We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Corner House
Ranked #51 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

Travelled to Penzance to visit family and friends 3rd may, we stayed with family for the first night and recieved no sleep so set out to find a b&b the next day.
We found The Corner house so went in for a bit more information- we met the owners who were very welcoming, showed us to room 5 which was fantastic with a great sea view!
we stayed for 3 nights, 2 of which was in room 5 and 1 night in another room which was very nice but i have to say that room 5 was our favourite!
all rooms were spacious with very nice and modern bathrooms and some lovely toiletries!
We had a superb nights sleep and breakfast was a certain treat- with a buffet of cereals, fruit, croissants and much more, this was to be followed by the cooked breakfast which was fantastic!
the owners chatted to us each day before we set off and treated us as a friend rather than a paying customer which was a nice touch! even got to see a picture of their young grandchild!
keep up the good work The Corner House - we will be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stressed95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    14
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

After a long 4.5 hour drive down to the sunny sea town resort of Penzance we arrived fairly late (10ish) to be greeted by the very polite friendly owners of the B&B, Diane and Norman. They helped us up to our room with our luggage and made us feel most welcome even when arriving so late. The room was beautifully presented filled with great character and charm, and the ensuite was spotlessly clean with all the toiletries we could need. When waking up each morning we were greeted by a beautiful undisturbed sea front view - truly amazing!!!

The breakfast was a very pleasant home cooked selection and service was great. The owners were always happy to offer advice and recommendations of the local hotspots and always allowed time to make sure we were happy.

All in all, this B&B could not be better located in Penzance being a short stroll into town, a short drive to several sand beaches and best of all having the idillic sea views from the moment we woke up!! Plenty of parking too. For anyone looking to go to the depths of Cornwall I would fully recommend this fabulous B&B and really couldnt pick out any negatives. It even makes the long drive worthwhile. 5*****

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmg_mum2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2010

The Corner House was recommended to us by a family member who stayed last year. We were very lucky to visit during the good weather in April. Penzance and The Corner House are beautiful places to visit. The B&B was very relaxing with beautiful rooms and friendly owners; they even lets us join them for a drink in the garden with their family on the Sunday afternoon! The B&B is opposite the sea with free parking to the front. Throughly recommend. Try It, we loved it!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phantom_104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northamptonshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2009

A most enjoyable stay at the Corner House. The owners were very welcoming and hospitable. Lovely clean room and GREAT BREAKFAST!! Ideally situated. Would have no hesitation in recommending this B & B.
Phil & Brenda Northamptonshire.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thetravelledtwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed over May bank holiday weekend and it was fantastic. I cannot fault a single thing - location (on the sea front) is great, the rooms are wonderful and comfortable with great sea views, the breakfasts are the best I've ever had at a B&B and the owners were incredibly friendly, attentative and informative. I honestly cannot understand how 2 of the reviews gave it a poor rating.
If you're going to Penzance then STAY HERE!!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SPandSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2009

We spent a very nice break at The Corner House last month. The owners were helpful and friendly and the view from the front bedroom was magnificent. I would certainly recommend The Corner House for a most comfortable stay in Penzance.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morris75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2009

We stayed here on a word of mouth recommendation. Our youngster is 41/2 and the owners could not have been more helpful and accomodating - ideas for where to go, where to eat etc. they were quite happy to stop and talk with ourselves and son, time for us was no problem, even when they were busy.
I am mortified by a recent review saying what an awful place it is, as we are singing the praises of The Corner House and its owners to all of our friends and family. We cannot recommend it highly enough - still there will always be a "Victor Meldrew" in life, grumpy and dissatisfied!!! Wonderful place to stay *****

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazspeed_freak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 km away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#73 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.3 km away
No photo provided
The Guest Lodge Penzance
#67 of 87 in Penzance
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Trereife House
Trereife House
#4 of 87 in Penzance
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.1 km away
The Lugger Hotel
The Lugger Hotel
#69 of 87 in Penzance
3.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.9 km away
The Longboat Hotel
The Longboat Hotel
#54 of 87 in Penzance
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Property: The Corner House
Address: 20 Marine Terrace, Penzance TR18 4DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corner House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing