We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“unpleasant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fieldhead Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Fieldhead Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“unpleasant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

good location for a hotel but not such high standards with regard to room cleaning and preparation.. on arrival we found the bed sheets were ripped and there was an accumulation of mould/debris on the shower head..

i can understand the above comments with regard to the managers 'rudeness' and i think that is demonstrated best with the tone and the attitude of his response!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
64 Thank tim_r82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 21 September 2011
Dear tim_rogerson of Plymouth

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review for us at The Fieldhead Hotel.

You wish to repeat the previous point that the manager was rude to you. We can only repeat our answer: the manager was not rude. He simply told you something you did not wish to hear. We do ask: why would the Manager be rude to you? There is nothing in your review that would suggest why he would be. To decline your request is not the Manager being rude - just to clarify.

These late availability online discount web sites seem to be causing us a problem with there being the same theme running through them. Three negative reviews and all through these discount sites - and they are all as a result of the same: When there is nothing else available – or in this case some 8 months ago (It is now late September) such is the importance of this review and when many hotels are closed in March, they book late, want the best and at the cheapest.

In this case, we were fully booked, had no other accommodation available other than room 15 - an en suite sea view King size bed and large bathroom – and the reviewer wanted a complimentary upgrade to a Superior with a Balcony.

The Reviewer was advised that if he wished to have the best rooms in the Hotel, it is best to book them in advance and not think a hotel will automatically give a complimentary upgrade.

When I fancy a new car, I will see him for a complimentary upgrade. I suppose one has a right to be upset to have such a request declined?

We treat valued return guests with that privilege and only if we have the availability. Obviously we cannot give them an upgrade either, if the rooms are not available. The Reviewer was obviously disgruntled as he was wishing to impress his friend and regrettably not only were we unable to accommodate his request, we would not have entertained it anyway as they had not stayed before and for one night in any event.

I hope you have found this management response to be clarifying and helpful.

Best wishes

Julian Peck - and have a great day wherever in the world you are today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    57
    20
    13
    10
See reviews for
47
148
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
DEVON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

We were looking for a comfortable hotel, near the sea, for a short break,which served an evening meal, and catered for a Gluten Free diet
We were not dissapointed with our lucky find at the Fieldhead Hotel

After booking, the owner, Julian, contacted us re our wishes, concerning the diet, and favourite tipple (which he had kindly bought prior to our arrival)

We were made very welcome on arrival, and treated very well throughout our stay.
Our room was spotless, with a lovely sea view. The bed was very comfortable, ensuring a good nights sleep
The evening dinner,was served in the Horizon Restaurant, within the hotel, with panoramic sea views. The variety of food, and presentation was excellent, with efficient, friendly service.
Never has my husband had so many Gluten Free dishes to choose from, which were so delicious.
Coffee was served in the very comfortable lounge, where we enjoyed chatting to other guests
.
At breakfast there was such a good choice ,of food.

The photos show it as it is, a very comfortable, well furnished hotel.

We look forward to staying at the Fieldhead Hotel again soon.
Thank you to everyone for making us so welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SUGARDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2011
Dear SUGARDevon,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write us a review on TripAdvisor. Greatly appreciated. Apologies for the lateness to respond and our only excuse is that we have been so busy.

Your observations too are appreciated and thank you for noting what you saw and experienced.

I think our main attribute regarding our food is as you highlight: that this hotel does not make a drama out of any guest requirement for a special diet or any special drink. We are here to ensure all guests receive the best we are able to supply.

Shortly after your visit we had a Sunday Lunch party with quite a number of Vegetarian, Gluten-free and Dairy-free guests!! We were happy to cater for this party who subsequently return on a regular basis. If I remember rightly, we made a gluten-free bread and butter pudding for your Husband, amongst a number of others during your stay. We have a special gluten-free vegetarian menu on our web site.

SUGARDevon, thank you again for your review.

Very best wishes,

Julian Peck – have a great day wherever in the World you find yourself today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

The gentleman who owns the Hotel was very rude to my husband. Unfortunately we had to cancel as my husband was called to do some work. We gave notice but he still took £60 on our card. When we rang to ask him about this he was very rude.

Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
90 Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear Karen E,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write a review for us at The Fieldhead Hotel.

I do not think the gentleman you spoke to was rude. I think he told you something you did not wish to hear.

We are a Contract Hotel. i.e. there is a contract between buyer and seller as with most parts of the Hospitality and Travel Industry. If the buyer does not wish to enter into a Contract with us, and all our terms and conditions are well advertised, then the buyer should not pay the requested non-refundable deposit payable to guarantee their booking - the £60.00 you refer to - or takes out the insurance the hotel is very explicit in suggesting for just such occasions.

Further, the Buyer is liable for the cost of the entire stay if the hotel is unable to relet that contracted accommodation.

It must also be stated that when the Hotel returned his called on his given contact number as the Buyer had asked about cancelling, the hotel was informed by the person (in his office?)answering that the Buyer was in Looe and obviously staying in another double bedded hotel room.

Double booking accommodation and then choosing on the day, and breaching their contract, is not appreciated in this business. It is the right of everyone to do that as long as they are prepared to pay for that privilege.

I hope you have found this management response to be clarifying and helpful.

Best wishes

Julian Peck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

On our recent visit to Looe we dined at The Fieldhead several times. We were welcomed and directed to the lounge overlooking the sea to relax and choose our meal. We dined in Horizons Restaurant which has a commanding view out to sea and Looe Island. The Menu was different every day and very reasonably priced. The food was well presented and cooked and served expertly by very attentive staff. After dining we were invited to stay in the lounge and relax and enjoy the view. We spoke to other guests who were staying there and they agreed that it was a very well run hotel. We can definitely recommend dining at the Fieldhead.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank royshereturn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear royshereturn,

Thank you so much for your lovely, positive review. To include your reported unbiased views from Residents is really special.

I know it takes time and effort to do so and for that reason is all the more appreciated - besides the fact we get so few anyway!!

Hoping to see you again when next in Looe.

Julian - and have a great day wherever in the world you are today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

"Nice" goes for almost everything about this hotel: the room, the meals, the service, plus there is an outdoor pool and the view is more than nice: magnificent. Lovely garden. Because of the lay-out, with stairs and no elevator, this hotel might not be the best possible choice for the elderly and disabled.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank marywinifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear marywinifred of Utrecht, The Netherlands

Thank you for your kind review of the May 30, 2011, and for taking the time and effort to write it for the benefit of other potential guests.

Firstly, we are very proud that TripAdvisor have reallocated us and they now rate us as the No 1 hotel in Looe – and that’s official.

I would say “Nice and friendly” is a “nice” description of us. We are unpretentious and unintrusive and strive to do our best for each and every guest. In fact, our TripAdvsor score is in the same league has those icons of English hotels – The Dorchester (where I trained) and The Savoy and again, we are proud of our high standards.

Regards your positive observation regards the elderly and disabled. While you are right, we have a large number of both the elderly and disabled as valued and return guests and go out of our way to ensure everything is done for anyone who finds stairs difficult. While stairs may dissuade some, generally our situation does not cause anyone any problem – maybe because we clearly state our situation when guests book.

Thank you marywinifred and hope to see you again at The Fieldhead Hotel in Looe on your next visit to the UK.

The Management - proud to be No 1
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Having spent a considerable amount of time researching hotels in Cornwall on the internet, from our first contact with Julian on the telephone, followed by a welcoming letter of confirmation, we were impressed. The sincere welcome we received and the interest taken in what we were doing during the week contributed to an enjoyable and relaxing stay. The views and the easy access to walk along the seafront added to our enjoyment - we needed the excercise after the superb eveing meals!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank PhilpMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Dear PhilpMargaret of London

Thank you so much for your review: “Looking forward to our next visit!” of the 22 May 2011

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the compliments you pay us. Very much appreciated.

And, as they say: until we meet again. Very best wishes,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

The hotel was excellent in every respect but one - it would be unsuitable for any body physically disabled or in a wheelchair - there are a lot of steps! We endorse every kind word said in the above review. We cannot understand the one bad one at all. It is friendly and very relaxing.

Room Tip: The standard rooms have marvellous views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Lancspete_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FieldheadHotel, Manager at Fieldhead Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Lancspete_11 of Reading,

Thank you for your review: “Outstanding” of the 22nd May 2011 – very much appreciated.

You say: The hotel was excellent in every respect. What a compliment. Thank you. In fact, we have similar TripAdvisor ratings to the wonderful Dorchester and recently refurbished Savoy hotels in London. We keep good company.

Regards your very positive advice regards disabled access – you are absolutely correct; The Fieldhead Hotel is totally unsuitable for the disabled, neither are our rooms set up with the equipment required. We greatly regret that, but with all our facilities enjoying the sea views: Restaurant, Bar, Sitting Room, Reception, Verandah, Tropical gardens and swimming pool all on the first floor and no lift – it is just not possible to fit one - we are not suitable for anyone who is unable to walk up stairs. However, we have carried guests up the stairs on several occasions – promised on the phone when booking. Not too much trouble. (Please, not for everyone though!!)

Thank you Lancspete_11 of Reading. We look forward to welcoming you back when you next come to Cornwall.

Very best wishes,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Looe
3.2 km away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.1 km away
Hannafore Point Hotel
0.6 km away
Portbyhan Hotel
Portbyhan Hotel
#3 of 7 in Looe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Trelaske Hotel & Restaurant
4.7 km away
The Snooty Fox
The Snooty Fox
#1 of 1 in Morval
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
5.3 km away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#2 of 2 in Polperro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fieldhead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fieldhead Hotel

Property: Fieldhead Hotel
Address: Portuan Road | Hannafore, Looe PL13 2DR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Looe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Looe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fieldhead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fieldhead Hotel is focused on giving guests a high level of quality attentive service beyond its rating. Is focused on giving guests a stay with comfortable en suite sea view rooms with dishes freshly prepared from daily changing menus in the Horizons Bar and Restaurant, all of which guests will happily remember forever. We are the ideal centre for visiting Looe and Cornwall's many attractions; Deep sea and inshore fishing and Coastal Path walking.Perched high above Looe Bay with heated pool, onsite parking and award winning tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Fieldhead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fieldhead Hotel Looe, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing