We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Home from Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whipsiderry Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whipsiderry Hotel
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Home from Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

This family run hotel is second to none in the South West, expertly run by husband and wife team Lisa and Andy who ensure your every need is catered for and the enjoyment of your stay is, where possible, guarenteed. The welcoming cup of tea is a boon, especially if you have driven for several hours to reach this ideally placed hotel. The family atmosphere continues into the dining area where fantastic cuisine expertly prepared by the resident chef, Robert, assisted during our stay by George, and with Lisa controlling the action, expertly served by Millie. The family touch extended to a Birthday Card, for my wife Jenny on her Special Day, placed on the breakfast table from Lisa, Andy and all the Whipsiderry staff. The bedrooms are thoroughly cleaned daily by expertly selected cleaning staff and the whole hotel is maintained in a spotless condition. If you want an enjoyable holiday to remember with excellent hosts, a welcoming family atmosphere, good food and plenty of it, clean accomodation and as much assistance as you may require, the Whipsiderry Hotel is the place for you to stay. As for Christmas, we are returning for our fifth visit this year; that in itself must speak volumes of the exceptional quality and friendliness of all the Whipsiderry staff together with mine hosts, Lisa and Andy; always ready to assist and entertain.

Room Tip: Very popular, book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry,
We appreciate your very kind words.
We are pleased you enjoyed your Holiday with us & look forward to seeing you again at Christmas.
Kind regards
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    25
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
73
95
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great welcome, friendly and most accommodating staff (nothing too much bother). Rooms are compact but beautifully furnished and co ordinated. Food is definately the best in the south west. Lisa's and Andy's personal touches are evident in every aspect of the hotel.

Well worth the drive of 560 miles

Bill and Elizabeth McEwan whitburn scotland

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaffacake34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry, We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you again.
Many Thanks
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

This place is a real gem! I took my 10 year-old son away for a break just the two of us he loved it and has fallen in love with Porth and Newquay as a dad thats really important to me and the hotel went a long way to contributing to "the best holiday he's ever had"
I cannot praise Andy & Lisa and their wonderful staff enough, the couple themselves are very friendly, down-to-earth and their staff seem to have been immaculately trained(i speak with some authority on this as a qualified trainer & assessor,so its something I noticed straight away)The place itself gives off a happy vibe staff/guests everyone around the place is very warm and contented it seems!
Our room was lovely very clean and plenty of sapce and a modern flat screen tv with freeview channels - all vital when you have a 10-yr old staying with you!
Wi-fi available too (also a must these days!)
The bar is very nice with a view you cannot describe(so good is it!)
Plenty of chill-out space longes tables and seating outside nice pool and loads of loungers the pool area itself is a veritable little sun-trap with white walls, all very clean.
Magnificent rolling lawn area/gardens, laundry room and space to hang your washing out or a tumble dryer if required and a pool/snooker room.
Possibly the best part of the stay was the breakfast and 6-course dinners all cooked to excellent standard by a friendly chef! I will go as far to say some of the courses were among the best dishes ive ever tasted and ive eaten in some of londons finest hotels and restaurants, all waiters(1) and waitresses(2) we experienced, were superb - well turned out, attentive and friendly with a first-class demeanour that belies their youthful apearance! they were always on hand to see if you needed anything!and I think could teach older,more experienced waiting staff up here in London a thing or two!
All in all I cannot quibble about anything and would like to thank Andy/Lisa and all the staff for a memorable stay, the nicest touch was both owners came out and said goodbye personally when we left and helped us tyo the taxi with our luggage!
Just brilliant! all round and I think Lisa has done her parents(the previous owners)very proud indeed!
A FAULTLESS STAY!
WITHOUT HESITATION I RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL WHOLE-HEARTEDLY!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mstacey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry Hotel.
We really appreciate you kind words. Hope to see you in the future.
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

My family have just returned to London after spending 5 nights at the Whipsiderry Hotel. The location was great within walking distance to a lovely beach and not far from Newquay town centre. We were very warmly welcomed and Lisa and Andy, the Hotel owners were very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The outdoor heated pool was warm enough for a swim and the hotel gardens were very pleassant. Breakfast and evening dinner were excellent. Well done to the Chef! George at the Hotel was also very helpful with tips for local places to eat at. The bedrooms were very compact and the shower could have been a bit more powerful, but overall I would highly recommend this cosy and friendly hotel.
Thanks from Sharon, Mark and Shamar

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank violetflowers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review the Whipsiderry, We are pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards
Lisa & Andy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bewdley
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

After our visit in July 2010, I said on my review that I couldn't wait to return to the Whipsiderry Hotel. Luckily I didn't have to wait long and stayed for 4 nights in May 2011. Everything that I said previously still applies and I can't rate the overall experience highly enough. Excellent food, location and comfort with an exceptional welcome!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manse203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write us a second review,
We really appreciate your comments,
Hope to see you again,
Regards
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one week in August. We arrived late morning and well before the normal check in time. We were greeted very warmly and immediately offered cups of tea. Our room was made available as soon as we had drunk the tea. We had a sea view double room with superb views across Porth beach.The hotel is very well managed. The food is excellent with ample and plentiful choices at breakfast and with a six course evening dinner (including coffee and chocolate) and again with a wide selection on offer. The restaurant service is fast, professional, polished and friendly. There is a large car park and no need for cars to be parked close to each other. The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, also with magnificent views over the sloping garden and Porth beach, and the water temperature was very comfortable. Lisa and Andy, who run the hotel, are excellent hosts, giving you plenty of space if you want it, but also organising a variety of evening activities, such as team based Trivial Pursuits, for those who wish to take part. We particularly enjoyed the evening fishing trip, arranged by Andy, costing £5 per head and lasting over an hour. The mackerel that were caught were either fed to the seals on the return to harbour or were cooked and eaten later that evening in the bar. We had a really good holiday and will return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Whipsiderry.
Glad you had a enjoyable break with us. Hope to see you again in the future
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

A warm welcome and the offer of tea/coffee set the tone for our stay. The Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The hotel offers magnificent views in all directions. The Bar is well stocked and Andy is the proverbial genial host. Entertainment is spread over 3 nights (Quiz Night/Bingo/Trivial Pursuit) and leaves time for those who want to do their own thing. A spacious TV Lounge is available for those who cannot get away from it all and TVs are available in all rooms. The Heated Pool is just the right size for a leisurely dip and there is ample space for those who just want to soak up the sun. Good variety of choice for breakfast and lunch time snacks are also available. Evening meals are excellent (6 course dinner) and this is complimented by an extensive Wine List. Lisa ensures that service in the dining room is of a high standard.

Room Tip: When Booking-Ask for a Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhipsiderryHotel, Owner at Whipsiderry Hotel, responded to this review, 23 September 2011
Thank yuo for taking the time ti write a review ablout your stay at the Whipsiderry.
We appreciate your comments.
Hope to see you again.
Lisa & Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newquay hotels
4.0 km away
The Esplanade Hotel
The Esplanade Hotel
#6 of 39 in Newquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
4.2 km away
Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa
3.2 km away
The Headland Hotel & Spa - Newquay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Porth Veor Manor Hotel
2.7 km away
The Atlantic Hotel
The Atlantic Hotel
#7 of 39 in Newquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
0.2 km away
Sands Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whipsiderry Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whipsiderry Hotel

Property: Whipsiderry Hotel
Address: Trevelgue Road | Porth, Newquay TR7 3LY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newquay
#8 Romantic Hotel in Newquay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whipsiderry Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established for its cuisine Unrivalled for its views Renowned for its hospitality Situated on the stunning North Coast of Cornwall, Whipsiderry Hotel is surrounded by rolling cliffs, beautiful blue seas, golden sands, Set in grounds of over two acres, with panoramic views of Newquay, Porth Beach & Bay. The Whipsiderry is a peaceful family run hotel, an ideal location for exploring all Cornwall has to offer. Discover the Secret Why Guest Return Year After Year ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Whipsiderry Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whipsiderry Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing