We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,135)
Filter reviews
1,135 results
Traveller rating
630
273
95
58
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
273
95
58
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviews silks restaurant champagne bar balcony suite sea view roll top bath walk in wardrobe modern bathroom lovely hotel fistral beach breakfast room public rooms breakfast was excellent large room amazing views lovely room indoor pool newquay town
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,135 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2018

Warmly greeted on arrival and shown to poolside room. Excellent room if some of the fittings a little tired, ( it is the end of season ). The views from these rooms are stunning. Silks Bistro at the hotel on two evenings, food was good and staff cheerful and efficient. Breakfast super but perhaps not good for the waistline.
We were there for a conference and the dinner at mid-day on the Saturday was very well presented and with more than enough staff.
Not a cheap hotel but you get what you pay for.Would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerjudy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear rogerjudy2016,
Thank you for a wonderful 5-star review and your feedback on your stay as part of a weekend conference.
We always ensure that our guests are greeted with the warmest welcome and personally given a tour of the hotel and their room- little extras that really do make guests feel comfortable and able to relax.

Thank you for your comments on your poolside superior room which I'm glad to hear you found to be excellent with stunning sea views, we are as you mention nearing the end of the season, however we do have a yearly maintenance programme in place throughout the year to ensure the highest of standards are kept and please accept my apologies if you did find any fittings in the room to be a little tired.

Thank you for your comments on your two evenings in our AA Rosette Restaurant, Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar - it is lovely to hear that you enjoyed good food, and excellent service from our cheerful, efficient team.

We get such excellent feedback on our breakfast and we are so pleased you found breakfast to be super (although agreed- the vast choice would not perhaps be best for the wasitline if enjoyed every day!)

Thank you for your feedback on the well-presented conference dinner that you enjoyed on Saturday- our experienced Executive Chef and team ensure that food is of the highest quality, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented whether an intimate dinner for two, or a function for 300.

We would love to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 7, 2018 via mobile

We have just spent three nights at the Atlantic Hotel to celebrate a special family occasion. Our room was lovely with a balcony overlooking the ocean. However the room reaked of cigarettes in both the bedroom and bathroom. The receptionist did offer to move us but as we had booked last December to be together with other family members we declined but obviously the smoke detectors don't work in that room!! There was also a mix up with the 3 rooms we had booked specially 10 months previously. On a more positive note the breakfast was excellent with a great selection of cold or hot choices. The restaurant was really good with an excellent menu and an efficient, friendly service. Certainly the staff are friendly and helpful and overall we as a family enjoyed our stay. The management just need to sort out the smoke detectors.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with family
Thank AntzGrieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear AntzGrieber,

Thank you for your review and feedback- we welcome all customer comments as it helps us to improve services and facilities to our guests.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your special family 3 night stay with us, and found staff to be friendly and helpful.

I am sorry that you encountered some issues during your stay and would like to take the opportunity to address these.

I am so pleased that you found your room to be lovely with a balcony overlooking the ocean, staff and management were surprised and shocked when you reported the smell of cigarettes and investigated this immediately, a new carpet has just been laid in this room, and none of the 3 staff members who came to the room could notice anything other than the smell of new carpets, and as you mentioned we did offer to move you to another room. We do not tolerate smoking in the hotel, bedrooms, bathrooms or public areas and there are notices throughout the hotel and bedrooms confirming this. Our smoke detectors and alarm systems are extremely sensitive to smoke and we have rigorous checks and procedures in place- the safety of our guests and staff is paramount.

Regarding the mix up with rooms, I do apologise for this- there was no mention on the bookings regarding being placed next to each other and we had given a member of your party a complimentary upgrade to a Balcony Suite, however once it was stated that you wished to be placed together we re-arranged your rooms.

Thank you for your feedback on our excellent breakfast- we know the vast choice of continental plus freshly cooked English with table service certainly impresses our guests, and it is wonderful to hear that you found our AA Rosette Restaurant, Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar tp be very good with an excellent menu and effiecient, freindly service.

We do hope to welcome you back again.

Kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 5, 2018 via mobile

On first sight on entry beautifully appointed art decor style bedroom good size also nice but balcony and outside back of hotel in a very poor state.roof in the dining room ceiling leaked in around 8 places buckets and towels everywhere.

Our Main complaint was room very warm and too windy to have does or Windows open. I asked receptionist for a sheet as the duvet was a thick high tog and much to hot. She offered me a fan said no to sheets and he heavy duvet is used all year round I cannot imagine what it is like in really hot weather as no air conditioning so no alternatives.I did not get the fan or sheet so ended up sleeping without covers in my birthday suit every night.
Food was ok but
Expensive
Breakfast is £13.75 each and as we only have toast or croissants we asked if they would charge us for just a continental breakfast they refused so we ended up going into the town every day for coffee and croissant, not very good when you are slightly disabled like ME.
Altogether a rather expensive week and was glad to get home.
.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dorothy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2018

Dear Dorothy P,

Thank you for your review.
It sounds as though you did enjoy many elements of your week's stay with us, and I am very pleased to hear that you were so impressed with your beautifully appointed art deo style hotel and good sized bedroom- please accept my apologies if you found any issues with the balcony, this is not acceptable and any problems would have been immediately looked at for you if reported.
I am surprised regarding your comments on the outside back of our hotel- facing the ocean set within its own private headland, our building is open to the elements and does mean that keeping the white exterior pristine is a hard task, however the beautiful gardens and grounds are all immaculately kept. Regarding the breakfast dining room, please do accept our apologies on the issues with the ceiling- this is an issue that is being looked at and will be rectified shortly, this was only an issue in a select few places within the three hundred seated sea view dining room, and there were plenty of places to enjoy breakfast including window tables that were unaffected.

I am sorry if you found your room to be too warm during your stay, as a listed building we are unable to install air conditioning, however all windows can be opened as well as balcony doors, and we do provide fans for rooms.
I am very sorry that there seemed to be a misunderstanding regarding the provision of sheets for your room, which of course we can provide, and I am sorry if the fan did not reach your room, if this had been mentioned we would have rectified this immediately for you.

We feel that the prices in our AA Rosette Restaurant reflect the locally sourced quality produce, service and ambience and with main meals from £12.95 we do not feel that our prices are expensive, although I am sorry if this was your opinion.

Our breakfast offers a freshly cooked full English Breakfast with your choice of eggs cooked to order as well as table service for tea and coffee, and a vast selection of cheeses, meats, salads, pastries, fruits, cereals and much more, which we feel offers fantastic value, we do not currently have a continental option available for guests.

I am sorry that you did feel that your week's stay was a little expensive, and I do hope that you were able to enjoy the stunning views, coastline, luxury leisure facilities and explore Cornwall during your stay.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 1, 2018 via mobile

Having read some of the not so positive reviews I felt I should question if the reviewers reviewed the correct hotel!

We stayed at the Atlantic so we could attend the Nutcracker Masquerade Ball in aid of prostate cancer. The moment we arrived we were warmly greeted by Denise and taken to our room by a porter. Going from reception to our room you could see the hotel was maintained to a high standard and our room was impeccable with double aspect views.

On the night of the ball the dinner was amazing and the staff exceptional feeding 90+ guests with great care and enthusiasm!

Breakfasts were amazing and I loved being able to select how your egg was cooked rather than helping yourself from a congealed tray on a warming counter.

As for the zip together bed with memory foam topper probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever slept on. Would I use this hotel again? Yes in a heartbeat!

Stayed: October 2018, travelled with friends
Thank georgieannjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2018

Dear georgieannjc,

Thank you for a fabulous 5 star reviews.
We too have been baffled by a small amount of not so positive reviews, although of course do take on board customer feedback always, our AA rating is at the highest level for a 4 star hotel, and we have won many awards and accolades over the past 18 months including "Modern Luxury Hotel of the Year 2018" by the Luxury Travel Guide and gold Taste of the West in our amazing restaurant.

We so enjoyed hosting The Nutcracker Masquerade Ball- a fabulous event, and we always recommend any attendants of functions staying over if they can, to enjoy our fabulous leisure facilities, bar and our fantastic English Breakfast the following morning.

We know how warm welcome sets the tone of our guests stay, and it is lovely to hear that you were warmly greeted by the lovely Denise, and taken to your room by our porter- always happy to help.

Thank you for your comments on our high standards in all communal areas and we are pleased that you found your room the be impeccable and that you were impressed by the double aspect views- perks of being positioned within 10 acres of private headland!

Thank you for your feedback on the amazing dinner, and exceptional staff on the night of the ball, as you quite rightly noted, keeping the level and quality of food and service for large numbers is not an easy feat, but our team of talented chefs and waiting staff are experts in providing the very best food and service, and we are glad that you felt very well cared for by an enthusiastic team.

We are glad that you were so impressed by breakfast served in our beautiful sea view dining room- we offer such a fantastic choice of buffet items, and we are so glad that you enjoyed being able to choose the way you wanted your eggs to be cooked, we believe a freshly cooked English Breakfast is the best and we are glad you agree.

It is great feedback to hear that you found our bed to be the most comfortable bed you have ever slept on! We have a mix of super king and zip and link beds that guests can select when they book direct, all off fabulous comfort.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, and thank you for a wonderful, detailed review of your 5-star stay.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

From the moment we stepped into the Atlantic hotel we were warmly greeted and made to feel very welcome. We arrived slightly early and our room was already ready for us. We made our way to our room and were pleasingly surprised to find we had a balcony room with the most stunning views.
On Saturday night we dined at the silks bistro, the food was stunning, real first class cuisine, the staff were extremely friendly and attentative, we had a cocktail after our food at the bar and were served by a great barman who made absolutely the best cocktails and explained them to us thouroghly.
We used the facilities at the hotel in the spa area, the pool was lovely , the sauna and steam room excellent and the Jacuzzi a lovely extra with the most fabulous views from sitting in it.
Breakfast was lovely with so much choice and again great staff, I have to say the staff at this hotel are an absolute credit to the beautiful hotel and we will be back again.
Thankyou
Patrick and Simara

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patwinter31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic-Managment, Manager at The Atlantic Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2018

Dear patwinter31,
Thank you for a fabulous 5 star review.
We are honoured that you chose our venue for your Wedding Anniversary and Birthday celebrations!
It is so lovely to hear that from the moment you arrived you were warmly greeted and made to feel so welcome- our staff are so often praised for their friendliness, eagerness to help and warm friendly welcome.
Although check-in is at 3.30pm we welcome guests to arrive early, park their car and use all the facilities and as in this instance that your room was ready early, we were pleased to take you to your room. It sounds as though you were very impressed by your balcony room and stunning views.
We are so pleased that enjoyed the perfect dining experience in our AA rosette restaurant, Silks Bistro & Champagne Bar and found the food to be stunning and our staff to be extremely friendly and attentive, a cocktail at the bar is the perfect way to finish a lovely evening and we are so glad that you found your cocktails to be "the best" and found our barman to be knowledgeable and providing you with great service.
Thank you for your comments on our lovely pool, excellent steam room and sauna and jacuzzi, and we agree- being able to look out to the ocean while relaxing certainly makes the experience all the more special.
We are so pleased that you found breakfast to be lovely with so much choice and once again found our staff to be great.

Your final comments on our staff being an absolute credit to our hotel really does make all their hard work feel appreciated and we always share such fabulous reviews with the team.

We cannot wait to welcome you back again, and do ensure that you book direct to receive your loyalty card reward or offer as a return guest.

kind regards
Cath Mukit
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews