We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous 4 days at the Westcott”
Review of The Westcott

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Westcott
Ranked #8 of 82 Falmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warlingham
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous 4 days at the Westcott”
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Good clean room with sea view! Very friendly staff and excellent breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    30
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
41
141
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Molton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed for the weekend and was really impressed by the welcome and the standard of this small and personal hotel.Great variety for breakfast and everything freshly cooked. Will stay here again the next time we are in Falmouth.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SevandSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were made to feel very welcome as soon as we arrived.Having stayed at several large seaside B and Bs recently, I was not expecting such a wonderful place.
Our room was large and very well-equipped and we even had a sea view which we did not expect.
There is a large lounge for guests to use and this had a bowl of fruit, bowl of sweets, water machine etc as well as a large TV.
Breakfast exceeded expectations, too, and was served by a charming waitress. It comprised fresh fruit salad,a bowl of fresh fruit,cereals,cold meats and cheese, as well as an English breakfast.This was our last day on this stretch of the coast path and it was a fitting end to a week of outstanding accommodation in Cornwall, far surpassing the places we stayed in Dorset the previous week.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I had four days at The Westcott 26-29 March when the weather was absolutely perfect in Falmouth. The accommodation played its part in a great stay as well. Clean,comfortable, friendly and a quiet relaxed atmosphere with excellent breakfast and sea view from parts of the hotel. Nicely situated close to Gyllingvase beach with a shortish walk of about one third of a mile to the railway station and a little over a half a mile to the centre of Falmouth. Falmouth itself has a great maritime feel to it, feeling safe and relaxed however late you were out. I loved it and will be back to The Westcott. I'd recommend anybody try falmouth if you haven't already.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Westcott proved to be a great choice for our recent two night stay in Falmouth. Sally made us very welcome. Our room was clean, had a sea view etc. I can confirm all the good points already given on this page. I would not hesitate to go back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Stayed at the The Westcott for two nights on 24th / 25th March whilst visitng Falmouth for first time from West Sussex as a last minute decision to welcome a family member home into the port after a trans atlantic yacht crossing. From the outset the owners, Mark and Sally couldn't have been more helpful or obliging and both were very welcolming. Nothing seems too much trouble to them and they are a great source of local information. Travelling with a friend we had a single and a double room and both rooms were very comfortable, my single was more like a double and very reasonably priced ,spotlessly clean and had all the amenities you could ask for. Rooms were fully cleaned and replenished each day and at very short notice we took a third room on second night for my daughter to join us which was no problem at all to the owners.
The breakfast was fantastic, would compete very well if not better than many four star hotels I have stayed in throughout the world. Owners were very accomodating to our needs and even offered us a packed breakfast if we wanted one as we were getting up very early to go to the marina on Sunday morning to watch the yacht arrive . I'm glad we didn't take Sally up on her offer or we would have missed out on the fantastic full english breakfast we had when we came back in at round 9 am. Buffet also had full range of healthier options ! There were also lovely touches like fruit, sweets and a drink in the lounge and freedom to come and go at will.
The Westcott is very well positioned just 50m from beach and giving views of the sea from many of the rooms and a short ten minute walk to the marina and town which was ideal for us.
We did not have any issues with parking, the owners knew we had an early start and made sure we parked in a bay where we coudn't get boxed in .
Falmouth is full of B & B's and Guest's Houses so I guess competition is fierce for bookings and reading all the excellent guest comments posted for the Wescott and my own great stay in my view the owners are at the top of their game and will remain that way all the time they are offering the service and standards of hospitality that we recieved last weekend including very good value. I would certainly return again and recommend anyone to this guest house.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our stay here was last minute but we were glad to have found it as it was a lovely place to stay and so close to the beach and gyllyngvase beach cafe. The room was clean, spacious and the bed very comfortable!

Breakfast was delicious and not at all greasy and views of the nearby beach could be seen which was nice to wake up to.

We would definatly recommend the westcott and look forward to staying again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Falmouth hotels
0.1 km away
Anacapri Guest House
Anacapri Guest House
#4 of 23 in Falmouth
347 reviews
1.7 km away
The Greenbank Hotel
The Greenbank Hotel
#2 of 23 in Falmouth
1,114 reviews
0.6 km away
The Royal Duchy Hotel
The Royal Duchy Hotel
#5 of 23 in Falmouth
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Falmouth Hotel
The Falmouth Hotel
#11 of 23 in Falmouth
1,120 reviews
0.6 km away
The Oceanic Hotel
The Oceanic Hotel
#1 of 23 in Falmouth
175 reviews
0.2 km away
Camelot Guest House
Camelot Guest House
#5 of 82 in Falmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westcott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westcott

Property: The Westcott
Address: Gyllyngvase Hill, Falmouth TR11 4DN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Falmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westcott 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly family-run bed and breakfast offering good quality accommodation at affordable prices. Ideally situated, it overlooks the award winning, Blue Flag Gyllyngvase beach and is just a short walk away from Falmouth Centre. Less than 1 mile from Pendennis Castle a truly Fantastic location to explore Cornwall's coastline and gardens. We have single, double & twin rooms all with ensuite available. We have a luxurious kingsize room with separate seating area overlooking the beach/sea. We have an outside seating area for guests to sit and watch the sun go down over the sea in the evening. We now have Infinity Wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Westcott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westcott Falmouth, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing