We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option when staying in Penzance”
Review of Beachfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Beachfield Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Great option when staying in Penzance”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Beachfield hotel in Penzance offers good value for money.

Great points:
- Very good location on Penzance’s Promenade, facing the sea
- Contemporary rooms with comfy bed and double glazing (pay the extra cost for the sea view!)
- Excellent breakfast
- Parking directly in front of the hotel

A few downsides though:
- On the second floor the water pressure is low
- No access to the wifi network in some parts of the building, however the owner Philippe confirmed that this issue is about to be fixed

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Otherguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post this review.
your review is positive and constructive
we know for the two negative points that one of them will be sorted soon and the other one will be more difficult.

the first one,
the WiFi, we have had difficulties to have full signal in every rooms due to the thickness of the granite walls in this old victorian building, but a solution has been found by installing more cabled wifi points.It is an ongoing project and we hope to have that finished in a months time.

The second,
The water pressure, we have installed some pumps to increase the presure but the building is not modern and we will never be able to have the same pressure you get in a more modern building.
Our hotel was built in the Victorian era and we have recently refurbished the entire hotel for the comfort of our guests, but like you said we have not found the way to provide stronger water pressure especially when the hotel is totally full and the demand for water is high at the same time.

thank you very much or Merci beaucoup et nous espérons vous accueillir bientôt en Cornouailles.

Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    75
    23
    3
    4
See reviews for
39
96
31
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Exceptional service from the phonecall to the hotel to book to the minute we stepped out of the hotel leaving!! We did only stay the one night (as an addition to our weeks holiday in a cottage) but it has left a lasting impression on us.
My partner and I holiday every summer in Penzance with our dog. She is a labrador so not the smallest dog either! In other places in Penzance and around the country we have received lower standards of service and accomodation because we travel with our pet. Not here!! To be honest, when i mentioned we had a dog i was expecting a "bog standard" room, when we arrived i was overwhelmed. Huge, clean and tidy bedroom with amazing seaviews and ensuite (bath and shower) was lovely. Sat in the bay window late at night watching fireworks at the pool as part of Golowan festival, couldnt of been anymore perfect. Topped off in the morning with a fresh, lovely breakfast and lovely staff. Thank you so much Beachfield for making us and our dog very welcome!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JabLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
"CANNOT FAULT A THING" What a very positive review, thank you so much to point out the fact that we did provide an excelent service. My team and I feel proud to hear that you and your labrador had a good night with us at the Beachfield hotel. Thank you and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Neots, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles.
Rooms well appointed, clean and comfortable.
During our stay one particular night the weather was atrocious wreaking havoc around us but we were completely undisturbed.
Friendly place, good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithreeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
The positive posting of your recent stay at the Beachfield hotel despite the weather is SO appreciated. The comment “A pleasant stay in a tastefully refurbished hotel which successfully blends traditional and modern styles” describes perfectly what we are trying to achieve at the Beachfield.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon and on behalf of my team, Thank you very much for your kind comments.

Best regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This hotel charmed us from the moment we walked in reception - and that was just as well since we picked a week when it was encased in scaffolding due to outside redecoration. This rather spoiled the wonderful sea views from our room which was comfort itself. The lounges are comfortable, with a good selection of newspapers and magazines, there are board games to while away the time, and I thought the staff were helpful and considerate. All in all a very pleasing two night stay in a convenient location. Well worth choosing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
THANK YOU FOR THE POSITIVE REVIEW

“Would unhesitatingly recommend it” – this opening line is most appreciated for its totality of satisfaction and expression. We thank you for such an honest positive comment despite the fact that scaffolding was erected during your stay. I have to mention that our Victorian building had a complete outside face lift and there is no more scaffolding to interfere with what makes the Beachfield Hotel so special with our amazing sea view. Thank you again for your overwhelming support of the Beachfield Hotel, and we eagerly look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Philippe Lefevre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Excellent hotel, most likely one of the better ones in Penzance. Just came back from a weekend trip to Cornwall; we had booked 2 nights at Beachfield Hotel: we didn't know what to expect but relied on the comments from TripAdvisor and were not disappointed. The hotel is clean, well appointed, very comfortable. Room was clean, looked newly renovated, bed comfortable, towels and sheets fresh. Location-wise not in the center of town, but we'd say, this is a plus; if you have a car, this should not be an issue at all. We did not have a car but enjoyed the walks from the train station (15 mins) along the promenade. View from the room was excellent; it had a sea view, from which you could see Mount St Michael. We understand all rooms have sea view, so one can't go wrong. Breakfast is excellent and staff is courteous. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaydeeldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
We greatly appreciate the time you have taken to outline your positive experiences at the Beachfield Hotel. We thank you for acknowledging that so eloquently and completely.

It is true that the entire team strives for perfection and pays attention to detail, while at the same time, does not ignore the friendly, personal touch required to keep our guests returning time and time again.
You are also correct in stating that all double rooms at the Beachfield have lovely sea views and most of them have been recently refurbished to a high level of comfort.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and are grateful for your support of the Beachfield.

Best regards,
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We booked on-line and had an excellent early-Spring Bed & Breakfast weekend at Beachfield Hotel. We found hotel car-parking very limited, but there is ample on-street parking close by. The hotel is situated on the Promenade and we had a bedroom overlooking the sea. From comfortable chairs in our bay window we watched the passage of walkers, joggers, dogs - and boats.
Our bedroom with en-suite was clean and brightly decorated and had everything we expected in facilities. The breakfasts were really good and full marks to our attentive French waiter. Our meals were cooked on demand, so in return for a patient wait we got fresh cooked, bright-yolked fried eggs and not the usual ‘kept warm’ ones served in other hotels.
A very enjoyable mini-break.

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, General Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Firstly on behalf of my team I would like to thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and the facilities and service we offer.
I very much hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

This mid-priced establishment next to the sea turned out to be a good choice in Penzance. Not luxury but nice clean comfortable rooms with good amenities like wifi. The view to St Michael's Mount was a plus. It's in a quieter part of town but still quite central. There's a very small car park which is often full however it wasn't difficult to find a space nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahkityoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippelefevre, Manager at Beachfield Hotel, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
We greatly appreciate your positive comments and remarks relating to your stay at the Beachfield Hotel. Clean and comfortable room are the mainstays of any quality hotel establishment, which was clearly evident during your stay. Thank you for sharing all your positive views and we hope to see you again in future.
Philippe Lefevre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Penzance
1.4 km away
Hotel Penzance
Hotel Penzance
#1 of 4 in Penzance
805 reviews
0.3 km away
The Queens Hotel
The Queens Hotel
#3 of 4 in Penzance
469 reviews
5.8 km away
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
The Lamorna Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Lamorna
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 km away
Tregenna Castle Resort
Tregenna Castle Resort
#10 of 21 in St Ives
2,661 reviews
13.5 km away
The Land's End Hotel
The Land's End Hotel
#1 of 1 in Land's End
488 reviews
0.7 km away
Artist Residence Cornwall
Artist Residence Cornwall
#8 of 83 in Penzance
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beachfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beachfield Hotel

Property: Beachfield Hotel
Address: Promenade, Penzance TR18 4NW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Penzance
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Penzance
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beachfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the sea front in Penzance, Cornwall, the Beachfield Hotel offers breathtaking panoramic views of Mount's Bay, from The Lizard to Newlyn Harbour with St Michael's Mount glitteringly prominent at centre stage. A Victorian building dating from the 1860s and standing on grounds that were once fields and dunes where fishermen dried their nets, our hotel has long been a favourite for those who know Penzance well. Much of the interior has recently been modernised and refurbished to a high standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Beachfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beachfield Hotel Penzance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing