We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach cafe ”
Review of The Beach Cafe

The Beach Cafe
Ranked #64 of 89 Restaurants in Looe
Restaurant details
Reviewed May 12, 2018 via mobile

Coffee was ok just a shame didn’t do hot food earlier , friendly staff ( once she knew what she was doing ) we all got to learn
Nice over looking the beach

1  Thank Shazza754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 32 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2018

Called in as lots of others on your lists were only open in the evening.
Super view, tasty, fresh, white fish & good chips followed by delicious ice- cream with cheerful service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ryta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017 via mobile

Called in for a lovely cup of coffee served by a really friendly chap. He deserves to be very successful.

Thank jacqueline w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 21, 2017

1 star is for the view! We had fish, chips and mushy peas and 2 x teas, cost £19.50, then when we asked for ketchup were told it would be 25p per portion!!
Fish wasn't too bad, chips were oven chips cooked in the microwave. Microwaved mushy peas that came 10 mins after the fish and chips. Poor, overpriced food, terrible customer service.
Do yourself a favour and eat somewhere else.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank joolzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pentre2014, Owner at The Beach Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

I am very sorry to read that you did not enjoy your lunch at The Beach Cafe. I would, however just like to correct a couple of factual inaccuracies. The chips that we use are not oven chips. They are cooked and chilled by the supplier and we then deep fry them in our fish frying range in pure Rapeseed oil. They do not go anywhere near a microwave! We do heat the mushy peas in the microwave but I would expect 99% of businesses would do the same. We do charge for sauces as historically we always have. We could look at including them in the price but then everyone would pay whether they want sauce or not. This may be the way forward. As to cost, 2 fish, chips and peas and 2 teas for under £10 per person, overlooking the beach and Looe bay without being bombarded by the seagulls I would say isn't too bad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

On a rainy overcast day what better to watch the tide with a lovely cuppa tea/coffee at The beach Cafe.. on a sunny day this place would be packed

Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing