We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, not brilliant service.”
Review of The Beach Hut

The Beach Hut
Ranked #43 of 268 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$26
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Beach Hut is well known as one of Cornwall's best beach-side hang-outs. Right on the sand at Watergate Bay, it's an easy, relaxed restaurant serving seasonal food amongst the hustle of beach life. Open for breakfast, Sunday brunch, lunch and dinner, the menu is classic. The views are fantastic. Rarely quiet, The Beach Hut is a vibrant venue where the buzz of conversation rivals the sound of the sea. Cornish fish will always be on the daily specials board and the menu is focused around steaks, burgers and shellfish with an emphasis on local, seasonal produce. Try the grilled Cornish rib-eye steak, the pulled pork sandwich or perhaps the Sri Lanka mussels with a side of sweet potato fries and chilli sea salt.
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Going for dinner there was a bit of a wait to sit down for our meal at a booked table. When we sat down there was a wide range of food on the menu. The service took a long time. We were there for 2 hours to have 2 courses.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DOG705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello, thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear of your disappointment with the service at The Beach Hut. I will pass on your feedback to The Beach Hut manager and hope your next visit is more enjoyable. Kind regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 146 of 1,486 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Had a great meal here, a late booking.
Great table by the window. Happy friendly service. Great menu with lots of different dishes from the norm to choose from. Our meals were very tasty and fresh. Would recommend a visit here and would love to come back for another visit.

Thank oscarHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello Oscar, thank you for leaving a review. I'm glad to hear you had a great evening and are planning on returning. I will pass on your feedback to the team. Kind regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

What an amazing place! We hadn't booked, didn't realise you had to. We had 2 small dogs with us, but that was no problem and we were seated very quickly. We only wanted tea and coffee but once we looked at the menu and the food being served to tables around us, we decided on a late lunch!

My husband and I had burgers, our friends had steak sandwiches. They were huge!! So delicious!! Fries and coleslaw on the side. Mmmmm declicious.
Unfortunately, this was our last day in Cornwall :( but hopefully we will be back again later in the year and we'll make sure we visit the beach hut and book!!

Thank sufordpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 29, 2018 via mobile

Got to be one of the best beach huts on one of the best beaches in the world.
The place is light and airy with fantastic views across Watergate Bay, with an extremely relaxed atmosphere, even dog friendly.
Good options for adults and kids on the menu, my daughter could remember having mussels here 3 years ago so wanted the same £8 for a small portion, can’t imagine what the large portion is like (photo of the pot they come in attached), they are big juicy mussels and not the shrivelled up ones you get in a supermarket packet.
We also had sharing nachos, fish Bhaji (delicious) kids & adult beef burger, adult chicken burger, huge portions at extremely reasonable prices for the location.
Lunch cost us £67 which included 2 soft drinks too.
Service was extremely attentive and friendly, could not ask for more

Thank dannyjcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkWGB, General Manager at The Beach Hut, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello Danny, thank you for writing such a great review. I'm delighted to read that you feel The Beach Hut is one of the best in the world - I will pass on your feedback to the team. We very much look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 25, 2018

Got in for a last minute early dinner on a wet miserable day. Booth table with great views and very cosy at twilight. Staff attentive and knowledgeable. I had the Asian cooked Fish which was well cooked, fresh and tasty.. My sister had the sweet potato enchiladas which were well presented, plentiful and inventive - only negative comment was that the chef could be more adventurous with the flavours as it was a bit bland. Regardless, definitely coming back again...soon!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Potager73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beach Hut also viewed

 

Been to The Beach Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing