We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (501)
Filter reviews
501 results
Traveller rating
340
105
31
17
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
340
105
31
17
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub paranormal activity haunted room real fire lower bridge street lovely old pub shower pressure function room lots of character quick drink four poster bed visiting chester saturday night full english breakfast my partner city centre two night stay
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 501 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Ye Olde King's Head is just the right combination of traditional and trendy...it has a lovely, super-relaxed ambiance with friendly, helpful staff and a top-notch breakfast: seriously, the choice and quality were excellent. The pub is a welcoming affair with some live entertainment and lots of drink choice. The only issues we experienced were relating to the room, which whilst looking the part (four poster, beams etc) is probably in need of a bit of TLC; the bed, which comprised of a divan perched on top of a four poster frame, was quite lumpy and hard, making for a rather uncomfortable sleep, and the shower never did get beyond a dribble. That said, it's hard not to love the place and we did not feel the need to complain as these things did not detract from the overall, very delightful experience.

Room tip: Book early , the hotel only has a small number of rooms and gets booked up well in advance, especially during race season
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raciroozles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2018

Hi

Thank you for the great review,
Great to hear you had a lovely time at the Kings head.
In regards to your room all them problems have been addressed via a refurb.

If you contact the pub directly ill make sure you are looked after upon your next stay.

Kind regards,
Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2018 via mobile

Stayed over for a city break in Chester, where my now wife proposed to me. She had booked ahead with the Ye Olde King's Head to see if they could do anything special for our room. They got us a nice box of chocolates and some bubbly which was really lovely. The room was perfect, the location central and the staff were so friendly. Will probably be staying there again in the future.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank muffinxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Thank you so much for the great review.

Im so happy that your stay was made more enjoyable.
Hopefully we'll see you for your next anniversary!
Warmest regards,
Harry



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 22, 2018 via mobile

Excellent hotel. Room was of a good standard (though the shower was a bit slow) - high ceiling with beams - you won't stay in a room like this very often. The staff were welcoming and friendly. The bar in the pub downstairs had an excellent selection of beers. Even though there was live music in the bar the rooms were far enough away for us to not be disturbed. The breakfast was superb - full English with all the trimmings, and they're open to non-residents so well worth a try. Highly recommended. Didn't see no ghosts though

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Glenn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Hi Glenn,

Thank you so much for the great review,

Lovely to hear you appreciated every element of the business.

We would love to have you back and I'll have a quiet word with the ghosts to make them more active on your next stay!


Thanks again.


Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

The pub is an old black and white building with lots of history and character.
Friendly staff and helpful.
Both my wife and I had the steak pie with mash and what a wonderful pie it was. Not one of these rewarmed little silver tray jobs but individual homemade pies with tender steak pieces and lovely rich gravy. The mash was smooth without being creamy and watery and came with nicely cooked veg.
Dessert or as I call it...pudding.... My wife had the Eton mess which she said was nice because along with the usual meringue, cream and strawberries it had ice cream which made it lighter as not so much heavy cream. Myself.... I had the cheese board and what can I say..... Probably the best cheese board I have had and I have had a few as they are a favourite of mine. Four or five different cheeses, nice selection of crackers, celery, apple, grapes and chutney....
In all a great simple meal done excellently.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank F8547YLkenb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Hi Ken

Thank you for the lovely comments.

Great to hear you enjoyed the food , hope to see you back when the restaurant opens in September.

Kind regards,

Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2018 via mobile

This is a lovely charming pub with lots of character with its exposed timbers. The beer was ok, not too well kept but it was definitely well maintained and had a good cross section of people drinking in there.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mossman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldeKingsHeadChester, Owner at Ye Olde King's Head, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2018

Hi Mossman,
Thanks for the 5stars although slightly confused.

Regards


Harry

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews