. The kitchen is well equipped with a fantastic washer/dryer which was very easy to use. The owner Peter is friendly and helpful as well. If you visit during the summer months, do try to make it to a moonlight flicks in the Roman Gardens, we saw Some Like it Hot one evening and it was fantastic!! My family and I highly recommend this lovely, comfy, clean and well located apartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The steep stairs
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom A
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky property in superb location...”
Reviewed 27 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I love city breaks where we can leave the car and can explore on foot, and if this is your sort of holiday too, I would strongly recommend this property to you as it provides the best possible base-camp to do this from.

It's a good thing Pete was there to meet us as it's incredibly easy to miss the tiny black door that goes into the narrow passageway which eventually leads to the front door of the flat.

This is absolutely not a criticism, however, as the alley-way ensures you are a good distance from Watergate Street, which even though is mostly pedestrianised, is used by people who are out in the evening and in the night and can be a little noisy.

We slept every single night with the bedroom window open, and we were more disturbed by the works taking place across the way (new student accommodation being built), but this began at a reasonable 8am in the morning so this really wasn't a problem.

The apartment itself is lovely and quirky...the kitchen is modern and reasonably well equipped and Pete had kindly bought us a pint of milk which was in the fridge.

The living room is spacious and has a nice large comfy sofa (also a bed) and a good sized TV with a fair number of digital channels. We used the DVD player a couple of times too - always useful when the TV schedule is being rubbish - the one thing we missed here was a DVD remote, although we may simply not have found it (and I didn't ask).

The bedroom is very small and you have to prepare for some clambering about to get in and out if you are sleeping next to the wall, but that's all part of the quirkiness! Despite the compact size there was still wardrobe space and mirrors for hair etc.

The bathroom is the only room that hasn't really been modernised yet, but this isn't a problem as it was perfectly functional. The only thing I would have improved is the shower head, which really didn't provide an adequate spray and could do with being replaced, but the bath is large and you wouldn't run out of hot water anyway so it's absolutely not a deal breaker.

The windows are all lovely original sash-rope windows, which some may find a little old-school if you are used to UPVC, and it does let a lot of noise in. The weather was fantastic when we stayed, but I can imagine it being a little chilly in winter - however it's fully centrally heated and we used this on the day we arrived (the coldest day) and the apartment had warmed up in just 30 minutes.

The property is close to a beer garden which is quite small, but you can hear conversations from this garden with the lounge window closed. No problems at all for us, as we tended to be up until 11pm or so watching TV anyway, and the pub closes its doors at around 11pm then, and the noise went away.

Location wise, this place cannot be beaten. You step out onto Watergate Street and just 30 seconds up the street you are outside a Sainsbury's (open late). A further 30 seconds and you are standing in a large open area with Northgate/Eastgate/Westgate street all converging on that point.

From there you can get to any of the main city centre attractions within a further five minute walk...of course there are the raised shops which are marvellous, but the walls are also magnificant (we walked all but the 100 metres or so that are closed off for repair), and you are only 10 minutes from the River Dee boat rides too.

I'd thoroughly recommend staying in The Retreat as it's a very well presented property situated in the best place possible for exploring a fantastically pretty and very walkable city centre - plus it's just 10 minutes away from Chester Zoo! What more could you want?!

Top Tips:

- Property probably best suited to couples due to space available
- The stairs leading up to the property are INCREDIBLY STEEP and they turn a corner at the top, the rope comes in handy, but you have to be very careful if you are bringing in luggage
- Arriving on the day, aim for 6pm onwards and park your car in Weaver Street. This is surprisingly close to the apartment and parking is free there until the next morning at 8am. Pete will kindly explain the parking scenario to you, but we never paid for parking during our stay and the car was never more than a 3 minute walk away
- If you can, eat at The Watergate Bar - this is a fantastic pub serving good quality food but the atmosphere is superb, and the cellar walls are exposed and have been left as they were all those years ago
- Do the ghost walk - it's a little pricey but worth it for a condensed and interesting history lesson with some spooky stories thrown in (http://www.ghostcity.co.uk/)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, comfortable living accommodation (home from home vibe), Chester itself
Liked least: Some background noise during the day, some from road, other from works taking place (not permanent)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy D
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed 19 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I recently stayed at The Retreat for three weeks while awaiting the birth of my first grandchild. Located on Watergate Street it is right in the heart of Chester and within easy walking distance to everything in this charming City. The flat itself is quaint from its winding narrow steep stairs (manageable) to the lovely little sitting area. Everything I could want was included within the flat from dishes to cutlery. Situated between two pubs the noise level could rise a bit. I was there for the Chester Races which draws in over 20,000 people and the outdoor beer garden was right below. However, a good pair of ear plugs and the fact that the pubs close early made the noise level not an issue for me. Peter, the owner, was delightful to deal with and answered all my question promptly and even left a welcome bottle of wine as well as some milk in the fridge when I arrived. There is a small convenience store right down the street which came in very handy. I would stop there often for necessities and for simple food items. And, of course, being in the heart of town you have your choices of places to eat. I loved my little flat and truly felt at home there. I couldn't imagine staying anywhere else were I to go back to Chester again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Noise level
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FEL_Londo...
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely few days”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Cute medieval building right in the middle of Chester. Comfortable, convenient, well equipped. Peter very kind and welcoming. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason c
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

its a great location right near all the shops and races loads of places to eat right outside the door although everything is there should you want to eat in .the owner was very helpful .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving !
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maddy E
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful Apartment, Great location!”
Reviewed 27 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

on the main high street, next to all the pubs- so gets a little noisy on a saturday night but otherwise the perfect apartment for a couple :)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
88lkay
Granbury, Texas
1 review
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

This is a cozy and comfortable flat in the heart of the Town Center within a short walk of shops, restaurants and public transportation. There are two popular pubs on the street below and a food store is just a short distance away. We were greeted by the owner who showed us where everything was located and explained how to reach him if we needed anything else. We had a very pleasant ten day stay with only one slightly negative experience ... the already mentioned STEEP and narrow staircase. However, we are both in our seventies and managed the staircase without any major problem. We would highly recommend The Retreat to anyone who wishes to really experience everything Chester has to offer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$98
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing