We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Superb, suited us perfectly!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Quay House

Balcony with 180 degree south vacing views across the estuary
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony with 180 degree south vacing views across the estuary
New bespoke barbecue seating area with sea glass mood lighting. 10 m long south facing balcony with panoramic views across the estuary.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Balcony with 180 degree south vacing views across the estuary
New bespoke barbecue seating area with sea glass mood lighting.
10 m long south facing balcony with panoramic views across the estuary.
Bedroom one is in the second floor. It has a super king bed and luxury ensuite bathroom.
Bedroom two. Double bed and double strong wooden bunkbeds with large ensuite bathroom.
Bedroom three. King size bed and cot.
Bedroom four.  Can be set up as two or three single beds.
Bedroom five. Double bed.
Bespoke oak kitchen with black granite worktops. Range cooker and American fridge freezer with ice.
Large range cooker and American fridge freezer with ice maker
Sunny sheltered front garden with kids play house
Off road parking for four cars
Private parking for up to four cars
Family bathroom with spa bath and stone basin
View towards Penpole Creek
Louge is now fitted with large sliding doors.
Pleanty of comfy seating
Large lounge with plasma TV and surround sound.  Stunning views of the |Gannel Estuary.
The Gannel at sunset
The Gannel at mid tide.
Great for canoeing!
A haven for bird life
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Superbarr...
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb, suited us perfectly!!”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Quay House is a fantastic property, ideal for large groups or extended family stays. It's spacious, warm, light & finished to a very high standard. The layout allows people to have their own space or enjoy the huge communal areas in the kitchen or in the main sitting room.
There is a bbq area to the front of the property which we sadly didn't get to use (it was a bit chilly) but looked like a great setup for a big cook-up while enjoying the sunset.
The estuary provides great walks during low tide, uninterrupted views & a very peaceful setting all only a 20 minute walk or 2 minute drive from Newquay town centre.
We couldn't recommend this property highly enough, the kids asked if we could live there forever so it had the thumbs up from the whole family.
Thanks to the proprietor for a great holiday, if we visit Newquay again this is where we will stay for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The amount of space the house offered
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
“Could not have picked a better place to stay”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This house was great it had everything you needed and was in a beautiful place amazing views,very quiet and only a short walk into town

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew H
1 review
“Amazing location”
Reviewed June 26, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We have been holidaying in Newquay for years in separate groups but this year we wanted to have a holiday as a family. Having normally stayed in caravans or hotels in the area we decided that the best option would be to rent a holiday home as there were 9 of us.
After trawling the various sites we came across Quay House. From the pictures it looks fantastic. The pictures only tell half of the story for this beautiful property however. We arrived at the property on Saturday afternoon and were welcomed with cream teas in the fridge which is a lovely touch.The biggest compliment i can pay the house is it always feels like its 'home'. Some lovely touches like the well stocked bookshelves make you feel welcome and comfortable. The two seperate living rooms give you the chance to spread out and have your own space and the huge kitchen is perfect for a large family. By far the best part of the house is the balcony. The views of the Gannel estuary are incredible. There is also a path opposite the house that takes you straight down to the water front which is perfect for sitting by as the tide comes in. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds are comfortable. The bathrooms are also well equipped and spotless. It really is a fantastic place to stay and explore the area from.
On a side note the owners are lovely to deal with, not being the brightest i left a jacket behind one of the doors. they posted it back out to me which was hugely appreciated!

Cant recommend this home highly enough

Thanks for everything!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The balcony
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkie201...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have been holidaying as a large extended family for many years (over 25)
and hire a different holiday house each year. Quay house was suitable for all ~ from children 5 & 7 up to our Mother who is 87 (she is reasonably mobile).
The kitchen and living area are superb for family meals and to relax in the evening. The main lounge was used for watching TV or movies but we spent most of our time in the kitchen area.
We were very fortunate to have had good weather and enjoyed our pre-dinner drink on the balcony with views over the estuary.

Bedrooms are all of a good size with comfy beds, slept like a log ~ bliss!
Plenty of bath and shower rooms to accommodate all our party.

Our favourite beaches in the area were Crantock and Watergate bay. A beautiful area to explore on foot.

Would recommend Lewinnick lodge for dinner, we went there on our last evening ~ not cheap but good quality food. The Restaurant is in perfect location with a fabulous sea view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The overall size of the property
Liked least: Newquay town ~ very run down.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great 'home-from-home' - stunning views and brilliantly equipped”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Two families with teenage children, we stayed in mid-August. The house is immaculate - modern and yet homely - with the best equipped kitchen of any house I have ever stayed in. Fabulous views from the lounge, in particular, over the ever-changing state of the Gannel estuary. We had a lovely warm welcome and the owners helped us out both in advance, with towels, and during our stay when my son had his exam results posted to the house.

We found plenty to do, from high-adrenalin coasteering, go karting and laser combat, to rides on the Gannel sands, coastal walks and castles. Not to mention all those glorious beaches. Perfect for the surfer in our midst.

It would be a particularly good place for families with young children - lots of toys, books and equipment in the property.

We walked into Newquay quite a few times, and to the nearby Fistral and Crantock beaches, and I would say that all are a good walk, especially with a surf board. Entirely possible, but not easy, and quite uphill on the way there. We had thought the teenagers might take themselves into town, but it was much too much trouble for that! The upside is that it is a very beautiful, quiet and tranquil area - which it wouldn't have been in the centre of town.

There are three bathrooms in the property, two ensuite, and one shower room, which is the only one with a shower cubicle. Two of the baths have showers over them. This, for me, was the only downside - I like a walk-in shower.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous views and fantastic kitchen
Liked least: The bathroom arrangements - I'm not keen on showers over baths
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martyn B
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome property!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here with our parents and siblings for a few days after getting married and we had an amazing time.

The property was spacious, modern and in a relaxing location. The layout of the house meant that you can socilaise as a group/family or have some relaxation to yourself.

The bedrooms were all very clean, spacious and modern with plenty of bathrooms for everyone. The kitchen/lounge area again was big enough for everyone to eat together, the living room had a big flat screen TV which was great to look at photos of our wedding as a family and of our fishing trip in Newquay itself whilst the balcony had stunning views of the sunset over the river.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and room at the house.
Liked least: Leaving to come home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazzybaz
Suffolk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FABUUULOUS!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We were a party of 10 adults celebrating the recent marriage of my son and his Australian wife. Family from Australia as well as the UK enjoyed 5 fantastic days staying at this amazing property. Very comfortable, clean and
excellent standard of accomodation.

There was everything you could wish for. From the welcome cream teas to the little personal touches around the house and garden. Very spacious, without feeling on top of each other. A 2nd visit is a must!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing