We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Staff Are Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eliot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eliot Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
slough
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Staff Are Amazing”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

I’m not staying at the hotel right now but my elderly parents are. They arrived 24 hours ago with a coach load of senior folk and I am being told that everyone is having the time of their lives. I have spoken to the hotel staff a couple of times myself as I’ve needed their assistants on a couple of matters. I have to say that I simply cannot believe just how friendly and accommodating I have found them to be. So helpful in fact that I feel compelled to write this revue here and now. Absolute “special thanks” to Karen and June at the hotel along with the hotel Manager, I greatly appreciate your help due to you guys, I know that mum and dad will continue to have what they are describing to me as a fantastic Christmas stay over at the Eliot Hotel, Newquay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ilovemyprobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    96
    37
    9
    7
See reviews for
41
105
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Five day Alfa coach holiday (turkey & tinsel) to The Eliot Hotel Newquay. Ensuite bedroom, food, reception (good bus info), lounge, dance floor, dining room & service better than expected. Good games rooms. Smimming pool not used (it was November 2011). Centre of Newquay 5 minute walk, beach 2 minutes walk. Varied entertainment every night, Our favourates were Phil Lately & Spencer Reed (good combination of cabaret and dancing opportunities). Good coach travel throughout (driver Chris). Enjoyed the whole experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Please note - it is the ELIOT Hotel. Just drop the second 'L' !

Four of us from North Wales on an Alpha Coach Tip. The hotel is run very efficiently. Quick check in and good room key control for security. It is a little tired in places but for 2 star is more than acceptable. The food and service was spot on from ANNA the Polski waitress - dishy too! and almost perfect English after 5 years there. Wine waiter service superb.

The system for the bags to and from the rooms was very good.

The last time I was in Newquay was in 1947 aged 14 at the Hotel Victoria with Shearings ! They still have the lift that goes down through the rocks to the beach from their Lobby.

Entertainment was wonderful with Johnny Morse. Buy one of his CDs - well worth £5. As a special offer you can get the set of 2 for £10 ! Good humour and no swearing. Never knew someone could play 17 or so instruments and some most unusual. He started at age 5 years with a harmonica. Must be in his early 60's now but full of life.

You won't regret staying here.

Room Tip: Nothing known to help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank rippo4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

I had an excellent holiday with Alfa Travel staying at this delightful hotel. Do not be put off with first impressions as a lick of paint here and there would help. All staff treated you extremely well. The hotel was very clean and plenty of choice for meals which were very satisfying. The hotel is near the town and there is a regular bus service and ofcourse these are free with your bus pass. I would definitely recommend this hotel and feel it deserves a 3 star rating. The only down side is there is only one lift that only holds four people and you sometimes have to wait.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank JEAN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Spent 2 nights at The Eliot whilst attending a wedding. The hotel is in need of a little TLC but we were very impressed by the staff particularly June on reception. She never seemed to be off-duty despite not being very well and her customer care was exemplary. She was friendly and helpful - a credit to the company.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janet503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Ive just returned from a 1 weeks holiday at the elliot hotel with alfa travel,i was a bit wary at 1st when i booked it with being a 2 star but what an excellent stay..hotel was very clean,comfortable and spacious,the manager David and receptionist June very friendly and helpful,excellent food with plenty of choice on the menu and served quickly by friendly staff who couldnt do enough for you..brought me extra desert sometimes,ha.room was clean,comfortable and serviced daily,entertainment great with something going on every night,excursions were great and a great value for money holiday with alfa,Thankyou..be back at the elliott next year..Peter m

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank petermakinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Our trip on 29th June with Alfa Travel was true value for money. From the pick up to the drop off points, everything went satisfactorily. Our driver BILL was totally committed to making our trips comfortable and interesting. He certainly went the 'extra' mile by pointing out the local points of interest and their history in a warm and relaxing manner. The hotel was comfortable, our room clean and comfortable, the food very good, the staff hardworking and all tried to assist in every way. The entertainment was quite limited, and although the artistes were committed it does cater for the more senior clientele. However, situated in a very convenient part of Newquay it was great for access to the town and beaches. Newquay has a good atmosphere, plenty of shops, points of interest and buses to the various tourist centres. A relaxed and ideal way of getting to see the Lost Gardens of Heligan and the Eden Project! If the weather is also hot and sunny (as we experienced) then one can't ask for more.

Room Tip: Those rooms overlooking the road can be quite noisy when windows open - due to traffic etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Margaret1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newquay
0.1 km away
Great Western Hotel
Great Western Hotel
#11 of 38 in Newquay
800 reviews
37.0 km away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#4 of 4 in Carbis Bay
216 reviews
0.7 km away
Minerva Hotel
Minerva Hotel
#19 of 38 in Newquay
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Bristol
1.4 km away
Longbeach Hotel
Longbeach Hotel
#27 of 38 in Newquay
54 reviews
0.1 km away
Bay Beresford Hotel
Bay Beresford Hotel
#13 of 38 in Newquay
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliot Hotel

Property: Eliot Hotel
Address: Edgcumbe Avenue, Newquay TR7 2NH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Newquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Newquay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Newquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eliot Hotel - Newquay [3 Alpha & AA Three Star]. Very well situated, close to Great Western and Tolcarne beaches, only a few yards from the sea front and within easy walking distance of the shops and harbour. 76 bedrooms with central heating and bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There are three lovely airy lounges in which to relax, plus a cocktail bar and dance floor where entertainment is provided most evenings. There is also a games room and outdoor swimming pool (heated May through to September). The lift serves most rooms although all floors are split level with some immediate stairs. Large car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Eliot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elliot Hotel Newquay
Eliot Hotel Newquay, UK - Cornwall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing