We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great one night stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St Michael's Hotel & Spa
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

My Girlfriend and I stay at St Michaels Hotel for one night recently as a treat. This was my first visit to a Spa Hotel and had an excellent expeirence. The food was top quality , the pool / jacuzzi was very relaxing and the spa treatments we had were awesome! Definite recommendation for people to go there and expeirence helpful and firendly staff and all round 1st class hotel! Will be returning asap!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to an ocean view room with a moveable wide screen- a definite must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfordie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

Your review is a joy to read, we’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our best rates are available via our website, and there are currently some great deals for early booking!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,055 - 1,061 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I have stayed at St Michaels a few times before and have just had another weekend break as we needed some respite from the daily stresses that having two children with special needs can bring!! We had a superior room which was extremely comfortable. The staff were all efficient and extremely helpful and friendly. The food was outstanding and our evening meal both evenings was exceptional. The only comment we make each time is the noise factor from other rooms but this does not deter us from staying again. We hope that the hotel could offer some special deals at the quieter times in the year to enable us to recharge our batteries again!!!!

Room Tip: I think a room at the top of the hotel would obviously be quieter than having people making noise ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianeIslesofScilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

More and more I am reading thank you letters, and reviews on tripadvisor from guests whom regard St Michaels as their home from home. Guests such as yourselves whom visit us for short breaks to re-charge their batteries. Whilst we value all guests, it’s always nice to welcome a return guest.
St Michaels is an old lady of a building with much charm; we’re pleased that her occasional moans and groans don’t deter you from visiting us again.
We are now offering a “book and pay today” rate, a bargain can usually be had, particularly if you are able to book in advance; usually the earlier you book, the better the deal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We had a great deal - 2 nights DB&B for a very reasonable rate. The food had improved amazingly from when we first went some years ago. A really lovely breakfast that covered every taste and very good evening meal.The staff were largely young, upbeat and on the ball. The hotel is opposite Gyllie beach - the cafe there is a very cool place to have coffee at any time of year! Perhaps our only quibble was that the room was quite small and the bathroom a little cold.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMcTruro_Cornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

We’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Some of our rooms are on the compact side, others are of good proportion; and being an older style building brought back to life with long term refurbishment; all rooms are different. Do provide your preference of room requirement next time, and our reservationists will gladly direct you to the appropriate room type; although please be aware that larger rooms are likely to be within a higher room category and thus subject to an upgrade supplement. Regarding your bathroom being cold, this should not be the case; I will have our maintenance team pay attention to this for the future.
Again, we’re really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I stayed here in January for a night with my mum, sister and daughter for a spa treat. The decor of the hotel is great, the staff so friendly and helpful.
The spa facitlities are good and the treatments great. i would definately go back again.
Everyone was so helpful really made the stay special.

The restaurant food was lovely and the setting is fab.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2012

We try to ensure that St Michael’s is an all-round destination for Spa, food and relaxation; it’s great to hear that this was apparent for your stay. We’re running New Year, New You @ from £99 per person, per night; to include 3 course Dinner B&B and a 55min Spa treatment at present. Available from now until end of March 2012 (excluding half term) Here’s hoping you have time for a return visit soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel after having our works Christmas Party. I chose St Michaels as it was very competitive on prices, known for its quality and had a good offer of free accommodation (only paying for breakfast) and use of its facilities. Really pleased I chose St Michaels because it is a gorgeous hotel. The decor throughout the whole hotel is refreshing, relaxaing, light and airy. A nice touch would be to be shown to your room rather than finding it yourself. Our room was room 11 which was an upgraded room, it had a good sized balacony with views across the bay, would have been nice to enjoy with better weather! The room was very spacious, light and decor was modern and clean. The bed was the best bed we have slept in, amazingly comfortable, would have loved to smuggled it out but didnt think we would get away with it! The food for the xmas party was of a good standard considering how many were catered for on the night. Breakfast was also enjoyable. One thing i think would have made the xmas party a little better would have been to use the pre-order sheet to know what people had ordered for example little place tags with each persons menu on (which has worked well when we have been to other functions). Would recommend to friends and family to stay, dine and for functions.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Critic325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Your suggestion of place tags, is something that actually was brought up at our party night de-brief meeting (only this week, as our last party night was 21st Jan!)
It is indeed a good idea, and I believe one that we are going to adopt for this year.
We’re really pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
Don’t forget to book up for your party night for this year, deposits are deferred until the end of August 2012.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We arrived on a wet and windy January afternoon first impressions were of a small but well kept hotel and spa. After check in we had a drink at the bar and went up to our room. For my partners birthday I had arranged for flowers in the room which had duly been dumped on the bed ........not a vase in sight!

The room was basic but ample, certainly not luxurious.

Business men beware, the hotel advertises wifi in all bedrooms a claim that was certainly untrue in our case as both my phone and iPad could only connect to the web in the hotel lounge

The first evening we had a table reservation for 8.00pm and reported to the restaurant at 7.45 to dine however were ushered to the bar for a drink even though the restaurant was not overly busy!

A fixed menu was on offer with set prices for 1,2 or 3 courses. We both opted for ribeye steak which would have been best served with a magnifying glass.

On signing the bill a £12 supplement had been added and when queried removed without question. Apparently this was an oversight from staff who had omitted to mention this on the already " over priced" menu.

This hotel is definitely not for smokers with the only ashtray situated outside the front of reception, which had not been emptied for days! Not the best way to welcome guests.

We have stayed in many hotels in Cornwall, St Michaels will not be on the top of our list for future visits!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Austin1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

It appears that a number of points make St Michaels not the hotel for you.
We hope that you will not be deterred from returning to Falmouth, as Falmouth and indeed Cornwall as a county has much to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay here. january but the sun shone and the sea was so calm. Lovely walk along the beach. Booked this just by chance as my daughter was coming to an interview at Falmouth Uni. Staff very helpful. I had booked a double and single room, but Jan managed to give my daughter a small double on the same floor as us. Our room overlloked the sea and she was at the back. Enormous comfy bed and no noise. Breakfast choice good and I asked for poached eggs which were cooked fresh with no problem.
didn't have evening meal there as wanted to look around Falmouth.
Following morning we sat in the sunny comfy lounge and had latte and cake.
Spa pool was super and gardens very tidy- couldn't believe the old tree that has branches curved round to make a tunnel which is lit up at night. Just a walk through the gardens and we were on the beach. Obviously very popular with dog walkers in the Winter. A busy cafe on the beach even in January and beautiful gardens. We found it easily and a short walk to the town, although we did walk the long way round along the coast! We hope our daughter gets a place at Falmouth just so we have the excuse to come again in the Spring/Summer.

Room Tip: We chose a superior room as it had view and much larger than our daughters double room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmw194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StMichaelsHotel, General Manager at St Michael's Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Falmouth University has a good reputation, and Falmouth as a town has much to offer your daughter and indeed yourselves when you visit. Fingers crossed for your daughter in obtaining her place, and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.8 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 24 in Falmouth
1,213 reviews
0.9 km away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#10 of 24 in Falmouth
1,198 reviews
0.7 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 24 in Falmouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#4 of 24 in Falmouth
1,142 reviews
28.1 km away
The Cornwall Hotel, Spa & Estate
0.5 km away
Merchants Manor
Merchants Manor
#13 of 24 in Falmouth
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Michael's Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Michael's Hotel & Spa

Address: Gyllyngvase Beach, The Seafront Stracey Road, Falmouth TR11 4NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Romantic Hotel in Falmouth
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Falmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range: $113 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — St Michael's Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in tranquil gardens, overlooking Gyllyngvase Beach and a short walk from Falmouth town centre. Award winning Health Club & Spa, featuring ELEMIS treatments. Indoor pool, jacuzzi, sauna and steam rooms. Flying Fish Restaurant, specialising in locally sourced cuisine, with relaxing bar and lounge. Business facilities, including meeting and event spaces. Comfortable rooms, featuring free WiFi. Family Rooms and extensive guest activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your St Michael's Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Michael`s Hotel And Spa
St Michael`s Hotel Falmouth
St Michaels Spa Falmouth
St Michaels Hotel & Spa
St Michaels Falmouth
St Michael's Hotel & Spa Falmouth, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing