We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Fabulous Hotel and Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Duchy Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Royal Duchy Hotel
Ranked #5 of 25 Hotels in Falmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel and Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

We have just come back from 3 nights here celebrating our parents ruby wedding. Our party consisted of 8 adults and 7 children age ranging from 7 to 14 years. We all had an amazing time with perfect weather. We all had great family rooms and the children had a fab time in the swimming pool and all the other facilities. We spent a day at the beach which is right opposite to the hotel and then we walked into falmouth and had lunch on the marina. The location of this hotel is fantastic! We spent time out on the sun loungers and the children played with the outdoor jenga and skittles and we were all very relaxed!
We dined every night and our thanks goes to all our waiters and waitresses who looked after out party so well. The food was outstanding and all the children tried something new and loved the fine dining!
We would like to give all the staff a massive Thank You for making our family celebration so special and for looking after us all so well.
We will definitely be back next year!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KJDDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    249
    72
    21
    9
See reviews for
185
482
42
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

The hotel itself is in a prime spot and the staff all very friendly and helpful however this is a 4 star hotel with 4 star prices and the bedrooms do not reflect that price...

I was quite amazed how small our standard room was and that it only had a double bed (we have not slept in one for 30 years and never in a 4* hotel). We had a terrible nights sleep in a tiny bed with an old mattress as when we tried to turn over you rolled into the middle of the bed. The rooms was tiny as well, however the man who snored all night long in the room next door obviously had a better nights sleep than us! When I did think I might have fallen asleep I was wakened at 7am by the sound of swirling water and I thought I was in an aquarium. The room became alive with the sounds of all the showers and baths being run in the neighbouring rooms and subsequent water running down pipes..

I did ask reception if all the bedrooms had double beds and was advised that they do apart from the superior rooms - I really feel that even though the rooms are tiny all customers in this day and age paying to go to a high rated star hotel, expect to have a luxuirous bed and bedding and to get a good nights sleep. I have slept in better B&B's for a quarter of the price.

We had the evening meal (if not taken only a £10 deduction was allowed for a £35 meal), which was included in our deal but only just made it back for the 9pm deadline - there were a few people in the lovely large dining room but by 9.30pm we were the only diners left - leaving us to ask where everyone had gone - the same story in the bar - 10pm - all but empty on a Saturday night - no music, no people, it seems an extraordinary waste of resources and revenue!

Such a lovely well positioned hotel, ruined for us by not actually catering for its guests in a 4* manner but who are paying 4* prices.

Room Tip: Pay more for a superior room if you want to stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DebbieK20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Royal Duchy Hotel during Easter Holidays. The Stay was excellent. ALL the staff were always professional, very polite and helpful. The room was very clean and roomy for the family. The food was outstanding, especially dinner with 3 different courses every night which were both innovative and delicious. We also cannot fault the location with wonderful seaviews and within close proximity to both a sandy beach and rocky shore with rock pools to explore. Loved it and wholeheartedly recommend it to couples and families alike.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Simon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

We were invited to the Royal Duchy Hotel for a baby'Naming Day'. The hotel was beautifully decorated and well maintained to a high level.
The ceremony was conducted in a profesional, but friendly manner and the staff worked tirelessly to make to occassion memorable.
Luckily we had the gorgeous sunshine, so we could enjoy the outdoor terraces, but retreat to the inside when it turned colder.
The buffet lunch was excellent, with a wide variety of sandwiches, fruit, salad etc..and plenty of room to sit and relax.
The bar was well stocked and equally well attended, nothing was a problem.
We could let the children run around the front terraces, and inside between rooms and corridors.
They even put on a widescreen TV so we could all watch the Grand National.
A brilliant hotel venue for a family get together or reception.

Room Tip: We didn't stay over. Sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank vortex_sponger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Just spent 2 days of bliss at the Duchy.Staff are ALL fantastic. Nothing is too much trouble! We had Dinner bed and breakfast and I can honestly say I have never eaten such beautiful food. Better than the 'Mayfair' in London and much cheaper! I overheard someone complaining that their 'spiced beef carpaccio' was cold and tasted funny?? It was delicious!!!!! Thankyou for 2 really relaxing days.Will return with the kids next time!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We have just spent 3 nights at the Royal Duchy and enjoyed it very much. Wonderful ambience, beautifully appointed with a great view of the sea. We enjoyed the outside patio and the lounge. Our bedrooms were well apointed, very comfortable and clean. We did not eat in the dining room at night or lunchtime so cannot comment on that but bar, tea service was good. Breakfast was excellent with good choices. However, the fish choices were at an additional cost. This would have been ok but I felt that these were spoiled because the hotel tried too hard with their presentation. A piece of smoked haddock nicely poached with an egg on top is delicious. The hotel has spoiled this by smothering the haddock in sauce which took away from the flavour of the fish. I would suggest that the breakfasts are kept simple. Otherwise, fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VMDToronto_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

I had booked a single room at the hotel so was delighted to be given a double room upon the efficient and friendly check in. My room was quite a walk although very nicely furnished if a little small. I did pass a single room being serviced and was pleased I had been upgraded as the single was tiny. The bathroom was clean and tidy although the shower was hard to manage. Either steaming hot or icy cold. No happy medium unfortunately.

I was contacted by reception shortly aft check in to see if I was ok which was a nice touch and all the staff I met on my visit were very helpful and friendly.

I didn't get to experience breakfast as I had a very early start the following day, but I would recommend the hotel to others. The communal areas of the hotel are stunning.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsmillsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Falmouth
1.8 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#3 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
0.2 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 25 in Falmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
6.9 km away
Budock Vean Hotel
Budock Vean Hotel
#1 of 2 in Mawnan Smith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#8 of 25 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
31.0 km away
The Carlyon Bay
The Carlyon Bay
#1 of 9 in St Austell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
0.7 km away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 25 in Falmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Duchy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Duchy Hotel

Property: The Royal Duchy Hotel
Address: The Royal Duchy Hotel Cliff Road, Falmouth TR11 4NX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Falmouth
#9 Family Hotel in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Duchy Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and LateRooms so you can book your The Royal Duchy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Duchy Hotel
Royal Duchy Falmouth
The Royal Duchy Hotel Falmouth, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing