We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming and perfect place to stay in Newquay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Smarties Surf Lodge
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Jackie has a lovely little surf lodge, booking was very easy and she made us feel welcome right from the start. It is a great location near to fistral beach and town, we walk every where night and day. I would recommend this lodge for anyone staying in Newquay and the other 8 people I went with would agree. It aloud us to relax and helped our stay to be a great weekend. Thank you Jackie if I return to Newquay I will be back to stay with you.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2015

I stayed here for two nights to go to a festival, on arrival we were greeted enthusiastically by Jackie and immediately felt at home. We came back late and in need of some good sleep and thank you to the deposit payed by all guests there was no sound from the stag do also staying. We left after a brilliant homemade full english breakfast, a slice of banana cake and our deposits returned. All in all a great little lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2015

A group of us took a short stay here over the weekend for a stag do. The host Jakie greeted us with a beer and some banana bread, gave us some great advise on local drinking spots and was generally a good laugh. Also she cooks a good breakie if you want it.

The lodge itself is clean, homey and well priced. I highly recommend a stay here if you want a chilled place to to come back to after a long days surfing or even a solid weekend of boozing. Five stars *****

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deebs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015 via mobile

As someone who has visited Cornwall for years, I'm gutted that I only found out about this little gem only a couple of years ago! Jackie has set up a fantastic surf lodge which is easy to use and is super close to the best beach in Newquay, Fistral! As I've stayed in pretty much every room over the last couple of years, I can say that it is clean and and well presented throughout. Jackie has always been very relaxed about arrival times etc and is always happy to point you in the direction of the best places to eat and drink and will even give you a surf report if you want to get out on your board!

I'll continue to visit Cornwall for many years to come and really hope there's always a room for me at Smarties Surf Lodge!

Stayed: April 2015, travelled with friends
Thank andyhov15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2015

Had a lovely stay at Smarties lodge for New Years. The owner Jackie made us feel welcome as soon as entered the lodge, and we even had Cava and banana bread made for us to enjoy before going out on New Years Eve! Excellent location, a few minutes walk from Fristal beach and only a 1 minute walk into town! Jackie is an amazing host and will most definitely look after you, from cooking you breakfast to booking surf and coasteering lessons for you. Would strongly recommend to anyone visiting Newquay.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ckates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2014

My second stay here and as usual Jackie was super chilled and relaxed about arrival stay and departure.

Great little area out back to hang wetsuits up to dry and store boards.

If you are lucky you may get to sample some of her delicious banana bread!

Definitely will stay again next time in Newquay.

Room Tip: some have en-suites if you book early enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KinderDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

Just had a fab week in Newquay, lovely surf lodge, very clean and tidy, felt like home. Ideal location, 5 min walk to all bars and restaurants, and bus station.Jackie was super and cooked a great breakfast, much needed after a long journey the day before and prior to a surf lesson. Stayed in 'The Harbor' room, which there was room for 3 , a bunk bed and a single bed, as on my own had plenty of room, bathroom / shower just next door. Great hot shower, which is always very important. Great value .Will definitely stay again, thanks Jackie !

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 37 in Newquay
365 reviews
1.0 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
0.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#13 of 37 in Newquay
903 reviews
0.8 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,401 reviews
1.3 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#12 of 37 in Newquay
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Smarties Surf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smarties Surf Lodge

Address: 84 Crantock Street, Newquay TR7 1JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 Speciality Lodging in Newquay
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Smarties Surf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated to a high standard, the accommodation at Smarties Surf Lodge is modern, clean and comfortable. There are bunk, twin and double rooms, all which have LCD TV and DVD player, wireless internet access and most have en suite facilities. Ideally located, a few minutes walk from Fistral beach and Newquay's nightlife. Great surfing packages and full English breakfast available at this easy-going surf lodge with a warm welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Smarties Surf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Smarties Surf Lodge Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing