We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A great location, cheap and excellent service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Smarties Surf Lodge

Smarties Surf Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Smarties Surf Lodge
1 review
“A great location, cheap and excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Stayed here over a weekend for a stag do. The location is fantastic, only a couple of minutes walk to the town centre and 5 mins to Fistral beach. Landlady really friendly and excellent service. The place itself is nice enough and for the price is good value

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiger17tiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    20
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
12
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Very friendly owner.
Simple rooms bud very good, and clean.
Nice girl who was very helpfull!!!
If i ever come back to Newquay 100% shure to Smart surf lodge.!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pb0aoa01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I stayed at Smarties with a mate as we wanted a weekend surfing in Newquay.

Jackie was super helpful and accommodating from the time I called to book, she's a great source of local info and recommended us a number of great places to eat and drink away from the awful stag and hen parties that could easily taint your experience of Newquay.

Our room was basic but very clean and plenty of tea and coffee as well as a free view TV and DVD player. The bathroom was always lovely and clean too and we had space to hang our wetsuits outside after we'd been surfing.

I'm a photographer and film maker by profession and I'm already planning my next trip to Newquay to shoot some a new project on the lifestyle and culture or the area and ill definitely be booking myself back in to smarties.

Thanks for everything Jackie (especially my lovely veggie breakfast!) and see you soon!

Adam & Sam

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhotoAdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

Just came back from my stag do and smarties couldn't have been better located, minutes away from the centre but located on a quiet enough road that you can get away from the noise should you want to. Jackie really was the hostess with mostest! Fun, friendly and very informative about where all the best
places are. She also wore a very
interesting apron that kept us all
entertained throughout. The room sizes were generous, cleanliness was to a high standard and I would advise pre-ordering your breakfast the day before (tastes so good) and Teddy the the doggie was a great addition to make us have a warm and comfortable stay, we became like family. The fact that the surf was amazing and our accommodation was 1st class made this the perfect long weekend for my stag do and I'm going home refreshed and with a big smile on my face from a great time!!! If your looking for quality accommodation at affordable rates then get in their early as it books up quick. Roll on August surfing back to Smarties....

David Votta

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Votta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Just like to say thanx to Jackie for a top weekend, great service from start to finish. Rooms were an ideal size for our party two of the rooms with ensuite witch was ideal as u would of used shared bathrooms.Great brekkie sunday mornin worth the extra fiver top times would go again

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigcol200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

We very much enjoyed our stay at the smarties surf lodge with Jackie. The double room and ensuite was comfortable and clean. We had great nights sleep as there was no disturbances. Jackie was very helpful in everyway and always strived to make sure we were happy on our holiday. She is very friendly, welcoming and an overall great host.

Thank you Jackie for such a great holiday... All the best... enjoy the surf we are very jealous :) We will be back very soon!!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woolf88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorking
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2011

5-10mins walk Fistral and Town beaches. 5 min from town center. Easy to get to. Nice area. Friendly and accomodating landlady.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewmanHard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.1 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.7 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 km away
Ocean Lodge Newquay
Ocean Lodge Newquay
#2 of 78 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
0.1 km away
Breakers Lodge
Breakers Lodge
#12 of 78 in Newquay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarties Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarties Surf Lodge

Property: Smarties Surf Lodge
Address: 84 Crantock Street, Newquay TR7 1JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarties Surf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated to a high standard, the accommodation at Smarties Surf Lodge is modern, clean and comfortable. There are bunk, twin and double rooms, all which have LCD TV and DVD player, wireless internet access and most have en suite facilities. Ideally located, a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and Newquay's nightlife. Great surfing packages and full English breakfast available at this easy-going surf lodge with a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Smarties Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smarties Surf Lodge Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing