We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
74
90
71
27
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
90
71
27
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool full english family room rooms were very clean town centre weekend break wonderful stay visiting newquay comfy bed pool table cooked breakfast sauna aimee beaches snooker choir clifftop
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 298 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2017

The hotel does not look stunning from the outside, but inside it is scrupulously clean and tidy and well run and friendly and, consequently, comfortable and enjoyable. The staff are friendly, fun and efficient - really pleasant people who run the hotel well. The rooms are well-cleaned and comfortable, with everything you need, without embellishment - white fluffy towels, soap, firm mattresses, extra blankets. Our room was not large, but looked quite newly fitted, without anything looking 'tired' or worn. The hotel is well situated, with sea views if you care to pay a little extra. It allows dogs, and the clifftop, with stunning views, is simply across the road and convenient for walking, with or without a canine friend. The breakfast is good, with the usual choices of continental or full English, served amid old-fashioned silverware and beneath sparkling crystal chandeliers. If you rate this as 'poor', then you are clearly looking for something higher up the 'luxury' scale, or with boutique embellishments - both of which can struggle to be as clean and well run as this establishment. Book with confidence and embrace the sea breeze!

NB I note people complaining about lumpy beds and dirty windows, but saw nothing of that at all. Our bed was firm and comfortable, and I remarked on the cleanliness of the windows, which enabled me to take photographs of the view through the glass.

Room Tip: Sea-view rooms will have some road noise - not awful, though. It is not an overly noisy location.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank nicnac13_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for your feedback ,so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.We very much hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

Beautiful hotel excellent service very clean tidy chamber maids came in each day to make beds
put clean towels out & tidy room indoor out door pools very clean tidy staff always very helpful smiling go out there way to help in any way . Amy and her staff (Mark Iva Flora John Phil Simon Millt & Chris) made all our children & us very welcome
Very family oriented Hotel
Beach Tesco Express & town centre all with in walking distance once you park up don't need to drive as everything on doorstep
Bar area huge to relax have few drinks bar prices very good
Gym excellent
Beautiful sun lounge balcony just outside bar again very clean tidy
Thank you again Amy & all your staff for such outstanding week

Kindest regards again for a fantastic holiday

Love Jas Mani & Lovillies

Room Tip: G2 Excellent view on to the outside pool & lounge balcony a lot space sleeps 5 Bedrooms & bathrooms very clean tidy smell fresh clean
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jas954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for your kind comments,we really appreciate you naming all our team and so happy that we made your holiday one to remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2017

We visited the Kilbirnie Hotel over the August Bank Holiday weekend as a large group, and after reading the recent reviews on here - I was dreading it. However upon arrival, the receptionist was very welcoming and helpful, and the reception area looked clean and you could tell it had recently been refurbished.

The hotel is in an ideal location - just a 15 minute walk from the beach and high street. There is also a Tesco Express right next door to the hotel which was very handy for getting food/drink to take to the beach with us.

When we were able to check into our rooms, this is when we saw how dated the rest of the hotel is compared to the reception area. The carpet is very worn and the decor itself is like re-visiting the past. The rooms were very small and definitely need modernising. The beds were lumpy and the pillows were way too flat - so I'm glad I took a blanket I could fold up and use as an extra pillow! The shower was awful - there was no power whatsoever, in fact it was more like showering under a dripping tap. When returning to the room after a day at the beach, it was like walking in to a sauna, which other members of our group said their rooms were the same.

The view from our room was the swimming pool of next door's hotel (which has shut down) and wasn't pleasant at all. The building was extremely run down and the swimming pool was mouldy.

We had breakfast included with our stay, and this was nothing special. They provide a buffet which includes croissants, bread, cheese, ham and cereal and then they give you the option to order a full english breakfast if you wish to.

The staff were nothing but pleasant, especially the bar man. He was always very welcoming and went out of his way to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

Overall it was fine for what we needed, however it should think about a refurbishment throughout the whole hotel sooner rather than later.

Stayed: August 2017
1  Thank TaylaKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for your comments ,we hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We stayed here this bank holiday weekend and having read all the previous reviews my expectations were low.

As mentioned by past visitors I agree that the reception and bar areas have been refurbished and therefore give a slightly false first impression.
When you get to the rooms (after walking over some rather worn carpets) the rooms are very small. The room although clean on the surface could do with a little more care taken to clean all surfaces as there was dust in places that had been missed. The bed was small and incredibly lumpy and in need of a new mattress - you found yourself being pulled to the middle of the bed where it slopped inwards.
The windows were filthy and we looked over the roof of the swimming pool and some other accommodation, we also found that there were pigeons who lived on the waste/drain pipes right outside our windows so they were constantly making noise and pooing right outside the window which isn't great.
The bathroom was basic and we had a shower over the bath which was dreadful, we had a material shower curtain which I think is just a hygiene hazard as goodness know when it was last washed/replaced. The shower itself wasn't powerful and don't even think you will be able to get a constant temperature, it continually changed from hot to cold no matter how you tried to adjust it (we were a group of 14 and every room experienced this.
There were towels provided (albeit small in size) but there weren't towels provided for the indoor pool. The towel rail was switched off in the bathroom which made it hard to dry beach and in room towels ready for the next day, this made the room smell damp. The hotel doesn't replace linen or towels during your stay unless requested.
The walls and floor boards in the rooms are incredibly thin, we could hear all the conversations from the room next to us and every footstep from those on the floor above when they were in the room.
We had breakfast included in our rate, this did the job but was nothing special, there was little choice from the hot options it was either you wanted a cooked breakfast or you didn't. There was a selection of cereal and some croissants, ham and cheese on offer as the continental options.
Wifi is supposedly available to all residents in communal areas but a number of our party struggled to get on the internet when in the said areas that it should be available.

On the plus side the staff ( especially the lady on reception when we checked in and the bar man) were incredibly friendly and helpful. There is parking at the hotel and we didn't struggle to find a space - even those spaces are small. The hotel is located opposite the beach and is a short walk to town for restaurants and there is a Tesco metro next door. The indoor pool is small but is a nice extra for an option in the hotel.

If you go with an open mind that this hotel is just a room to sleep in while you enjoy the beaches or Newquay then you won't be disappointed, just don't expect luxury even though rooms aren't cheap ( 3 nights cost us £350).

Room Tip: Pick top floor and sea view
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sarahg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilbirnierecp, Guest Relations Manager at Kilbirnie Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2017

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 29, 2017

We recently stayed at the Killbirnie with a group of 13 of us I'll be honest and say when we pulled in to the hotel I was worried. From the outside it looks almost as run down as the hotel that has long since closed down next door.

When walking into reception i was buoyed by the fact it was much less nicer than expected, with a friendly welcome and free Wifi available in the reception and bar.

The rooms themselves were clean with the exception of sand in the carpeted areas, although i'd imagine sand gets everywhere constantly from guests so this can be forgiven. We had a 2 bed room and so had a shower cubicle which unfortunately had little water pressure so it was an event try to wash long hair. We didn't have much a view and there was a noisy extraction fan (may be an AC unit) outside that started up at 7:30 each morning, coupling this with the seagulls definitely saved the need for an alarm. The rooms were particularly warm in the evening so the thick-ish quilt was not ideal, it would have been nice to have a thin sheet as an option.

Breakfast was provided as we booked this with our room, they offer a full English with a choice of how you want your eggs (poached were lovely) there was also plenty of other foods available if you preferred a more continental breakfast.

The bar area has quite obviously had a recent refurb, Wolfgang on the bar was friendly and really helped our large party feel welcome, he went out of his way several times to make our stay more enjoyable which makes such a difference when travelling with a large party.

The location of the hotel is great, a short walk to Tolcarn beach and not much longer to Great Western. Tolcarn does not allow Alcohol at any time, or dogs this kind of year so Great Western was our preferred choice.

All in all the hotel fulfilled its purpose well, for the amount of time we spent here it was more than adequate. It would be nice to see WIFI in the rooms as well some upgrades to the plumbing and the beds etc.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luke T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews