We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very comfortable”

Review of Cuckoo Cottage

Mousehole Village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Mousehole Village
Mousehole Harbour Cuckoo Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Mousehole Village
Mousehole Harbour
Cuckoo Cottage
Secure Parking for Cuckoo Cottage
Lounge
Lounge
Dining Area
Table extends to seat four
Kitchen
Kitchen
Double Bedroom
Second Bedroom as single
Second bedroom as twin
Bathroom
View from behind Cuckoo Cottage
View of Mousehole
Beach nearby
Coastguards Hotel, Mousehole
Mousehole harbour
Mousehole harbour
Seagull in Mousehole
View from local pub
Mousehole Harbor
Lovely beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Mousehole, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Very comfortable”
Reviewed May 29, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The location was very good and there was a bus service every half hour. One of the most important thing was off road parking as Mousehole is very restricted to traffic and the streets are very narrow

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daweilifr
Lille, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Just what we needed”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Good to be there after visiting so beautiful places outside : St Ives, Minack,Land's enfants, Penzance and of course Mousehole.
It's small but enough and confortable for the four of us. We really enjoyed our week there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 14, 2018 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Feb 2018
I am so sorry you found it difficult to access the cottage, unfortunately it is a narrow lane and surprisingly people do leave their cars in it but always understand that they have to move them when required. I apologise for the neighbour who parked in the cottage frontage, we do try to co-operate with our neighbours to use the space only when guests are not staying in the cottage. The light outside is for guest's convenience and I am surprised it caused a problem to our neighbour opposite because of the distance but we will put a lower voltage bulb in this.I sincerely regret that your holiday was not very relaxing due to your difficulties with our neighbour and I hope it has not put you off Mousehole which is such a magical place.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Beryl49
New Malden, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab”
Reviewed October 21, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just returned from a fab stay in Cuckoo cottage Mousehole, cottage was really lovely and very cosy especially in the evenings when it got a bit chilly as you could light and have a log fire.
Everything you needed at the cottage, like home from home!! Very clean and tidy, comfortable beds.
And just a few minutes walk down to Mousehole harbour, all in all a really good holiday will definitely be returning back to Cuckoo.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Very disappointed in accommodation. House not very clean, fridge smelt & was on constantly. Ants in kitchen. Very noisy & busy with builders, access nearly impossible. Very stressful, not relaxing as previous hols in Cornwall. Only 2 comfy seats in sitting room for family of 4. Outside was really unkept, whole place could do with some tlc.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
I am so sorry you were disappointed with Cuckoo Cottage, we have an excellent housekeeper who goes out of her way to look after the cottage and we have not had any complaints about her standard of cleaning. I will ask her to check the thermostat on the fridge to make sure it is working correctly. There are occasions when cottages are being refurbished in Mousehole and access is sometimes difficult. The palm trees in the front garden can shed a lot of leaves which can look a bit untidy. The cottage does undergo some TLC at the end of a busy summer season.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianegilh...
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true home from home”
Reviewed August 31, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely stay at Cuckoo cottage with two young children. The cottage is in the heart of Mousehole, a lovely fishing village and the cottage has a very warm welcoming feel to it.
It has everything you need including a parking space which is really useful. There are lots of beautiful beaches nearby and Mousehole itself has some great rock pools, harbour, cafes, pubs and restaurants. We will be back. Dealing with the owner was very easy and she responsive right from the start of the booking with a friendly manner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy feel
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LadyGail6...
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful Find”
Reviewed June 26, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Before actually arriving at the cottage, we had very good communications with the owner, Sue, as we needed to know certain things. Emails were replied to quickly. The cottage has a very welcome parking area to the front of it. Our Qashqai fitted in there with a bit of room to spare. It did take a bit of to-ing and fro-ing to get out in the morning and the gentleman across the way does park his car just to one side making it interesting squeezing through when you come home. Just take it slowly and carefully.
The cottage is lovely inside, not a modern fancy place where you are almost scared to relax. It is quirky but just feels so welcoming. There are ample sockets for all your gadgets but there is no wifi and no phone signal (bliss if you are a phone slave in your 'real-life'). If you are a BT customer you can use the BTwithFon wifi but if you aren't you will have to pay for it!
Everything you could wish for is there, including a small hairdrier, washing machine ironing board + iron. Make sure you read the operating instructions for the oven and grill as you might not be familiar with the way it operates. Also make sure you use the extractor and open the front door if you are grilling. We can vouch that the smoke detector works (ooops). You may also notice the stairs are slightly wonky. They are perfectly ok and they look perfectly straight after a few Tributes at the pub.
Many options for eating out including The Ship down at the harbour front (use the passage way directly opposite to save having to walk down the narrow road you drove up to get to the cottage). We tried the Kings Arms up at Paul. They serve more of the traditional pub grub and we can vouch it was very tasty. They also do a bluegrass open mike night which is very good. The fish and chips shop is also very good. If you fancy an unusual meal try the Meadery at Newlyn.
We loved staying at Cuckoo Cottage. How lovely to stay in a place where you don't hear sirens all the time and the only noise passing the cottage is the sound of voices as people pass by, or the seagulls making their presence known. The neighbours are also very friendly and welcoming.
We are already planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing at all!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing