We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (351)
Filter reviews
351 results
Traveller rating
209
97
27
9
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
97
27
9
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews vegetarian lasagne steak and ale pie specials board hake great pub catch of the day pub food isles of scilly an evening meal main road varied menu great room stayed for one night good nights sleep fresh milk visit penzance eggs benedict
Filter
Updating list...
169 - 174 of 351 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2016

Really nice establishment with friendly staff. Would highly recommend any of the "Sizzling" platters. Really exceptional , and will certainly be eating there again.
Never stayed here as we live nearby.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank Boscale1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 20, 2016

I booked a room (they have 3) at this pub just a few hours before staying.

Couldn't have been happier. A lovely pub, plenty of atmosphere. We ate in the evening & had a lovely meal/beer.

The room (2, though named in cornish) was clean, comfortable bed, quaint (though I noted the curtains barely big enough to cover the window...!) with a characterful wonky floor . Bathroom lovely

In the morning we had a lovely breakfast and all the staff we chatted to were so friendly, helpful, obliging.

The location is lovely - right by the harbour, easy to walk around the town.There's no parking at the hotel itself, but I managed to park about 50m away (free overnight, then 3 hours daytime) though it was off-season.

I wouldn't hesitate to go back again. Definately a place to remember, enjoy, embrace rather than a faceless chain hotel.

Thoroughly recommended

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank planetf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2016

Stayed Friday 29th to Sunday 31st January 2016.

Room was excellent - large and airy with spotlessly clean en-suite bathroom.

Pub had a friendly and welcoming atmosphere and served excellent cask conditioned St Austell ales [I happily recommend trying them].

Breakfasts were excellent.

Evening meal, on Saturday, with four friends was brilliant - extensive menu, quality of food, size of portions, service and fantastic value for money. Our friends [all local to Penzance] were impressed and will return to eat again, as will Lucille and I when we are next in Penzance.

The licensee and all the team were excellent hosts and we will stay again when we are in Penzance for short or weekend breaks.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank John8591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 10, 2016

We went to the Dolphin without having booked but we were fitted in without any problem. We opted for the Hake with new potatoes and the sausage and mash from the specials board. Both were cooked perfectly and as a newcomer to Hake, it will now be a firm favorite. Very well looked after by Richard and his staff and all in all a very pleasnat visit.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank RussellWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 19, 2015

1st class B and B. Excellant food in the pub lounge, excellant menu of locally caught sea food, and locally sourced vegetables. Room was tidy, clean and all facilities worked well and in good condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbour
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Brendon_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews