We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab place to stay.”
Review of Ravensbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ravensbury Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab place to stay.”
Reviewed 31 August 2011

We stayed here with another couple and we were put in rooms next to one another. We had the room overlooking Fistral beach (room 3). Great place to stay. Room was very clean and we had fresh towels everyday. Nicki was very helpful and seemed to know everyone and everything to do, so it was really helpful for us. She even dried our clothes for us when we got wet. Traditional "Cornish" run hotel. Breakfast was good although would have liked some fresh fruit. Will definitely be going back next year.

Room Tip: Book room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eve-n-Simey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    25
    2
    0
    11
See reviews for
16
64
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2011

It was my first trip to Cornwall, so I didnt know what to expect! Newquay I'd more built up than i expected, but still beautiful! The hotel was warm and very welcoming.. We had the deluxe double bedroom which had the most amazing view of the famous fistral beach where by complete luck they were holding the Relentless boardmasters which we could see from our room when it was lower tide! The room was open and light, with a large shower room.. It was clean and comfortable! The main town is very lively and about a 15 min walk with views of the beach front golf club!

We user this hotel as a base and travelled most of Cornwall, down to lands end is about 40 mins by car, and top end to tintagel is about the same! So it was in a great location not just for Newquay but the whole of Cornwall! We plan to go back in October to learn to surf as there is a quicksilver surf school is just down the hill which is a 2 minute walk from the hotel and 3 minutes to the beach! I loved it here, and would recommend it to young couples! You have 24hr access which was great for us.. The breakfast was great and always served with a smile... The owner took genuine interest in what you had been getting up too. Newquay and Cornwall stole my heart!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steviekent23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at this hotel as we were working in cornwall,
the lady who owns and runs the hotel was very friendly and could not do enough to help with anything we needed to know from things to do places to visit places to eat etc.
we loved the breakfeast and were always full throughout the day .we had fresh towels
daily.and always had a laugh when we got back after work as nicky the owner would have a line full of washing done she always had time to talk to us and make us a coffee. it was like a home from home .the hotel is clean and tidy and everything is smelling so fresh not supprising with all the washing she does.we would say to anyone going to cornwall whether it be to work or holiday go and stay at this hotel you wont be dissapointed ...

Room Tip: the front of the house up stairs sea views beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaz381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

The owner,Nicky, gave us a very friendly welcome in the rear car park and showed us up to our room. If you can, get the front double which has lovely views over Fistral beach with its surfers. The room is compact but has everything needed and plenty of hot water for the shower. Full English breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals, juice, toast and tea/coffee.
Newquay center is about a 15-20 minute walk away
Overall a very friendly relaxing stay

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2011

I had my whole family staying here while in holiday. 4 adults and 2 young children.

The owner is not happy about having kids in the house. One of the younger child had a mishap in the bed over night ( kids with nightmares ) and i had a visit at my work of the owner 7 months later shouting at me, and yelling that she will never in her life have any children in her house again! Very unprofessional person. And i suggest to stay away from this hotel if you have kids!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
3 Thank hangtenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

Myself, my partner and my two boys stayed here for 10 days, we had a lovely stay, the beds were sooooooo comfortable, the views amazing and Nicky was extremely accommodating and friendly, nothing was too much trouble and the breakfasts were excellent. Would definately recommend to anyone and we will most certainly be returning.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susieq072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2010

We had a lovely time, great place, great location and a kind and helpful Hotel owner called Nikki. Who kindly gave me sun lotion and towels for the beach.We can't wait to go back and enjoy more. The weather was great, surf etc...We would pass this little gem on to anyone who wants a break...very glad we stayed..

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank surfandsand10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
1.0 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#26 of 38 in Newquay
60 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
Hotel Sunnyside Newquay
#20 of 38 in Newquay
363 reviews
2.1 km away
Travelodge Newquay Seafront Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
193 reviews
2.5 km away
Cliffdene Hotel
Cliffdene Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
330 reviews
3.8 km away
Porth Lodge Hotel
Porth Lodge Hotel
#28 of 38 in Newquay
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravensbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravensbury Hotel

Property: Ravensbury Hotel
Address: 61 Pentire Avenue, Newquay TR7 1PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#15 Family Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ravensbury Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ravensbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ravensbury Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing