We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Bristol
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We had such a wonderful experience at the Hotel Bristol. A little old fashioned perhaps but such a class act with great service and wonderful food with the menu changing daily. The location could not have been better, so convenient for the town and sitting above Tolcarne Beach, the safest family beach in Newquay apparently. We only stayed for the weekend so we were unable to use all the hotel's facilities but we did manage to use the swimming pool and health spa. If you love Days Inn, Premier etc then this hotel is not for you but if you do appreciate well trained staff and a varied English cuisine then we recommend a stay at the Hotel Bristol.

Room Tip: 241 Was a very spacious room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We are glad you had a great time with us and look forward to welcoming again soon. If you subscribe to our mailing list via our website then we can email you details of any special offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (492)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 492 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

One night in room 152 which was spacious, comfortable, clean with a modern bathroom.
Free wi-fi with a good speed in all rooms. Heated indoor swimming pool.
Friendly staff.
Excellent value bar meal and a good quality cooked breakfast in the morning. Sadly no real ale on hand pump, but good bottled ale in the shape of Tribute bitter. Free on site car parking. Many rooms with sea views. Hotel is 5 mins walk from shops, attractions and beach.
I would return if in the area

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

The hotel is comfortable enough - as a solo business traveler it catered for my needs adequately however I would agree with some of the other review mentioning it's slightly dated.

Room service menu in the room was quite limited but someone mentioned you could actually order from the restaurant menu too I think?

Breakfast was good although would be even better if it could be from 630am or 7am for the early risers.

It's a rarity to see a hotel with English staff throughout nowadays but service from all hotel staff was excellent.

Rooms need sprucing up a bit, shower only offering a little sprinkle is something which really annoys me!

I wouldn't be in a rush to go back again but that's mainly down to me not liking Newquay!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for review. We do start breakfast at 7.15a.m. and found that it is early enough for most guests. Our night porter is always available to serve a continental breakfast much earlier. We will certainly consider moving the time if guests advise us. In the past we have served breakfast earlier for events such as the Royal Cornwall Show.
I am sorry that your shower was disappointing - our maintenance staff have attended to it. I hope you will stay with us again if your work brings you to Newquay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

My husband and I went for a murder mystery night and stay on 10th march 2012. Has the most fantastic time. The evening was excellent as was the food, service and stay. Would definitely recommend it and can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lexyCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

The only positive things I can say about this hotel are that the staff are pleasant and try to be helpful, the food is acceptable and the location is pleasant.

Everything else about it is poor - despite the relatively high price - and there are too many negatives to list them all in detail. Suffice it to say that the decor is awful throughout and the common areas look as though they haven't been touched for years and could do with a good clean. The bedroom was very dated and the furniture cheap and nasty. The bed and the pillows were extremely uncomfortable and the bathroom spartan, cheaply fitted and unwelcoming.

The whole experience is one that I would not want to repeat.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkshiremanSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I did try to get more information from you via this site but I have not received anything to date. Not knowing your room number I am unable to comment as fully as I would wish.
We have refurbished the ground floor areas in recent years and tried to enhance the art deco features where possible. We continue to replace beds and upgrade rooms as often as we can.
I am pleased you found the service good and trust you enjoyed exploring Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Bristol for a function and it was ok but getting very dated. The staff were friendly enough and it was quaint that we had a real key to open our room - didn't know anyone still used them! The room was a good size but instead of a duvet we had a number of blankets - some crochet - which had really seen better days..oh and the toilet paper was those single sheets in a box which did at least make me chuckle!

The bar manager was excellent but was having to train up the other staff on the night which when faced with a lot of thirsty people did delay things somewhat.

All in all it was fine for what we paid but would not go there if we had a choice.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWHB, Managing Director at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of upgrading our bedrooms. Some rooms now have duvets and all will have them very soon. I am pleased you thought Phil in the Bar was excellent and I am sorry there was delay in service because he was training a colleague. No matter how much practice you get beforehand the best way to learn is with a bar full of people. I hope you agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for one night after attending a function. We had a lovely room (no. 350) in a turret which had a lounge area with the most beautiful views up and down the coast. The staff were courteous and we had a good time.

Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
Thank BooCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.6 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
0.3 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#14 of 37 in Newquay
917 reviews
2.4 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 37 in Newquay
1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
1.9 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
1.3 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#10 of 37 in Newquay
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Bristol

Address: Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#8 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range: $79 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Hotel Bristol 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional family run hotel. Set above Tolcarne Beach with views of the Atlantic Ocean. Civil Wedding Licence, meeting rooms, free wi-fi, restaurant & bar meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Newquay
Best Western Hotel Newquay
Newquay Best Western
Best Western Hotel Bristol Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing