We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$235
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
US$252
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
US$114
Priceline
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$138
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kirribilli Guest House(Newquay)(Great Value!)
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$117
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$114
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,308)
Filter reviews
2,308 results
Traveller rating
1,673
453
134
42
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,673
453
134
42
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfistral beachsea viewdune restaurantbay barrelaxation roomeconomy roomwelcome drinkrose petalsfull body massagerobes and slippersfree standing bathlovely hotelbirthday treatsauna and steam roombalcony roomstandard roomamazing views
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 2,308 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2018

My fiance and I stayed for two nights and had an awesome time. The hotel staff were really friendly from when we arrived until we left. We were greeted with bubbles and checked in. The facilities are fantastic too, with only a few minor 'cosmetic' criticisms.

Positives
- Great location for the beach and walking into Newquay
- Very friendly staff
- On site parking (though limited)
- Great bar for cocktails and there was live music one evening
- Really nice pool/spa with sauna, steam and jacuzzi
- Newspaper delivered to your room
- The ESPA skincare products in the spa and hotel room are really nice

Negatives
- A light was flickering in our room and wasn't fixed after we mentioned it
- There was somebody's hair on the carpet in our room (need a better hoover)
- The toilet rim could do with a clean in our room
- Our hotel room was very hot at night, but if you leave the windows open you are woken by the seagulls on the roof
- Can be noisy if your room is near the communal stairs

To be fair we were in an economy room so can't be too harsh. Although we didn't try them out they also have a smart looking restaurant, gym, massage/beauty treatments/yoga classes etc. Despite some of the observations in our room we would definitely recommend Fistral and would stay here again in future as the vibe is lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 11, 2018

Things we liked: location, view from the room, spa and treatments, the welcome drink and the little gifts when you arrive and when you leave, the DJ with live sax playing at night, the staff was nice.

Things we did not like:
My husband booked for our wedding anniversary specifying that clearly and asking for a bottle of prosecco to have in the room as we arrived (his was supposed to be a surprise for me): no prosecco in the room (no one even acknowledged we were celebrating our anniversary)
We decided to book our wedding anniversary dinner with the Hotel as part of a package (we got 2 nights, spa treatment, dinner included) although we read mixed reviews of the restaurant we decided to trust them, big mistake. My duck pancakes starter was very dry, the pancakes were some paper thin dry disks not sure made of what maybe rice, then there was a bit of courgettes julienne on the side just raw, no dressing or anything, the duck was dry but duck has the tendency of being dry that's why having all the other ingredients also dry it's not a good idea, the thick sweet chilly sauce on the side did't help, you were supposed to assemble your own sort of spring rolls with all this but it had no taste. The main course was beef fillet with scallops, a sort of potatoes dauphinoise and asparagus and broccoli. The potatoes were raw and hard, the meat was rare (I asked for medium/rare) which I would have eaten anyway if it had a nice taste but it was tasteless. I left my food on the plate apart from 1 bite I took to taste and the waiter took it away without even asking why I left it untouched, neither did the chef when he saw the food coming back.
The room could do with more cleaning, there were dustballs on the consolle where the tv is, the balcony is dirty, old cigarette butt, moss, bird poo and there is dirt in the hinge of the balcony door and the carpet should be deeply cleaned or replaced as it is stained.
This hotel could be perfect if only customer service was more attentive with the clients, was brought up to good cleaning standards and had good food and service.
I am just sad they ruined my wedding anniversary dinner

Room Tip: second or third floor with ocean view
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Serenellaferraro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

The room was spacious and offered a fantasic view of the coast, the staff were friendly, dinner however was slightly disappointing: the spring risotto was tasteless, the fish was good, the salad a bit wilted. At the other main (salmon, pea, avocado, rainbow roots, orange compote) only traces of the vegetables could be found.

Room Tip: Sea view was great
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ulifanderl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FistralBeachH, Manager at Fistral Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Dear 'ulifanderl'

Thank you for your review on your stay with us, i am delighted to hear that you enjioyed your time here with us. please accept my apologies that your meal was not as you had hoped for.

I will be working with the kitchen to rectify the problems and ensuring they do not happen again, and I hope it wont deter from future stays with us.

Warm regards,

Cherish and the Fistral Beach team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 9, 2018

The hotel was very welcoming from the reception staff. We’re offered a welcome cocktail. Parking was available on the hotel car park. We were shown to our room with a great view over looking Fistral Bay our room was spacious and the on suite was also large eight a freestanding bath and a separate large shower. All parts of the hotel were spotlessly clean. We booked bed and breakfast for our stay but as a result of seeing the menue we had dinner each evening and we were not disappointed. The food was great and the staff were extremely helpful and very attentive in all departments. We were extremely impressed at the high degree of training that the staff must have been given. We will return and look forward to our next visit. Thank you to all the staff especially Aya Black who was the lead in the restaurant. Best regards Bob and Sheila White. From Malvern Worcestershire

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank BobandSheilain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 7, 2018

The hotel was lovely and staff very friendly and happy to help. Our only problem was it was costly. The breakfast was rather expensive, we found a cafe down the road which does a huge bacon sausage and egg sandwich for £4! This was our honeymoon so didn't have much money left after wedding costs but wanted a nice hotel. A very short walk from the beach (although this includes some steep steps) and a beautiful cliff top view if you take a left out of the hotel.

Room Tip: Find the fan in the wardrobe, rooms without a sea view doesn't have any circulation of air with the windows open.
Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Honeymoonermay2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews