We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Parish Church of Saint Michael the Archangel
Save
Review Highlights
Beautiful Church

This lovely Church attracts a lot of visitors especially foreign visitors due to the beautiful... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Monique C
Lovely Church in Newquay and beautiful acoustics!

I have played with Newquay band here near Christmas and again at the brass concert in February... read more

Reviewed May 20, 2018
BenJarrold
,
Cornwall
Read all 14 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Newquay
from US$85.20
More Info
from US$131.10
More Info
from US$183.50
More Info
from US$209.70
More Info
Reviews (14)
Filter reviews
13 results
Traveller rating
6
6
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
6
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 13 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely Church attracts a lot of visitors especially foreign visitors due to the beautiful interior and its beautiful stain glass windows.

Thank Monique C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2018

I have played with Newquay band here near Christmas and again at the brass concert in February.

The church itself is beautiful with lovely detailing on the ceilings and lovely stained glass windows.

When playing music in this lovely church, the acoustics are outstanding and seem to last longer than in other churches I have played in. All of the vicars etc are very welcoming and inclusive of everyone.

I would highly recommend visiting

Thank BenJarrold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017

Attended Palm Sunday Eucharist at the Parish Church. Friendly welcome and a High Church Anglican Tradition. Started with a full procession of palms including incense and singing some good traditional hymns. The choir sang a good rendition of Mozart's Ave Verum after the passion reading and a very atmospheric piece excellently performed after Communion called The Last Words written by Peter Skellern (who has recently died). There is a full pipe organ with lots of different stops and a lively after service gathering over coffee.

1  Thank Vinylman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2016

We attended Church as is our normal thing to do. We looked for a Methodist Church but are also glad to attend an Anglican one. Found that the Methodist congregation were worshipping with the Anglican one as it was Sea Sunday. Very good service and a very worshipful place

Thank skiandsnowboard616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2016

Attended a service for Sea Sunday which had the added attraction of having the Gig 'Newquay' sitting in the centre of the church while everyone was seated around it. This was a community service involving the church and other groups including the Newquay rowing club singers who sung a piece as well as some good hymns accompanied by a magnificent organ that has been recently restored.

Thank Vinylman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2015

We finally found this church.. as having read the reviews, decided it was a must see. It's a nice building and peaceful.. but no better than any other picturesque church. It is nice.. but don't expect to be wowed. :o)

Thank MariaNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2015

My wife and I visited this church on Christmas Day as part of our Christmas holiday to Newquay in 2014. The church had been rebuilt after a fire and had a magnificent vaulted ceiling. There were some beautiful stained glass windows and a superb choir screen. It was beautifully decorated for the festive season. We had a warm welcome from the vicar and congregation. The service was wonderful - high Anglican with incense and a marvellous organ which played a selection of traditional carols (with the original words and all the verses). The church is situated some distance from the hotel we stayed at, but the walk was worth the effort and on our return we saw a gorgeous rainbow. The service was the highlight of our holiday and our Christmas!

1  Thank Howard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 16, 2014

They had a short 45minute concert with part of the official choir. Six young lads harmonising it was a rare treat. The church architecture was beautiful worth a visit.

Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 2, 2014

It is a beautiful church on the outside, that dominates the skyline of Newquay from everywhere in the town. The community also seemed sympathetic and welcoming.

Thank Alexandre P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice and huge church, with welcoming people. Had a chance to attend one of their choir performances which was very good.

1  Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews