We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Save
Review Highlights
1st surf lesson

When on holiday with daughter and her friend, her friend decided she wanted a surfing lesson so we... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Terry B
,
London, United Kingdom
via mobile
Super Surfer Sam

We came down from Scotland so far, It was rather cramped in the car. The first thing we did, Was... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Rowan A
via mobile
Read all 315 reviews
  
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveller rating
295
11
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
295
11
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surf school fistral beach private lesson hour lesson group lesson changing facilities great instructor these guys a lot of fun board hire great fun two hours explained everything amazing experience children aged great value for money next year
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When on holiday with daughter and her friend, her friend decided she wanted a surfing lesson so we booked just one beginner lesson for her, well what can I say other than she loved it, she liked the instructor said he explained things well and was funny and she felt safe in the water, all staff were friendly and helpful, we thought £35 for 2 hours was absolutely worth it and my daughters friend said it was the best thing she’s ever done and will do more when we return to Cornwall, so thank you.

Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came down from Scotland so far,
It was rather cramped in the car.
The first thing we did,
Was spend a few quid,
And signed up to a lesson with Sam.

We first headed down to the beach,
And we realised how well he could teach.
Once into the sea (after we had a pee),
We were all standing so easily.

One thing he taught us was turning,
It was the first school we felt we were learning.
We couldn’t recommend him more,
It was a bonus it was right on the shore.
So head down to Fistral Beach Surf School,
If you go elsewhere you’re a fool.

Thank Rowan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 6, 2018

Three of us had a private lesson back in August (sorry about the late review!)with Dani. He was a super good instructor relaxed and entertaining, we all learnt a lot and had a lot of fun. 100% recommended.

Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 28, 2018 via mobile

I took my wife to Newquay for a surprise weekend of surfing. I chose Fistral Beach for our lessons because of its location right on the beach. I booked 2 private lessons for the pair of us, on the Sat & Sun. Our instructor, Yel, was great; enthusiastic, knowledgable and adapted his lessons to suit our differing abilities. Despite less than ideal weather and conditions he made sure we got the most out of both lessons. Thanks for a great time guys! We'll be back for sure!

Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Afternoon Chris,

I will be sure to pass this on to Yella, he is relatively new to instructing but he is already showing incredible passion and has plenty of knowledge.

Glad to hear you got lots out of your lesson in less than ideal conditions!

See you soon,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Amazing fantastic laid back teachers beach was stunning sea was lovely helpful coaches would 100% go again the expence was amazing and laid back wasn’t pushed into anything you did not want to do !
Heads up to the coaches that had me and my partner awesome people xox

Thank georgetedbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Afternoon,

Stoked that you and your partner had a good time!

Will see you again soon,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing few days on Fistral beach, where we learnt to surf. Danny and Coco our amazing instructors had us on our feet in no time. Fistral beach surf schools staff are very friendly and we had fantastic instructors during our lesson. We had a 2 hour lesson in the morning where we learnt the basics and Danny and Coco couldn’t of been more helpful. We were soon up on our boards and hired them for the rest of the day!!! If you’re in Newquay, you must visit Fistral beach surf school, no matter how capable in the water you are it will be a memorable morning and I’m pretty sure they will have your surfing in no time!! Thanks for an unforgettable holiday!!

Thank Ninamellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Hey!

We cannot thank you enough for your kind words, they really mean a lot. I am so glad that you guys managed to get surfing with us and had a good time doing so, now you gotta keep it up and you'll be shredding in no time.

Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Best,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2018 via mobile

Had two 1 on 1 lessons with Jen with the objectives of catching green waves more consistently and improving turns along the face of the wave. Jen was an absolutely fantastic coach and as a competitive surfer taught me so much about wave selection and timing.

The 1 on 1s met all my objectives and gave me a pathway to take my surfing to the next level. Everyone at the school was super friendly and organised and great facilities. Highly recommended!

Thank Marcopolo780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Afternoon!

You absolutely killed it on your lessons, surfed and progressed so well. Really excited to see where you go with your surfing and hope to see you at Fistral again soon.

Best,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

He was a friendly and encouraging instructor who explained things very well, we had never stepped onto a board before and by the end we were standing up! We'd definitely recommend him & this lesson :) thank you again Dani!!

Thank srilanks2k15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2018

Massive congratulations for standing up and riding your waves on your first lesson!

Hopefully we will see you again for some more surfing.

Best,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

Did a 2-hour lesson in the morning, which was really good and held in small groups. Really nice staff and surf guides. They also rent out all the equipment next door, which is useful for some sessions on your own.

Thank travelsofgini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Public Relations Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello Gini,

Stoked to hear you had a good time!

Keep up the stoke and we will see you soon

Best,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 31, 2018 via mobile

We all arrived as absolute beginners to surfing. Coco was our instructor and he did a great job at getting us kitted out and in the water in no time. The two biggest surprises were that after an hour of the two hour lesson we had all managed to stand up, and after two minutes of being in the water with wetsuits on we all felt really warm! We all loved it so much we went back the following day to carry on trying out our new found skills. Couldn’t recommend this enough. Not easy finding something a 13 year old girl, 11 boy and their parents can all enjoy but this was it for us. Fistral Beach also has loads of fantastic restaurants and bars to enjoy a bite to eat and well earned drink afterwards.

Thank robertmU1983LR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBSurfSchool, Front Office Manager at Fistral Beach Surf School, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2018

Hello Robert,

Thankfully the wetsuits we provide are top of the range and field tested by our instructors, if your'e not comfortable then we're not. Fantastic work on getting to your feet within the hour though, that is very impressive. Really glad to hear you and your family had a fun time surfing with us and at the beach in general.

Hopefully see you again soon,

FBSS Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews