We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“" New Year " Should of stayed home !!”
Review of Hotel California

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel California
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Newport
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“" New Year " Should of stayed home !!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

we stayed here over new year 2011-2012 .. On arrival the the outside of the hotel looked quite smart along with the reception seating and restaurant area ! Unfortunatly thats where it ended ! The room was an upgraded balcony room with good views over the estury.Very small with a filthy carpet that you would`nt let your dog lay on. The bathroom needed riping out and replacing along with a shower from the 70s which either scalded you or froze you .
The whole hotel was was freezing after being told they had been shut since November and we were imformed that the heating was not on untill 5pm after complaining, as the hotel had a lot of elderly people staying there you might of thought that they would have warmed the place first ??? "Summing Up" Food was great,service good, very expensive,in need of total revamp

Room Tip: "Party of 30 people no good rooms"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philsue59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    185
    124
    90
    110
See reviews for
146
293
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had our wedding reception here 25 years ago and was keen to return.The reception area was as good as we remembered but unfortunately thats where it ends.The lift is antiquated and only accomodates 2 people at a time.The bedroom was very tired with threadbare patches on the carpets,very worn furniture and fixtures.Infact the whole room and bathroom looked like it had not been maintained in the last 25 years.The bed was most uncomfortable but the bedding was clean.There was tea and coffee but no cups or spoon!We decided to use the indoor fire escape stairs to get down to the dining room and were shocked to find them partially blocked with a table and other furniture part way down!!The pool area and bowling areas also need some TLC.Over all we were very disappointed that this once lovely hotel has been allowed to deteriorate to this extent.Its saving grace are the friendly staff and views.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newquay hotels

Cornwall, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed over for a work's Christmas party - never again!

Awful damp smell, which we narrowed down to a square yard of carpet in the corner (in-front of the drawers/tv) that was sopping wet.

Room was very small with an uncomfortable bed. Bathroom was clean(ish) but in a bit of a sorry state. Shower was rubbish. Everything was in need of a refurb. Doors were shabby and don't even use swipe cards. The door of the room next to us looked like it had been kicked in.

Staff were friendly, albeit all foreign. The Full English breakfast was probably the worst I'd ever had - no wonder the portions were so small !!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornwall_UKAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

stayed here last weekend. Travelled straight after work and booked in. the weather was appalling and so we decided to try the restaurant. the menu was displayed at reception and looked good, but when we asked we were told that due to lack of numbers the restaurant was closed. why the menu was still showing is anybodies guess.

we ate at the bowling alley. the food there was okay and freshly cooked, but not what we wanted when we arrived.

the room was a twin. the beds were okay, nothing special. the room was cold, surprising as we had booked earlier in the week and so were expected. the decor could have done with updating, as could the bathroom.

on the second night the restaurant was open, but was hosting a party and although it wasn't exclusive, we were under dressed and so had to eat out.

whilst the staff were nice, and the breakfast was adaquate, i do not think that we will return. that is a shame as the location is good.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alistair522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2011

From the website it looked lovely as did the enterance and the restaurant, However when you move up to your room, the experience is vastly disappointed, Poor rooms, in dire need of painting, shabby furniture and the worst bed I have ever slept in, with a mole hill in the middle, I have stayed in 1 star ski resorts with better beds. The bathroom was dirty and mouldy, so much so i didnt shower at all as I didnt want to get in.
Sorrry to report a shabby hotel not worthy of a 3 *. I am not fussy and have stayed in a number of hotels this one is in a real need of bedroom overhauls.

Room Tip: choose another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Booked during August 2011 for 3 nights, location and price seemed about right. However, this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in for the following reasons; £117 a night b&b had to be paid up front - alarm bells ring; room shabby; damp/smelly rooms; sticky carpets; dated decor - 80's; lumpy mattress; food no frills standard to name a few. Top tip - view your room before paying !!!

The indoor swimming pool was small, shabby and dated and not used even though we paid for it.

On arrival the outside was very dated and our hearts sank, after a 3 hour drive it was most disapointing. When asked why you had to pay up front reception advised it was normal for this hotel ! We were shown to our family room that was not a 3 star standard, travel lodge would have been a far better choice. The first room was behind reception via a short corridor and it looked onto the main path to the bowling alley. Under the window was an air conditioning unit that buzzed away all day and night. Bathroom suite was in need of replacement, broken extract fan and the wc cistern had a cracked top that had been superglued, bath sealant grubby This room was also very dark, damp with a musty smell - even the curtains had rising damp stains. Upon complaint to the first receptionist, (even though 3 year old has asthma) we were told there were no other rooms available, so at 9.00pm we reluctantly stayed the night.

The next morning after an uncomfortable night sleep on the worst mattress ever we asked another receptionist if we could change rooms. To our surprise we were shown two other rooms that overlooked the outside pool that were also available the night before ! These rooms were a 25% improvement but still not 3 star standard expectation.

Good points were most staff were pleasant and room cleanliness ok. This hotel could be improved by replacing bathroom suites, carpets, curtains, mattresses as a minimium.

Room Tip: 1 - choose different hotel, 2 - get room over looking pool with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InspectorWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2011

I stayed at the Hotel California with work for just under a week in August (we were working at Boardmasters). There were around 25 of us and we all had to share rooms (they had been booked this way). The hotel lobby and restaurant all looked relatively posh and well kept, however the rooms were a different story. They weren’t dirty as such, but were old and shabby – faded curtains, handles missing off drawers etc. They also always seemed to have spiders in them which was not great as I’m not a fan of spiders! However I did find the rooms relatively quiet and the bed comfortable.

The room size I had (1 double & 1 single) was good and had enough storage space, however, my colleagues rooms were a different story. They were put in what we referred to as ‘the servant quarters’ which were found through an unmarked door in the restaurant in a tiny corridor. They were twin rooms but each guest had to re-arrange their rooms as the twin beds were placed so they were basically a double bed – not good for those who didn’t know each other!

Parking was sometimes an issue although this was because we had a lot of cars for the amount of staff who were there, but it was free and enclosed so was good.

Breakfast was a good selection and well cooked, however it was awkward having to wait for the waiters to approach you to order a cooked breakfast & tea & coffee – this was often an issue as we needed to have a quick breakfast to start work, but once it was ordered it didn’t take that long. We didn’t eat in the restaurant (it was a bit too posh & overpriced for us), but we did eat in the bowling ally on the ground floor, which although not to everyone’s tastes was a good portion and good price – chips, burgers etc. I must mention the bowling ally staff, they were very friendly and dealt with our food, drink and bowling ally requests very well. It’s a full size bowling ally and is relatively cheap and lots of fun!

The reception staff were also great in dealing with our ever changing room requirements, and were very friendly and welcoming the whole time we stayed there. The night staff were also very helpful, as after we returned from work at around 3am I go locked out of my room and they were very helpful in letting me back in. It was also obvious to see that the owners really cared about the hotel a lot. They were often in the lobby in the morning making sure everything was okay.

It was also good that there was a costal path which was around a 20 minute walk to Newquay beach where we were based. To reach this you need to walk all the way to the main road and then turn left towards new housing developments, then when you get to what looks like a toilet on the right and that’s where the path starts.

Lovely little hotel and caring staff, could just do with a little bit of a re-vamp to make it great.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahgosney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
0.7 km away
The Pentire Hotel
The Pentire Hotel
#10 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
0.4 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
2.0 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#12 of 38 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Carnmarth Hotel
Carnmarth Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.7 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.3 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel California? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel California

Property: Hotel California
Address: 32 Pentire Crescent, Newquay TR7 1PU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel California 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Gannel Estuary and Crantock beach, Hotel California a 3* listed hotel is just a 5 minute walk from Newquay’s famous Fistral Beach & Vibrant town centre packed with some of England's best bars, restaurants & Nightclubs. There are 2 swimming pools, sauna, games room, Solarium, Hairdresser and free parking. The hotel also has a 4-lane bowling alley, squash court, table tennis and snooker and pool tables.Guests can relax with a drink and enjoy the sun terrace, or sit down for a candle lit dinner in our restaurant with views over rolling countryside, the Gannel estuary and Crantock beach.Away from the town centre, Hotel California’s peaceful rooms each feature a TV, complimentary tea & coffee facilities, Direct dial phone, Trouser press & Hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LateRooms, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel California reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
California Hotel Newquay
Hotel California Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing