We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A festive mini break in Chester”
other travellers have booked this property
The Eastgate Clock (2nd Most photographed clock in the world)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Eastgate Clock (2nd Most photographed clock in the world)
Lounge Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
The Eastgate Clock (2nd Most photographed clock in the world)
Lounge
Lounge
Kitchen
Kitchen work areas
Private Courtyard with seating
View of Lower Bridge Street. Property located in off street courtyard on left
River Dee a minutes walk away from cottage.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Chester, Cheshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steven R
1 review
“A festive mini break in Chester”
Reviewed January 1, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed with my girlfriend in between Xmas and New Year. Loved the cottage. Fully equipped with everything you might need and some nice finishing touches. The location is perfect, step out of the door straight into Chesters vibrant centre with loads of places to eat and drink. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2017
Thanks for your review Steven - I hope to welcome you both again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yasmin H
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location and beautiful accomadation”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We had a fabulous stay, the house not only was spotlessly clean and but so central we didn't use the car all weekend. Being so near to the centre I couldn't believe how quiet it was at night. A 30 second walk to the city walls and right next to the river with all the restaurants made it perfect and the neighbours were all lovely too. When we arrived we were very surprised to find tea, coffee, milk and other beautiful things like fruit, wine and sweets for my children. These touches made it feel very homely. I took my five year old and 10 month old children with us, the owner had laid out safety gates and a travel cot which was a fabulous help and saved us from even more luggage. We will defiantly be booking again for next year and I can not recommend Rod and the property highly enough. I would also like to add the correspondence before we arrived along with a message making sure we had settled in were greatly appreciated. Wish all places we stayed had this kind of service, thanks again Yasmin Barker.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Dec 2016
Thanks for your kind review Yasmin. It was my absolute pleasure in hosting you and your lovely family - I hope to do the same again next year.

Happy Christmas

Best regards
Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curiosity...
2 reviews
“Perfect find”
Reviewed November 27, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our first time of booking private accommodation in Chester out of the 15+ years of annually visiting this wonderful City and we were certainly not disappointed. The accommodation was clean, very comfortable and well equipped and the added extras of the essentials such as tea, milk, fruit etc on arrival after a long journey were very welcome.

Set in a quiet courtyard, within easy walking distance of the city centre. I would highly recommend this accommodation and would look to book this again for our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thanks for your lovely review it was an absolute pleasure to host you. Best regards Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sukho P
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and location”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Had a great stay visiting friends. Ideal accommodation and great location to explore Chester. Highly recommended rental.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Nov 2016
Thanks for your review Sukho it was my pleasure to host you and I do hope you'll come back again. Regards Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toothpick...
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This comfortable, well equipped house is a perfect place to stay. It's location in a quiet courtyard within the city walls is ideal for exploring Chester. We were really grateful for little touches like milk in the fridge and messages from the owner on the day we arrived to check everything was ok. Don't be put off by the lack of parking, we found ample spaces in the nearby Castle car park. My only gripe is that the oven/grill took a little working out so some simple instructions would have been helpful but the kitchen was so clean and well equipped that it really didn't matter too much. The courtyard location and comfy beds meant a good night's sleep. Wi-fi was excellent so our teenager was happy and we're all looking forward to a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2016
Thanks for your comments Claire is was great to host you - the house was spotless when you left. I'll get some instructions written out for the oven - thanks for the advise.

Regards
Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victor J
1 review
“Delightful, centrally located home”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Excellent communication from Rod before we arrived. Central location in Chester making walking to the sights very easy. Well furnished and comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
Thanks for your review Victor. It was my pleasure to host you and your family. I look forward to welcoming you next year. Regards Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LightPack...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable cottage in a central, within the walls, yet quiet location”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a really good break. The location of the cottage is very central, within the walls, yet very quiet. The beds were comfortable. The cottage was very clean and nicely decorated. The owner made us feel very welcome. We appreciated the thoughtful surprises on our arrival.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Aug 2016
Thanks for your review Jolanta you've both been a pleasure to host and I look forward to welcoming you back again next year. Best regards Rod
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing