We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel California
Nearby Hotels
US$158
US$153
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Pentire Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$213
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$128
US$124
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$135
US$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Esplanade Hotel(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$88
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
136
201
130
100
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
201
130
100
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssquash courtgannel estuarysnooker roomten pin bowlingstunning viewstable tennislounge areastayed for one nightrestaurant stafffistral beachweekend breaktown centrematttide
Filter
Updating list...
555 - 560 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Had our wedding reception here 25 years ago and was keen to return.The reception area was as good as we remembered but unfortunately thats where it ends.The lift is antiquated and only accomodates 2 people at a time.The bedroom was very tired with threadbare patches on the carpets,very worn furniture and fixtures.Infact the whole room and bathroom looked like it had not been maintained in the last 25 years.The bed was most uncomfortable but the bedding was clean.There was tea and coffee but no cups or spoon!We decided to use the indoor fire escape stairs to get down to the dining room and were shocked to find them partially blocked with a table and other furniture part way down!!The pool area and bowling areas also need some TLC.Over all we were very disappointed that this once lovely hotel has been allowed to deteriorate to this extent.Its saving grace are the friendly staff and views.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed over for a work's Christmas party - never again!

Awful damp smell, which we narrowed down to a square yard of carpet in the corner (in-front of the drawers/tv) that was sopping wet.

Room was very small with an uncomfortable bed. Bathroom was clean(ish) but in a bit of a sorry state. Shower was rubbish. Everything was in need of a refurb. Doors were shabby and don't even use swipe cards. The door of the room next to us looked like it had been kicked in.

Staff were friendly, albeit all foreign. The Full English breakfast was probably the worst I'd ever had - no wonder the portions were so small !!

Room Tip: Go elsewhere...
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cornwall_UKAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

stayed here last weekend. Travelled straight after work and booked in. the weather was appalling and so we decided to try the restaurant. the menu was displayed at reception and looked good, but when we asked we were told that due to lack of numbers the restaurant was closed. why the menu was still showing is anybodies guess.

we ate at the bowling alley. the food there was okay and freshly cooked, but not what we wanted when we arrived.

the room was a twin. the beds were okay, nothing special. the room was cold, surprising as we had booked earlier in the week and so were expected. the decor could have done with updating, as could the bathroom.

on the second night the restaurant was open, but was hosting a party and although it wasn't exclusive, we were under dressed and so had to eat out.

whilst the staff were nice, and the breakfast was adaquate, i do not think that we will return. that is a shame as the location is good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alistair522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

From the website it looked lovely as did the enterance and the restaurant, However when you move up to your room, the experience is vastly disappointed, Poor rooms, in dire need of painting, shabby furniture and the worst bed I have ever slept in, with a mole hill in the middle, I have stayed in 1 star ski resorts with better beds. The bathroom was dirty and mouldy, so much so i didnt shower at all as I didnt want to get in.
Sorrry to report a shabby hotel not worthy of a 3 *. I am not fussy and have stayed in a number of hotels this one is in a real need of bedroom overhauls.

Room Tip: choose another hotel !
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

Booked during August 2011 for 3 nights, location and price seemed about right. However, this is one of the worst hotels we have ever stayed in for the following reasons; £117 a night b&b had to be paid up front - alarm bells ring; room shabby; damp/smelly rooms; sticky carpets; dated decor - 80's; lumpy mattress; food no frills standard to name a few. Top tip - view your room before paying !!!

The indoor swimming pool was small, shabby and dated and not used even though we paid for it.

On arrival the outside was very dated and our hearts sank, after a 3 hour drive it was most disapointing. When asked why you had to pay up front reception advised it was normal for this hotel ! We were shown to our family room that was not a 3 star standard, travel lodge would have been a far better choice. The first room was behind reception via a short corridor and it looked onto the main path to the bowling alley. Under the window was an air conditioning unit that buzzed away all day and night. Bathroom suite was in need of replacement, broken extract fan and the wc cistern had a cracked top that had been superglued, bath sealant grubby This room was also very dark, damp with a musty smell - even the curtains had rising damp stains. Upon complaint to the first receptionist, (even though 3 year old has asthma) we were told there were no other rooms available, so at 9.00pm we reluctantly stayed the night.

The next morning after an uncomfortable night sleep on the worst mattress ever we asked another receptionist if we could change rooms. To our surprise we were shown two other rooms that overlooked the outside pool that were also available the night before ! These rooms were a 25% improvement but still not 3 star standard expectation.

Good points were most staff were pleasant and room cleanliness ok. This hotel could be improved by replacing bathroom suites, carpets, curtains, mattresses as a minimium.

Room Tip: 1 - choose different hotel, 2 - get room over looking pool with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InspectorWexford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews