We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC VIEWS, FANTASTIC STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Western Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC VIEWS, FANTASTIC STAY!”
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We visited on Tuesday on this week and decided to stay in Newquay overnight. We enquired about a room at 6 pm and were pleasantly surprised to be allocated a very competitively-price room which had been re-furbished and overlooked the sea. What a view! Not only did the room overlook the beach and beautiful surrounding coast but the refurbishment was excellent and immaculately clean. Really comfy bed was just the start. Lovely bathroom, table and chairs in the bay window overlooking the sea, lovely furnishings and finishing touches - really fantastic. Breakfast was not included but we enjoyed a 'full Cornish' with unlimited tea or coffee in the beautiful breakfast/restaurant area overlooking all the town, beaches - spectacular view. The staff were particularly attentive and special mention must go to Michelle, a young Scottish lass who was particularly attentive and accommodating. With lots of competition for breakfast in Newquay you can't go far wrong with this hotel if you are staying there. All in all this was a loely short stay - thoroughly enjoyed it. We really must mention about Newquay and the fact we visited midweek when it was really quiet and serene. It would be a completely different story at the weekend however! You really won't go wrong with the Great Western - we were very impressed thank you all very much!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denise_watts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    287
    115
    46
    42
See reviews for
130
452
21
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Excellent service by a friendly, professional receptionist, Kirstie, who really understands customer service.

Booked in for standard rooms. On arrival we found somebody has been smoking in the room, Kirstie immediately, with no fuss, sorted out the problem and upgraded us to another room.

She was always friendly with a smile and helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StelladP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

Having stayed in so called top rate hotels,we needed to stay for one night in Newquay, this hotel offered superb value for money,our room was excellent having recently being refurnished.The staff were friendly, helpful and polite.They offering better service than a so called 5 star hotel at three or four times the price.Well done to all of you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lester d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I have just come back from my seventh stay at this hotel, having visited as both a single female traveller on business and with my family over the last 6 months, in a variety of rooms. The older rooms are more than comfortable, and the sea facing rooms that have been refurbished have been done so to the highest standards and certainly have a wow factor. The beds are always comfortable, the locally made toiletries are very indulging, and the accommodation is always completely spotless, to which we credit the friendly and helpful Housekeeping Manager, Gilly, and her team. The reception staff are always pleasant, especially Kirsty and Lucy. Yvonne is great in the Bar too. They offer a good "pub food" menu and I have never had reason to complain about my meal. If there were two minor things, I would like to be offered luggage assistance, especially when I check in on my own, and this should be offered by a 3 star hotel. Also, at breakfast there is a "communal" milk jug, and I personally would prefer a fresh, personal jug that had not been handled by others or left standing. What you get for the price is far better than all the competing 3 and 4 star hotels in Newquay without a doubt and I look forward to my next visit in a few weeks.

Room Tip: If you pay for an upgrade you won't be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TourismBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This hotel is cheap and cheerful but is perfect for sampling the delights of Newquay. Perfect location and a really nice pub and cliff top terrace. For the money it is a winner and right on the beach.
Staff are always friendly and the drinks and food are reasonably priced and enjoyable.
The hotel is a nightmare to navigate and is falling apart in places but it kinda gets away with it because of view and location and quality of staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axlrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldicot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

Stayed for 3 nights in the hotel, room was clean but dated, not that bothered me. Staff were extremely friendly and happy to chat.
I was in room 201 on the top floor a bit of a trek to get there view out of the windows wasnt great (it was the other part of the hotel) but you could hear the waves crashing on the beach below. the outside area at the back was smart looking and clean and generally well kept.

Overall a good experience and would recommend.

Room Tip: try and get a newly refurbished room costs a little more but with views of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanKenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and was not disappointed ,we stayed in a standard room which was clean and comfy and made an ideal base.the hotel has a restaurant and bar called the steam bar .the food and drink was reasonably priced and we ate there .I do do recommend that you book parking as it is limited and costs a fiber per night .we definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johncrighton63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.6 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
2.3 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
2.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#5 of 38 in Newquay
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
0.3 km away
Legacy Hotel Victoria - Newquay
1.1 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#8 of 38 in Newquay
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Western Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Western Hotel

Property: Great Western Hotel
Address: Cliff Road | Narrowcliff, Newquay TR7 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
#15 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#16 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Western Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 3 star Great Western Hotel in Newquay is a perfect spot to stay, eat and drink on Cornwall’s breathtaking Atlantic coastline. Set in the heart of Newquay, with a superb sea view, clifftop garden and terrace and only a few steps from the golden sandy beach and the sea, the Great Western Hotel offers some of the best value accommodation* in Newquay for relaxation, informality and comfort. Steam, the Hotel bar and restaurant, offers the best in informal dining and socialising throughout the day and into the evening, with a menu of locally sourced dishes which blend Cornwall with the Mediterranean. All the food is freshly prepared and locally sourced where possible while the well stocked and stylish bar offers a full range of drinks. For a weekend break or a holiday in Newquay, The Great Western Hotel offers a great seaside location to enjoy your time in Cornwall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Great Western Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Western Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall
Great Western Newquay
Hotel Great Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing