We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveller rating
281
209
76
28
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
281
209
76
28
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silver service tolcarne beach turret room traditional hotel sea view bit dated the cliff great position third floor family room large room stayed for two nights swimming pool friendly hotel cooked breakfast bed and breakfast town centre
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 611 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2018

We stayed for 1 night in a lovely spacious family room. The views were spectacular looking over Tolcarne beach. As it was bonfire night we were able to watch the firework display in the comfort of our room which was an added bonus.
The room was spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff were all lovely, very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseer43107179665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christineI5458OQ, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2018


Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your spacious family room with spectacular views over Tolcarne beach. I'm sure it was a bonus to be able to watch the fire work display from the comfort of your room. People always enjoy celebrating New Year's Eve with us, as once they have toasted in the New Year, they are able to watch the fire work display which are set off from the harbour every year

I will inform our team that you found them all lovely, very friendly and helpful.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2018

Another 'Norman no-mates' business trip.

First off, Parking. Road behind the hotel, Colvreath Road, private car park on the right marked 'Permit Holders Only'. Obtain parking permit from reception which has an entrance way almost directly opposite the parking down a short walkway.

Lovely receptionist, very welcoming and helpful. I had a great first floor sea-view room, the road outside was not too noisy and it looked as if it had been newly refurbished, not sure about other rooms.

Decided to eat in and was pleased that I did! Lovely tender and melt in the mouth slow cooked lamb rump, parmentier potatoes and mixed green beans.

Will definitely be staying again.

Room tip: Sea view rooms are a must if the budget allows.
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Duncan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christineI5458OQ, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are very lucky to have two large car parks so our guests never need to worry about finding a parking space.

Your review will be discussed at our next meeting, as it is always lovely to feedback positive comments.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2018 via mobile

A night at the Bristol was comfortable and quiet, with a room at the back of the property. Parking at the back of the property was free.
Staff were helpful. Check- in was trouble free.
We enjoyed a drink and dinner in the bar area.
Breakfast was tasty, with a good buffet selection and generous English breakfast.
Would stay again.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank annemI662JH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christineI5458OQ, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2018

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to read your stay was comfortable and quiet. We are very lucky to have two large car parks, so guests never have to worry about finding a place to park.

It’s wonderful to know our staff were helpful and check in was trouble free, you found our breakfast tasty with a good buffet selection and generous English breakfast.

Your comments will be relayed to our team at our next meeting as it is always wonderful to be able to give praise to the staff.

We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 28, 2018

Centrally located in Newquay. The cliff top is just the other side of the road, and the beaches are glorious!
Free parking just behind the hotel.
First impression was that the hotel could do with a little updating - though I quite liked the traditional ambience.
There’s a nice little lounge with a few quality sofas and armchairs - obviously a recently refurbished area - but it was a shame that this quality didn’t flow through to the main lounge/bar which was somewhat basic and very lacking in character/charm.
Big bedroom with a side sea view. Again a bit dated, but comfortable. Shower was completely hopeless though - little pressure, and took ages to warm up. Heated towel rail was off, and I didn’t notice the poorly labelled on-switch outside the bathroom until next morning - should really be switched on before arrival, particularly during the cooler months.
Couldn’t get the radiators in the room to work. Central heating switched off, even though it was chilly?
Good free WiFi.
Good breakfast (though I always hate DIY toasters - just not good service!).

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OutOfTheBlue-301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christineI5458OQ, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

The hotel is situated in an ideal position 10 minutes from the centre of town and the bay of Newquay is just across the road from the Hotel.

The hotel is working through a refurbishment programme with has seen many of our bedrooms receive newly fitted bathrooms. Our Small Lounge, Small Dining Room and Ballroom have also, recently received a makeover. This programme was halted for the Summer Season and will be recommenced at the start of November with the refitting of the Cocktail Bar, Middle Lounge and Well Area.

As the towel rails in the bedrooms get particularly hot we prefer to leave these off and let guests turn them on once they have arrived. We appreciate feedback and your suggestion will be reviewed at our next management meeting especially during the colder months.


I am happy to read you enjoyed the free WiFi and that breakfast was good although you did not enjoy preparing your own toast. This was introduced from feedback from guest reviews asking for this to be an option. If you stay with us again, please inform the restaurant team, who will be happy to organise toast on your behalf.


We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 26, 2018 via mobile

The areas that have been renovated are lovely. I am very thankful that they are taking baths out and putting showers in. So many people have back problems and climbing into a bath doesn’t help. The breakfast was ok. The reception in great need of renovation. Some Reed diffusers may help with the musty aroma. Having read reviews about the hotel being dated. It is but I think this is reflected in the price. The town is really shabby, out of date and has a plethora of social issues and needs investment if it’s going to improve. There are some businesses which are lovely like the Driftwood cafe. The bus service is great for getting out of town. The zoo is brilliant and excellent value.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mrs-D-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christineI5458OQ, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Hotel Bristol, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

It is lovely to read that you thought our renovated areas are lovely. The hotel has been working through a refurbishment programme which has seen many bedrooms receive newly fitted bathrooms. This programme was stopped for the busy Summer Season and will be recommencing at the start of November with the refitting of our Cocktail Bar, Middle Lounge and Well Area.

Reception is on the list of To Do's within this programme.

We have planters at reception and this may have been what gave the musty aroma. We utilise reed diffusers in our reception which are sourced locally from St Eval Candle Company which normally have a wonderful aroma.

Over recent years the cliental visiting Newquay has changed, hopefully this will encourage the local Council to provide additional investment in the town to provide the necessary amenities required for a busy seasonal town.

It is good to read that you found the bus service excellent for getting out of the town.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews