We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely barn”
other travellers have booked this property
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe King size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
King size room showing beautiful oak dressing table and wall mounted Freeview TV
King size room showing fitted wardrobe
King size bedroom
Shower room
Large power shower
Modern kitchen with beautiful granite worktops
Modern fitted kitchen with slimline dishwasher
Oak dining table and chairs
Living space
Watergate Bay
Mawgan Porth
Leet meadow - middle lake
Headweir - top lake
Longmoor bottom lake
Padstow
The Eden Project
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newquay, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
kay97mari...
Honiton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barn”
Reviewed March 11, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in the barn for a week and it was the cosiest barn That we have seen before. It has been converted to a very high standard and the owners really make you feel at home. The facilities are great and we couldn't ask for anything more.
I would recommend this lovely barn to anyone who wanted to get away, it's situated in a lovely place not far from the lovely beaches. Beautiful walks & lovely views. This cottage was the ideal place to get away & I will look forward to going back in the future.
Thank you to the owners for a lovely holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. Sp pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon.
Regards
Paul, Ann, Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb barn conversion in a great location”
Reviewed February 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Swallows Barn has been converted to a high standard and is a very comfortable and cosy place to stay. It has a fully equipped kitchen and has a great living area complete with a log burner that gets the whole barn nice and warm.

The location at Penvose Farm is also excellent. Watergate Bay is literally just down the road, and Newquay and Padstow are easily reached along the stunning coast road. To get further afield within the county, the A30 and A39 are nearby too. All in all, a great place to stay for a Cornish holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fact that it was an old barn that had been converted to a high standard
Liked least: Nothing really not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Feb 2016
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
“wish we could of stayed longer”
Reviewed October 4, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Upon arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from the owner ann which was a great start.once inside the cottage my wife and i found it to be homely very clean and fitted to a high standard and the log burner was a nice touch we only stayed for 2 nights which for us we wanted longer.i would highly recomend this cottage very clean cozy and enjoyable

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucymae18
1 review
“Beautiful little barn”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed at Penvose Farm in the Swallows Barn at the end of September. We were so please when we arrived as the barn was beautiful and was perfect for me and my boyfriend. The downstairs area being a kitchen/living room was very nice and cosy and we had the wood burner alight one night which was great! Upstair the bedroom was huge and has a walk in wardrobe plus a dressing table. There was also a big telly in the bedroom. The view from the window in there was beautiful and overlooked lots of fields. The en suit was a good size and the shower very powerful and spacious! The kitchen comes well equipped although it would be nice to have some surface cleaner to wipe down the counters after cooking.
The people who run the farm are very friendly and welcoming. Even before we booked the barn Ann rang us to inform about the building work going on at their house and asked if it would be a problem! It really wasnt a problem as we were out most of the weekend and even when we were the it didnt bother us.
Overall we had a lovely stay and wished we were staying longer! We will certainly be coming back and would recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Really glad you enjoyed your stay,Thanks for leaving a review and hope to welcome you back again some time soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie P
Twickenhaml United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very comfortable & clean, lovely friendly owners.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Although we were a little taken back by all the building work going on when we arrived once we were in the barn it was very quiet & as we stayed over the weekend were not disturbed by any building noise. The barn is lovely & we were very spoilt with having a TV in the bedroom too ! The owners are delightful & very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort
Liked least: The building work going on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tabooyou
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very pleased Swallow barn has been done to a high standard we rate it 10/10”
Reviewed September 8, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in the swallow barn at Penvose farm it is family run the owners was very welcoming and friendly. We didn't arrive to early hours of Saturday morning they left our barn unlocked so we could gain access with no fuss and get our heads down then we checked in that morning. The barn is done to a high standard, was very clean and had everything that we needed. Newquay town is about 15 mins drive away cost us about 15 - 18 pounds for a taxi on an evening which I thought was pretty reasonable we would deffinatley go back again we was also shown round the bigger barn too that sleeps 6/7 that was lovely and we will deffinatley be booking that in the near future. Only thing I found I couldn't get a signal much on my phone but again it wasn't a problem soon got one away from the barn

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good standard of the barn, Been made to feel very welcome
Liked least: Probably the distance bit out of way but it didn't cause us a problem it wouldn't stop us going back
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promptly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again soon. I will also check the wifi connection in the barn.
Kind regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny,Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaurenJCh
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A cosy and lovely new converted barn”
Reviewed August 20, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival, we registered our car and were shown around the little cottage. Very welcoming and my boyfriend and I were supplied with everything we needed. T
he bed was soft which we aren't use to, however it was very comfy and cosy! The shower was amazing, so powerful and easily adjustable.
It has been carefully thought about and is very good quality furniture and utilities.
We made our breakfasts each morning (mainly porridge and scrambled egg), and cooked once in the evening. It is a little difficult with both of us cooking in the kitchen but doable as just limited worktop space.
The sun hits the cottage at the perfect spot right where you can sit and hav a BBQ and park the car. As we have done a lot of surfing, it's a perfect spot to place the wet clothes and hang them up on a rack.
It is a 15 minute drive to the beach and town. Parking can be free if you find the right side roads. It is also a nice place to cycle from on the roads, beware lots of hills!

All in all, we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Shower, heating, decor, bedroom space, quietness
Liked least: On the small side downstairs but not a problem
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review so promtly. So pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Regards
Paul,Ann,Johnny & Ann
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing