We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pizza and Cider, a perfect combination”
Review of The Stable

The Stable
Ranked #34 of 265 Restaurants in Newquay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Our most scenic Stable to date has breathtaking, panoramic views over one of Britain's most famous beaches, Fistral Beach. Watch the surf from our balcony or nestle beside the log fire inside and catch the dramatic winter storms. A truly stunning location with an abundance of fine local produce and a plentiful supply of cider. Breakfast - 10am - 11.00am Food - 12 - 10pm Closing Times: 11pm Sunday - Thursday. 11.30pm Friday - Saturday.
Reviewed April 5, 2018

12 of us including 2 children ate here on Easter Sunday. The food menu is very good for a (mainly) pizza restaurant and everyone enjoyed their choice. The cider menu though is exceptional, a plethora (over 50 I believe) of ciders to choose from. They even do a taster rack of 5 ciders. This truly is cider heaven.
The views (if it wasn't grey and raining) would be amazing, overlooking Fistral beach and give a good view of the surfers.
Just for the ciders alone, we will definitely be re-visiting.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Garry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stable F, General Manager at The Stable, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2018

Thank you for your kind words Garry!

We are so glad you enjoyed our 'cathedral to cider', hopefully we can welcome you back again soon!

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 134 of 1,316 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

We arrived to be told it was a 40 minute wait so were happy to grab a drink while we waited. Only had to wait 20 minutes and table ready! Staff are lovely and efficent. Tuesday has a special of pizza, unlimited salad leaves & a drink (half pint) for £10, which we took advantage of. Thin based crusts, tasty toppings certainly hit the spot. Very popular early evening and calms down once sun has set! View over Fistral is amazing. Only complaint? Bench sharing tables which are great for large groups but not a fan. Don't think our neighbours were either! Service was great, fantastic array of ciders available (Devon Red is a new favourite), tasty pizzas and relaxed atmosphere overlooking an amazing beach.

Thank Wendi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stable F, General Manager at The Stable, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Hi Wendi, Thankyou for your review!

We are currently looking at how we can alter our seating plans to suit everyone's needs, hope fully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Dan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 1, 2018

First visit today for a family lunch after we had a good walk on Fistral beach. Fantastic views, very relaxed, nice food at sensible prices but a slightly limited menu

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stable F, Manager at The Stable, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave some feedback. Our menu is having a revamp in the next few months, we hope you'll return to try it out and maybe catch the sunset too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 22, 2018

Went here to meet with friends for lunch what a amazing view looking across the beach. As spring time and a school day not to many people in the place but it still had a good atmosphere, the waitress was very helpful and polite. The food was amazing and it was the first time I had pie with lettuce, wedges and no gravy ? As we all went for pies not sure what the pizzas are like, also the drinks consist mainly of ciders,wine and larger put lushington ale was really nice . Would call in again but probably not in the height of season.

Thank Trevor G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stable F, General Manager at The Stable, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Hi Trevor,
Thank you for your review!
Glad you had an enjoyable experience, apologies for our lack of gravy,you must come back and try one of our award winning pizzas!
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 21, 2018 via mobile

This is my second time at this place. I booked in advance for my partner and I as a birthday treat. Very helpful over the phone when booking. They asked if I had any extra requirements. Lovely seating with amazing views. The food was amazing again as I left in my first review. My only let down here this time was the service. No where as good as the first visit. We got shown to the table by the lady that greeted us at the door. Rather than ask if we would like to order drinks while we choose our food she said someone else will be with you to take your orders. We had to wait twenty minutes for this to happen. Food was delicious, beautiful sunset. Finished our mains and decided we wanted dessert. Waited half hour before we managed to get a staff members attention. No asking if we wanted more drinks. Then it took another twenty minutes for desserts to come out. Staff are pleasant but when looking that night they seemed to be wandering round looking lost. So overall great food but service a bit of a shambles this time. We all have off days though. Still the best views and best food in town!

Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stable F, General Manager at The Stable, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Hi Mel,
Thank you for your review, please accept our apologies for the service this time around, we are currently training a number of new staff in preparation for Easter holidays.
No excuses for slow service :(
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stable also viewed

 
Newquay, Cornwall
 

Been to The Stable? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing