We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“think we must have been at a different Keigwin House than the other reviewers?”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Keigwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Penzance
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Keigwin House
Ranked #25 of 87 Penzance B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
leeds yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“think we must have been at a different Keigwin House than the other reviewers?”
Reviewed 26 June 2011

we arrived here about 4 in the afternoon to be met with a locked door!! after a few rings of the bell, we were met by a harrassed looking Fran (well we're guessing it was her, she NEVER introduced herself?!!) she continued to moan about trying to put her shopping away and thet she was tired as she had been late to bed etc, we were not offered any tea or coffee, she never asked how our journey was, we were promptly shown to our very dated and gory room (room 4). think eighties furnishings and you have it. the quilt cover was creased and had never seen an iron! the sliding door to the bathroom kept getting stuck as it 'slid' against the carpet! the shower was tiny the big bottle of cheap shower gel was a no no.
we dutifully filled out our breakfast list the night before, and i was disappointed in my 1 sausage and 1 rasher of bacon!
the fruit juice was the tesco's own cheap brand, the whole experience left me hugelry disappointed, we felt really ignored, and the hosts were never around to ask anythjing. so much so we didnt even know that stu existed??
would not return. found the whole experience left me cold.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wkareha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
36
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barrow-in-furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

Picked this B&B last minuete,great choice.So helpful and accomodating,from help getting about the area to early breakfast's to get the ferry! Room spotless and breakfast was lovelly.Thank's .Paul Bebington.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1fodens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

fran and her husband run a very sweet little hotel , she was very helpful during my stay arranging early morning transport , arranging an extra nights stay upon arrival and was most informative with my inquires about the area . the room was very affordable , quiet , comfy , bright and the breakfasts were enjoyable and satisfying , i would recommend it highly to couple or solo travelers .

Room Tip: upgraded to larger room by booking extra time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bcpflora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isles of scilly
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I have stayed here on many occasions, travelling to and from the Isles of Scilly and I have always found Keigwin House to be of a very high standard, while offering good value.
Fran and Stuart could not be more helpful, the rooms are great and the breakfast is delicious. Keigwin House good value and I wouldn't stay anywhere else.
It is also well-placed, about 5 mins walk from the centre of Penance, with a great Thai restaurant at the end of the road.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrM00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Had a wonderful short break at Keigwin House. Stuart and Fran were very welcoming which made our stay very enjoyable. Accommodation and food in particular were very good. It's in a lovely location with lots of places to visit.

Shame about the shaver socket! Overall a very enjoyable visit.

We will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank jandjmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Travelled down to Keigwin House for a short break (3 days) with my 4 yr old son and the rest of my family. The main purpose of the break was to get a little R&R and the guys at Keigwin house ensured that we achieved this immediately!!!
The rooms were spacious and well equiped and we were made to feel like family. The breakfasts were also fantastic all made with quality local ingredients.
There were at least 3 large parks with very well equipped childrens play areas within a 5 minute walk. There are also a number of lovely restaurants and pubs within 5 minutes of the B&B.
Stu & Frans local knowledge was excellent and they almost planned our break for us. Thank you so much for making the break such a good one. I WILL BE BACK..............SOON!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DR-FOSTER1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2011

This B&B is in a very quiet location in Penzance, on a tree-lined avenue close to the prom and also the town. We stayed in one of the superior rooms which was located at the back of the house with no view apart from corrugated roofs. That was the only downside as the room was light, airy and spacious. Breakfast was substantial with the usual assortment of cereals as well as a full choice of goodies for the full English. In additon you could prepare as much toast as you liked with the usual preserves. In addition fresh fruit was available so there was something for everyone. The kitchenette based in the dining room was available for guests to use which is a great idea for families with children.

The proprieters were knowledgeable about the local area and were able to recommend places to visit and places to eat although this wasnt something we needed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank henrithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Penzance hotels
0.0 km away
Westbourne Guest House
Westbourne Guest House
#32 of 87 in Penzance
50 reviews
0.0 km away
The Pendennis Guest House
The Pendennis Guest House
#9 of 87 in Penzance
231 reviews
0.5 km away
Sea Waves B&B
Sea Waves B&B
#74 of 87 in Penzance
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Duporth Guest House
Duporth Guest House
#38 of 87 in Penzance
97 reviews
0.7 km away
Warwick House
Warwick House
#1 of 87 in Penzance
312 reviews
2.1 km away
Higher Faugan Parc
Higher Faugan Parc
#18 of 87 in Penzance
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keigwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keigwin House

Property: Keigwin House
Address: Keigwin House Alexandra Road, Penzance TR18 4LZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Penzance
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keigwin House is a friendly, family-run quality guesthouse situated on treelined Alexandra Road in Penzance. Keigwin is one of a row of Victorian houses built in the 1850s, now modernised for your comfort whilst retaining many original features. Fran and Stuart Brint moved over to Penzance from the Isles of Scilly after purchasing Keigwin in 2005. Since then, Fran and Stuart have taken on an extensive programme of refurbishment and modernisation and now enjoy welcoming guests to their home. Keigwin House is a friendly, relaxed place to stay whilst enjoying the delights that Penzance has to offer. There is a choice of tastefully furnished family, double, twin and single rooms. All rooms are en suite with the exception of both the single rooms and one twin room which all have a vanity basin but share a bathroom. Bathrobes are provided in the standard rooms. We are also ideally placed for you to venture further afield, whether by car, bus or train, and explore the stunning scenery and attractions that West Cornwall has to offer. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing