We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay *****”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lions Roar

lounge and outside decking area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge and outside decking area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
lounge and outside decking area
double bedroom
Tolcarne Beach, 5 minute walk from Lions Roar.
Evening on Tolcarne Beach
Tolcarne Beach
Trenance gardens, 10 minute walk from Lions Roar
Newquay tennis club, 5 minute walk from Lions Roar.
Newquay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
ianmac22
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect stay *****”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have been visiting Cornwall for the past 15yrs and stayed at local holiday parks,so we decided to try something different.Having a location in mind (Newquay) we found Lions Roar on Trip Advisor and upon reading the excellent reviews we decided to book. The process was swift with the owners contacting us promptly with confirmation and further details.We arrived to a warm welcome and and given advice on local amenities which was nice.
The accomidation is very clean and is fully equipped so no need to pack anything just beach towels.We was pleasantly surprised to have hot weather in the week we stayed always a bonus as just a stones throw away from best beaches in the UK and ended our stay watching the sunset on Fistral beach.We hope to return in 2017.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from Home
Liked least: A30 roadworks
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jencox196...
1 review
“Lions roar.”
Reviewed September 5, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I would recommend anybody to stay here, lovely place very clean and martin the owner was on hand if needed. Newquay is lovely

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimst281
Rotherham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We have stayed in many apartments and hotels over the years, most of them good, some disappointing, but rarely has anywhere been exactly as described and as in the photos. Until, that is, we stayed in Lions Roar!
The apartment is spotlessly clean, well maintained, has everything you need, on a quiet road opposite a lovely pub, 5-10 minutes walk from the beach and shops. It has a good, powerful shower and one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in!
Warren, the owner, was perfect too. He was easy to contact, really helpful in all correspondence before our holiday, came to find us when the taxi driver dropped us off in the wrong place, stored our cases as we arrived 6 hours before check in and was very friendly and welcoming.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Lions Roar to anyone wanting a perfect place to stay in Newquay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location and spotlessly clean
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah G
1 review
“Excellent. Location couldn't have been more ideal!”
Reviewed April 8, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed in 'Lions Roar' for four nights. We were met with a very warm welcome from both Louise and Warren. The apartment was lovely, tastefully decorated and had everything you needed for a self-catering holiday. More importantly, it was clean! The location of the apartment could not have been more ideal. We only used the car once, when we wanted to venture out of Newquay itself. I would definitely recommend a stay here and if I end up in Newquay again, would definitely stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shibby11
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Stay, great location and very helpful owners”
Reviewed March 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2015

Me, my wife and our 9 month old daughter stayed here last August and we had a fantastic time. The location is brilliant as its in short walking distance to the beach, pubs, cafes and Newquay Zoo. The owners are very friendly and great for directions to best places to eat and see.
The accommodation is done out to a high standard and was the perfect size for the three of us and had plenty of on-site parking.
I would highly recommend it here and we'll be looking to go again this year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliff G
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great position, close to Newquay's activities”
Reviewed January 24, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Clean, tidy and most importantly MODERN accommodation. Close to many of Newquay facilities which for me was the tennis centre. Pub / restaurant a one minute walk away.
Had a great weekend and will stay here again availability permitting.
Good rapport with owners recommending other activities in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: All ok.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
margaret...
Summerville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Light, bright, close to railway and buses.”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Railway is 10 min walk, buses 5 min walk near Western Hotel or 15 min walk to bus station. Good base to see Cornwall from or just explore Newquay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing