We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wax needs to up it's game”
Review of WAX Newquay

WAX Newquay
Reserve with OpenTable
WAX Newquay is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #54 of 263 Restaurants in Newquay
Price range: US$11 - US$24
Description: WAX Newquay is a brand new restaurant and cocktail bar located in the heart of Newquay. Located in a historic Lloyds bank this restaurant in a mix between modern stylings and the classic bank decor.
Restaurant details
Description: WAX Newquay is a brand new restaurant and cocktail bar located in the heart of Newquay. Located in a historic Lloyds bank this restaurant in a mix between modern stylings and the classic bank decor.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Wax always has a warm welcome and friendly staff but we were less impressed with the food. For the price, the food is lacklustre and not well presented. The bowl contain8ng my fries was badly chipped and belonged in the bin. It lacks the atmosphere of its sister offering at Watergate bay and seems to be suffering an identity crisis. They need to get over their own hype and up their game if they want to survive long term in Newquay.

Thank Fiona D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 119 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2018 via mobile

Just had an early lunch with the girlfriend.
Coffee was amazing. Service was class.
The food was lush as always.
The staff are all so friendly and helpful and we think it's down to them being really happy in their jobs! So hats off to their boss for providing a happy, positive work environment for his hard working staff.
I'll be back in soon without a doubt!
Well done lads.

Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam K, Owner at WAX Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. All feedback is passed on and it means the world to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

My children booked it as a surprise for me for Mothers Day , we arrived 10 minutes before our booking time ... was seated at the time of booking as the table wasnt ready but that was ok . We were sat upstairs , when we got up there it was really quiet with only 4 other tables full - there seemed to be one man doing everything upstairs - drinks, waiting tables, clearing tables etc ... we waited 20 mins before we were even given a menu - not the man who was on his own fault ... one pair of hands and all that . He was lovely . All in all we waited over an hour for food and that was just 2 starters ... then we had to wait again for main meals , then over 20 mins for 2 desserts. The service was poor , the food was cold , and of poor standard! My son was fuming! Though both my children have been here before and couldnt praise it enough. We left disappointed and all said we would not return again!

Thank Tbenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018 via mobile

Being a cocktail bar, drinks take ages to prepare so is a long wait for drinks. However, service is friendly and the atmosphere good, so easy to relax with friends. Love the decor too (it used to be a bank)

Thank Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam K, Owner at WAX Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you for your review, we are still trying to work out the correct level of staffing and the seasonal fluctuations in trade. Once we have a year under our belt we will be much better.

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. All feedback is passed on and it means the world to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

Came here today with some friends, the staff were immediately so friendly and attentive. Happy hour cocktails were some of the best I’ve had and great selection of mocktails. We all had a meal which was perfectly cooked and presented. The whole place was clean and welcoming. I would definitely come here again, highly recommend!!

Thank Lindsay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sam K, Owner at WAX Newquay, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. All feedback is passed on and it means the world to the team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed WAX Newquay also viewed

 

Been to WAX Newquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing